We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Every Way !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salt House Inn

Save Saved
You added Salt House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Salt House Inn
6 Conwell St., Provincetown, MA 02657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 70 Provincetown B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in Every Way !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

From the moment I arrived I knew this place was special !- Such a warm welcome from one of the owners David and I was taken to the most superbly decorated room. Spotlessly clean( thank you Marcia !) and so simply, yet beautifully designed - I felt instantly like I was on vacation. Every detail in the room is beautiful from the collection of vintage pewter plates above the bed to the cleverly designed bathroom, the super comfortable bed, and Bigelow bath products. My room was on the upstairs balcony where I spent several hours lounging on the antique brass bed in the sun.
Another very special part of our stay at the Inn was the breakfast...The food each morning was incredible with a selection of fresh home made baked items, fresh fruits and great coffee. I learnt that Kevin, the other owner, bakes everything and he is truly talented. Breakfast is great not only for the fresh and creative menu, but also for the wonderful atmosphere created by David and Kevin - Breakfast feels like hanging out with friends, discussing local spots and enjoying some laughs with the very friendly owners and other guests. The breakfast room, like the bedrooms is absolutely gorgeous! ( it also spills out into the courtyard which is so pretty). We had such an incredible stay and would like to thank David and Kevin for their warm hospitality and genuine care. Already looking forward to seeing you next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
72
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
attleboro, ma
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating my 50th birthday and despite a cool, soggy two days we had a wonderful get away to the Salt House Inn! The Inn is simple yet elegant and decorated superbly and is picture perfect! Although we were not able to enjoy the outside grounds they are meticulously maintained and very inviting with seating under a shaded pergola. The Inn also provides parking for guests, which is a huge plus in busy P-Town. No need to try to find parking downtown as the Inn is located within walking distance of all the downtown shops, restaurants and nightlife.

The room we stayed in was very cozy and comfortable and done up in all white with a cottage feel, very clean and crisp. The bed was so comfortable and the room has an ac unit which was one of the most quiet ac units, a large flat screen TV mounted on the wall and also a mini fridge. The bathroom was spacious and beautifully decorated. The bathroom had a huge walk in shower and the complimentary bath products were delightful!

I sent an email request to Kevin for a gluten free breakfast and he did not disappoint! I had so many delicious options and sampled all of the breakfast offerings. Every breakfast item was delicious and made from scratch by Kevin himself. I cannot believe how delicious and plentiful the breakfast was. It was one of the best breakfasts that I have ever had at an Inn!. The breakfast menu was cleverly posted on a chalkboard wall with the temperature for the day and tides listed too.

After returning from dinner and going to our room to get changed to go out to a show I was very surprised and pleased to see that the Inn Owners left me a gift for my 50th birthday to remember them by. It was so thoughtful and a really nice touch.

Kevin the owner of the inn was extremely personable and very helpful with suggestions on dining and nightlife. Everything is covered at the Salt House Inn, they did not leave out a single detail. We will definitely come back and stay at the Salt House Inn and recommend it to our friends and family. We can't say enough about this hidden gem and the wonderful gracious staff!!!

