We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, hospitality, & food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salt House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Salt House Inn to your Saves list
Salt House Inn
6 Conwell St., Provincetown, MA 02657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 70 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Milton, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location, hospitality, & food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This tiny inn is 2 blocks from Commercial St. The rooms are small, but great quality and super clean. Attention is paid to great customer service and every experiential detail. The breakfast was outstanding!
The only thing left desired was a strong cup of coffee.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia H, Manager at Salt House Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and invaluable feedback, VHowland. Our 15-room inn is the perfect size to allow us to tailor every personal detail of each guest's experience to ensure that you have an enjoyable and memorable stay. For example, it would have been our pleasure to make you a personal cup of extra-extra-strength coffee each morning in our french press - please let me know the dates of your next visit so that I can arrange this for you. We aim to exceed your expectations, and I am glad you enjoyed our hospitality. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    17
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
96
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New London, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My fiance and I spent the weekend at Salt House Inn and we really enjoyed ourselves. Breakfasts were made every morning (and so yummy and healthy!) and we absolutely loved Kevin! He was extremely accommodating, friendly and helpfull, as was the rest of the staff. Rooms were very clean and chic ;-) Look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia H, Manager at Salt House Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Melissa, I am thrilled that our inn served as an enjoyable getaway weekend for you and your fiancé. We pride ourselves on providing a breakfast that offers both sweet and savory treats with many healthy options - I hope you had a chance to enjoy some of our house-made granolas with our yogurt parfait-of-the-day! We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Everything about our stay at the Salt House Inn was great. We stayed for two nights (a Saturday and Sunday) at the end of a weeklong road-trip. The Salt House Inn was definitely my favourite accommodation along our journey and was the perfect ending to our vacation. Everyone was so lovely and helpful - Julia, Barbara, Kevin, and David were all great. The decor is so charming and is full of perfect little details. The location is minutes away from the main strip, but still feels like you're hidden away. Just a perfect experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia H, Manager at Salt House Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
I am so thrilled to hear that your stay at Salt House Inn was the favorite of your trip! Thank you for your thoughtful and kind review - our staff work hard to provide guests with a perfect experience, and we love to hear that we are successful in these efforts. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Spent three nights at the Salt House Inn and enjoyed the hospitality. Kevin is charming and quick to offer suggestions about things to do and places to go. Breakfast each morning was delicious, with a menu that changes each day, which makes it special. While the inn is across Bradford St., it's a quick block and a quarter walk to Commercial St. Rooms look cozy (mine was, and it was one of the larger options). The bath was roomy. The design of the rooms and common space is what really allows the inn to stand out. Definitely worth a visit. I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia H, Manager at Salt House Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to host you for your recent visit to Provincetown and for your kind review! As you mentioned, our location is perfect for a quick walk down to Commercial Street, but just far enough away from the noise/hustle and bustle of town that our guests are able to enjoy a relaxing and peaceful stay - the best of both worlds! We look forward to seeing you again soon too, David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were guests midweek before the Memorial Day weekend. We had two couples and had two rooms. We were greeted in a friendly, welcoming manner. We met Kevin, the owner,. the next morning. A charming, knowledgeable, helpful host. He suggested places to see, and had excellent restaurant recommendations. A great deal of attention to detail has been put in to this recently remodeled inn, very close to all the action on Commercial Street. There is adequate off street parking. The breakfasts were yummy. Varied, interesting and well prepared. Excellent Coffee !!!
The rooms are very thoughtfully decorated. Basic, modern ,uncluttered, and spotless with great linens. Hardwood floors… no worries about places that have disgusting carpets.Modern baths and showers with nice bath products. Everything is NEW.
Fantastic stay. Cant wait to go back again to the Salt House Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia H, Manager at Salt House Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our newly renovated property, Arthur! I agree that the hardwood floors are a great alternative to carpet that is typically used in hotel rooms. It is always our objective to provide our guests with friendly service and helpful recommendations for local restaurants and activities, and it is great to hear we achieved our goal. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Salt House Inn is a gem. From check-in to check-out, the attention to detail is spot on. Kevin and David have done a great job in restoring this building into a one of the best Inn's Provincetown has. The rooms are simple, yet elegant. Great beds, linens and bathroom amenities. The air conditioning units are quiet. The bathrooms are great. And the food every morning is delicious. When you leave the Salt House Inn, you will want to bring the Inn Keepers home with you.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #3 which was facing the street. We did not have any issues with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia H, Manager at Salt House Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for your kind commendations, Rafael! We love the C.O. Bigelow bath amenities and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed them, too. While Kevin and David do not fit into your luggage to come home with you, they (and the rest of the team at Salt House Inn) are always here waiting for your return! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I just returned last night from The Salt House Inn. Relaxing, beautiful and amazing!
The perfect combination of a relaxing, causal B&B with the attention to detail of a 5 star resort.
Just booked my next visit in June and can't wait!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia H, Manager at Salt House Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
We are honored to be deemed "Provincetown's best kept secret!" We are thrilled to hear that your stay was relaxing and amazing, and are sincerely looking forward to your return. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay even more enjoyable in June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salt House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt House Inn

Address: 6 Conwell St., Provincetown, MA 02657
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic Cape Cod inn redefined; Dexter's Inn begins its transformation into Provincetown's first Boutique Inn for the 2012 season offering guests relaxed luxury, thoughtful amenities and a prime location in the heart of town. The property is undergoing extensive renovations over the Winter and will debut 9 completely renovated New Rooms with Private Baths and six of our Classic Rooms, featuring Private and Shared Baths, will remain with minor upgrades. We are also pleased to offer a new lobby, expanded amenities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Salt House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dexter`s Hotel Provincetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.