We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely stay.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's

Save Saved
You added The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
102 Bradford Street, Provincetown, MA 02657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Provincetown
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely stay.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We visited Gabriel's last week for 3 nights and stayed in the Willow room. This is a well appointed, cozy first floor room with a great bathroom and kitchenette. The breakfast, cooked to order, is fantastic and a good opportunity to chat to the owners and staff as well as other guests. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and the property itself is spotlessly clean with lots of thoughtful little touches making it very unique. The gardens are lovely and nice to sit and enjoy if the weather is good. The location is ideal for the busy Commercial Street area and only a 5 minute walk from the wharf if you are visiting on the ferry from Boston as we did. We had a great stay here and look forward to coming back sometime soon. Thanks to Elizabeth, Jean and the rest of the lovely staff we met.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egb102, Owner at The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Located in the shadows of the Provincetown Pilgrim Monument in the center of this historic town is pretty fabulous! Walking distance to the shops, restaurants, town beaches, whale watchers, galleries and museums makes staying at our hotel very convenient! Thank you for choosing us. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    22
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
40
187
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed there one night wished it could have been more. Room was spotless, great job by staff on cleanliness. Breakfast was good, the company of other guests was even better. Wife and I would stay there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egb102, Owner at The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
One night is never enough! Conversations among the guests over breakfast is always a wonderful way to start your day in Provincetown. Do come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Mills, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have been vacationing in P'town and No.Truro for over 40 years and our recent stay at Gabriels's was by far the most enjoyable and relaxing experience ever! We were looking for a pet friendly inn, close to all the fun and wonder that is Provincetown. Gabriel's was just extraordinary..unmatched hospitality, impeccable service, accomodations that exceeded our expectations, and a genuinely welcoming environment for our pet. The rooms were just beautiful, the gardens were magical and the staff and innkeepers were warm and welcoming. Breakfast in the great room at Gabriel's.....priceless! As Cape Cod vacation spots go, it doesn't get any better than this. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Every room at Gabriel's is unique and special! We opted for ground level for our dog's comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egb102, Owner at The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
This is where we get to review our guests! Ruby and Karl, you are 5 stars!

We do volunteer work for a local wildlife rescue organization, Wild Care Cape Cod. When I mentioned to Ruby that I was a bit stumped in writing my first press release for a Wild Care benefit that we are sponsoring at Gabriel's, she jumped right in. She worked tirelessly for hours in our great room and saved the day.

Now to Karl: he was so generous in sharing his photography knowledge and even let me play with his very high end Canon 1DX.

You came to us as strangers and leave us as friends. Thank you Ruby and Karl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The location of Gabriel's cannot be beat! Located one block from the main shopping/party street, it was quiet and super convenient for walking and cycling. Bike racks were available for our use and we certainly felt safe in the location as well. That was a major plus for us. :)

Our room was nice, although smaller than expected based on the photographs from the website. Although, LOL, isn't that what professional photographs do ... make things look uber fabulous? The bathroom was cool with a steam shower {which we could not figure out how to operate}, although one of the light bulbs was burned out and the grout inside the shower could use a splash of bleach to get rid of mold.

The biggest turn off, however, was the hired staff. Specifically the gal from Europe who, prior to our trip, was unable to offer me any suggestions regarding transportation from airport, and during our stay she seemed aloof, unfriendly, and did not smile. My guesstimate is that she is hired seasonally, most likely won't be returning, thus making relationship building unimportant ... I'm hoping the owners just aren't aware of these things.

The breakfast is hot and homemade. Beware, if you're vegan, wheat-free, dairy-free, and/or raw - this smorgasbord doesn't have much to offer. There are two cafes on the main street that sell fresh raw green juices. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egb102, Owner at The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We think our location is fabulous as well! It's always sad when guests leave from Gabriel's with an issue and don't let us know about it while they are here so that we would have a chance to correct the concerns. Our guests are never just "heads in beds" and it is important to us to meet each and every one.