Thank you Kevin and staff of the Salt House Inn for helping make my 50th Celebration memorable and our stay 5 star!!!! We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the room choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Very confortable room with contemporary decor. The location is great- easy walking distance from downtown but situated in quiet , leafy area. The breakfast items are also very scrumptuous! Kevin, the Inn keeper, was very helpful and friendly and even gave us a drive to the ferry after we checked out.We will definitely book there again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulsboro, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Nestled among the many inns and guesthouses on Conwell St., is a row of leafy green hedges with a simple black sign marked, "Salt House Inn". Minimalist describes the Salt House Inn, but in the best possible way!
From the moment I walked in the door, Kevin, the co-host, made me feel instantly welcome. The town is brimming with places to eat, drink and things to do, which can be overwhelming for a first time visitor. But I was given a custom, glossy pamphlet with recommendations on how to get the best out of my stay in Provincetown and all of them were spot on.
The lobby is not a lobby, but a welcoming oasis where a full, complimentary breakfast, cooked by the host, is served every morning. I'm not talking bacon and eggs, either. The delicious confections like baked blueberry French Toast and pastries will make you reconsider thoughts of going anyplace else for breakfast. The downstairs patio, surrounded by a lush garden is perfect for enjoying this. The upstairs deck also has comfy chairs fit for relaxing with a cup of coffee or chatting with other guests while enjoying the Cape Cod breeze.
The rooms are superb if your taste is clean and minimalist. Your key only opens a door to a hall with a few rooms. I shared an entrance with only two other rooms.
Crisp and white. From the linens to the towels, there is a feeling of freshness that I have never experienced at any other inn. The beds are cool and comforting. The bathroom is spacious, with a large stand up shower. The rooms are topped off with remote control A/C units, flat screen TVs with cable, free wifi and mini refrigerators. My room was considered a "Superior Double", but I think it could fit two guests cozily.
The inn has onsite parking, which is great because you will most likely never use your car. A walk of two short blocks will lead you to Commercial St., the bustling downtown area full of unique eateries, shops and galleries.
I stayed three nights at the Salt House and my only regret is that I didn't stay the entire week. Thank you, Kevin and David for your overwhelming hospitality. I will be back next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed for five nights over a busy P'Town party weekend, and the Salt House Inn provided a stlish and comfortable retreat from the hustle and bustle of P'Town, but was only a few minutes walk to the heart of the town!
Our hosts, Kevin and David, were charming and helpful and eager to help us get the most out of our P'Town experience. There expert local knowledge was a great help, as was them being able to get us reservations in a popular local restaurant!
The location, as mentioned, is perfect - only a few minutes from the centre but the short walk meant it felt quiet and relaxing.
Breakfast was a different experience every morning, with Kevin treating us to new amazing treats every morning.
The room was simple, elegant and stylish - as were the common areas around the Inn. Everywhere was spotlessly clean at all times.
This place is a must for any visitor to the Cape or P'Town - we will definitely be returning again soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The inn itself was so perfect. It felt away from the business of PTown - being quiet, relaxing, serene, but it was only a 3 minute walk to anything you could want. The rooms and grounds were so clean and well-kept. When we walked in our room you could even smell how clean it was. The rooms and common areas are decorated so wonderfully that I found myself taking pictures so I could copy it in my own home. Besides the place itself being wonderful, the men that run the inn are positively the most charming and sweetest hosts you could ask for. They go out of their way to make sure you're comfortable and happy. They actually greeted us in the driveway when we got there and let us check in early. The day we left, they held our bags for us after we checked out so we could go enjoy the day without being weighed down. On top of all of this, the breakfast in the morning was SO GOOD. They write what all of the goodies are on a chalkboard and, of course, my husband and I had to try them all. Every single bit was delicious, unique, and left us stuffed. It was a perfect weekend and I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: We probably had one of the smallest rooms available, and it was still lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at the Salt House Inn, and we only stayed ONE night! Our road trip consisted of a one night stay in Provincetown and then the rest of our days were spent in Boston.

The location is convenient, very near the center of town where the hustle and bustle is. The rooms and overall decor of the premises was just so picturesque, cute, and romantic. The atmosphere of where you stay on vacation is a huge factor.

Breakfast is AMAAAAAZINGGGG. Kevin does it all and he really does an amazing job with breakfast. This place is a MUST GO if you're visiting Cape Cod. I would definitely recommend the Salt House Inn to anyone who's looking for a place to stay on Provincetown

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salt House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt House Inn

Address: 6 Conwell St., Provincetown, MA 02657
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic Cape Cod inn redefined; Dexter's Inn begins its transformation into Provincetown's first Boutique Inn for the 2012 season offering guests relaxed luxury, thoughtful amenities and a prime location in the heart of town. The property is undergoing extensive renovations over the Winter and will debut 9 completely renovated New Rooms with Private Baths and six of our Classic Rooms, featuring Private and Shared Baths, will remain with minor upgrades. We are also pleased to offer a new lobby, expanded amenities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Salt House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dexter`s Hotel Provincetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.