We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely charming and a good value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Horse Inn

White Horse Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Provincetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Horse Inn
Save
You added White Horse Inn to your Saves list
500 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 70 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely charming and a good value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

My husband and I have stayed in Provincetown many times over the years -- a few times in a very expensive B&B and sometimes in old motels that I was afraid to walk barefoot on the carpets because of visible mold. As we both work in the luxury hotel business, we've been able to stay all over the world and can be fairly picky about acommodations. The White Horse Inn offered me a reduced-minimum night stay (2 nights at the height of the summer season) and while not a Ritz-Carlton, I loved it. The house itself is very typical of what you find in P-town (built in the 1700s) but clean and comfortable, and Mary the innkeeper is an absolute delight! Spoke many times over the phone and must say that this experience was in the top 3, so we will be going back again. The only drawback was the shared bathrooms, but one was right outside in the hallway and again is very typical of most guest houses in town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

3 of us stayed in a large en-suite apartment for 3 nights. If you want Laura Ashley or boutique chic, if you want colour co-ordination, this isn`t for you but we liked it a lot. Well-worn, eclectic, funky, good value. The beach is just across the road, there`s a very good corner store up the lane. The 10 minute walk into town takes you past clapperboard houses, gorgeous gardens and art galleries before you reach the tourist traps proper. It`s a green, quiet, charming part of town. Everything worked (gas cooker, fridge, shower, plumbing, bug screens - don`t underestimate the midges in June - we all took hits out & about). We`d definitely go back: I`m smiling just thinking about it again. Eating out in town, we liked Pepe`s upstairs and the Lobster Pot. There`s a good bar ("Aqua", I think) with great views of MacMillan Pier, across the western end of town, through an arcade, a good place to watch the sun sink. Taxi from the ferry = a flat rate of $7 per person whereas you can walk it in 10-15 mins if you`re not dragging too much luggage.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

My husband and I had a charming and immaculately clean studio apartment with private bath at the White Horse and were charmed by the character, decor, and location. We are the sort of travelers that enjoy off-the-beaten-path places and it was perfect for us. I look forward to returning. Many thanks to the White Horse for "keeping it real"!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

We would never stay anywhere else. The decor is idiosyncratic and wonderful, the inn keeper friendly and helpful and it is in a quiet neighborhood. Easy to walk into town and right across the street from a beach.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhaven
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

I love this place.

The White Horse is a traditional Inn, not a motel. Many rooms have shared baths (there are plenty, I never had to wait). There are rooms with baths available, and fully outfitted apartments.

The house and buildings are filled with art from many periods. There is a real personality here that you wont find anywhere else. The side entrance is on Daggett Lane, one of Provincetown's sandy alleys where many famous artists have lived. My room had a beautiful garden view.

It's a nice walk (15-20 minutes) into the center of town. Galleries start around the corner, the beach is across the street, there's a nice market behind and lots of great food in a short walk. If you bring a bike, you can cover Commercial street in 20 minutes.

It's quite inexpensive, too. If you're used to faux-frilly B+B's or rubber-stamp hotel-motels, you'll have to re-calibrate, but believe me, it's worth it.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

The inn is located a little farther from the center of town than expected, despite it's address. Although it is very inexpensive and we were able to book it last minute, it is not really suitable for couples looking for a nice play to stay.
As a last resort it was great, but if you can, keep looking.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucky500, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2009
Thank you for your posting. Since its opening in 1963, The White Horse Inn has welcomed many couples who have returned again and again. Some have even chosen to spend their honeymoon with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2007

Have stayed at this inn many times over the years and it remains a personal favorite and a great budget option in Provincetown. All of the rooms have shared baths, but they're clean, quiet, comfortable and chock full of character. Over the years, the owner has collected lots of original local artwork, which is hung democratically throughout the house. Nothing plush or fancy here, but the place is full of old-fashioned bohemian atmosphere. It reminds you that before Ptown became an expensive honky-tonk, it was a genuine artists' colony. The apartments are also charming, comfortable and quite reasonable given Ptown rates.

  • Liked — Charm, budget rates, comfort
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Address: 500 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Provincetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.