We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HEAVEN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salt House Inn

Save Saved
You added Salt House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Salt House Inn
6 Conwell St., Provincetown, MA 02657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 70 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“HEAVEN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Could there be a more idyllic place to stay? Wonderful Hosts, quiet but central location, minimalist/Shaker influenced design. The whole concept is put together with great aplomb, hardly suprising considering the considerable accomplishments of both Kevin and David, the charming and attentive Proprietors. Did I mention the food? Kevin's breakfasts are a Gourmand's delight.
Complete indulgence at a competive price. Bliss.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
91
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Salt House Inn is the perfect place for a weekend getaway. Kevin and David are fantastic hosts, with great knowledge of the local area (whether you are wanting to hire bikes, head to galleries, eat out, hit the bars etc) and they put on an exquisite breakfast!
We loved the rooms and the concept of the entire inn. It encouraged a friendly, warm atmostphere amongst the guests, while embracing its surroundings. We had the Deluxe Queen room with the separate private bathroom, which we loved. Would highly recommend considering the Salt House Inn if you are heading up to P-town.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the non-road side of the inn, particularly if you like to sleep with the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A beautiful elegant Inn that is refreshingly different to the normal P-Town offering. Uber-cool bedrooms decorated with a nod to the heritage of Cape Cod but overwhelmingly stylish ! Hosts David & Kevin could not have done more to make our stay more relaxing, from restaurant recomendations to ideas of what to do each day. The breakfast is a huge treat ! each day they served something different to surprise and delight us. The cleanliness is incredible, it was absolutely completely spotless - give the housekeeper a raise ! The garden patio area is also a haven of calm if you just want to chill out. Well done Salt House Inn ! we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We arrived late in the evening due to a storm and traffic but upon our arrival to the Salt House Inn we were immediately put at ease. Our room was cozy, the bed was comfortable. I felt quite at home. The Salt House Inn was in perfect distance to Commercial St. and all the bike trails in the area. I was weary of trying a B&B due to my dietary restrictions, however I made sure to make a note on my reservation that I am gluten intolerant. I was more than delighted to wake up to gluten-free buckwheat + blueberry pancakes made-to-order in the dining area. Owners David and Kevin were warm and gracious and their attention to detail could be seen in every aspect of the Inn. It was our first time in Cape Cod and we will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

After months fantasizing about our week-long getaway to P-town, we finally reached Salt House Inn from half way around the world. Not only were we greeted by gorgeous weather, but also by spectacular hosts, David and Kevin, and an adorable room with the comfiest bed! The inn is quaint, cozy, stylishly simple, so close to Commercial Street yet feels like a tucked-away retreat. Thanks guys! We had a great time and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Salt House Inn. Kevin and David are the consummate hosts. These are no ordinary B&B breakfasts, either, since Kevin is a culinary school graduate. What a treat! The rooms are simple, elegant, and clean; the outdoor space is lovely and relaxing; and the location can't be beat. All told, we had a wonderful long weekend and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: The deluxe king has a nice sitting area, separate from the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Salt House Inn is a wonderful P-Town discovery. Kevin and David are fabulous hosts with superb taste and have renovated this perfectly located in with style and charm. Their recommendations were perfect and their knowledge about the area was helpful and informative. We fell in love with P-Town and will definitely return to The Salt House Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salt House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt House Inn

Address: 6 Conwell St., Provincetown, MA 02657
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic Cape Cod inn redefined; Dexter's Inn begins its transformation into Provincetown's first Boutique Inn for the 2012 season offering guests relaxed luxury, thoughtful amenities and a prime location in the heart of town. The property is undergoing extensive renovations over the Winter and will debut 9 completely renovated New Rooms with Private Baths and six of our Classic Rooms, featuring Private and Shared Baths, will remain with minor upgrades. We are also pleased to offer a new lobby, expanded amenities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Salt House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dexter`s Hotel Provincetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.