Now on to food. I, Elizabeth Anne, would like to tell you that I actually AM a Raw Vegan and I have been so for over 5 years. Our guesthouse fridge is packed with everything a vegan could dream of. I wish I would have known about your needs for I love talking about vegan life and eats. That would have been a treat for me! We have a self serve glass front beverage fridge that sits on the great room breakfast counter. It is filled with both chocolate and vanilla almond milk, soy milk and rice milk. We also carry Udi's Gluten Free bread.

You mentioned the hired staff. They are more than staff, they are family, and have been with us for years. We are sorry you felt they were less than wonderful. Nikoleta would have had nothing to do with your prior trip as she is not involved in the communication in emails. That actually would have been me!

I wish I knew you wanted transportation from the airport as the airport is only around 3 minutes from the guesthouse and we offer free shuttle service.

I took the liberty to read your other reviews and I'm delighted that you thought the food in Provincetown was great. We think so too, and yes, we are always happy when establishments serve "free range chicken" if one chooses meat. Be well and enjoy your travels! Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have been staying at Gabriel's for the past 3 summers. The owners and staff are wonderful, and the breakfast is beyond belief. My little Maltapoo "Roxie" is treated like a queen with the plush doggie bed and and treats they provided. Look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egb102, Owner at The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and taking the time to write such a nice review. We do love to pamper our four legged guests as well as their owners! Breakfasts are made to order and the staff takes great pride in preparing different selections each morning. We look forward to you and Roxie returning to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Gabriel's was highly recommended to us by our friends from Boston so our expectations were
high. From the moment we arrived and were shown our rooms, our expectations were exceeded!
Both rooms were nicely furnished and bright. The proprietors, Elizabeth, Elizabeth and Chris,
as well as the staff were friendly and helpful.

We especially enjoyed the delicious, varied, and "cooked to order" breakfasts in the "great room" or on the patio. Jean and her kitchen crew greeted us bright and early every morning. She
also gave us some good ideas re: restaurants, shows not to miss, and other "happenings" in
town. We really enjoyed our one rainy day when we played dice games with Chris in the
great room.

We had a wonderful 12 days at Gabriel's and the people we met there (including the other
guests) added immeasurably to our vacation. We have been home 3 weeks now and we're
still telling friends about the good times we had at Gabriel"s.

Ray, Bill, and Bob
Arlington, VA

Room Tip: We had 2 adjoining rooms, the Willow and Olivia. The door between the rooms can be left open, when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egb102, Owner at The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We are so pleased to have exceeded your expectations! That means a lot to us. We have a few new restaurants opening up this spring for you to experience. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very clean, quiet with a great location. Staff was warm, polite, helpful. The breakfast was done well, good variety. The Dorothy Dix room has a large tub with two shower heads which was fun. If it rains it would be a fine place to just hang out, read or borrow a DVD. Only downside is the parking which is offsite--only a short walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egb102, Owner at The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for this nice review!

Gabriel's is a great place to hang out and we have made it particularly comfortable in the shoulder and winter seasons with our extensive book and movie library, fireplaces and warm cookies in the afternoon.

We hope you might consider a return during those times. Although there is no parking directly downtown where we are located, we have secured a lot with guaranteed parking nearby and if you ever would like a lift, we are happy to shuttle you back and forth to your car. Thank you again.

Elizabeth G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's

Address: 102 Bradford Street, Provincetown, MA 02657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
#1 Family Hotel in Provincetown
#1 Best Value Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1979 and ideally located in the heart of beautiful Provincetown. Our historic hotel features 7 luxurious rooms, 1 suite and 8 spacious apartment units. In-room amenities include tempurpedic mattresses, private balconies, fireplaces, jacuzzi tubs, steam baths, free Wi-Fi, TV's, DVD players, wet bar, and Keurig coffee makers.Guests delight in our complimentary made to order breakfast, served daily in the Great Room or our lush garden courtyard patio. Enjoy homemade cookies and refreshments every afternoon. Children and pets are always welcome for an additional charge. Private nearby parking is available for $10 daily and we offer a free shuttle service from the Provincetown Airport or the Pier.Come experience our first class property and service today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabriel`s At The Ashbrooke Hotel Provincetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.