We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Snug Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Snug Cottage to your Saves list
Snug Cottage
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   178 Bradford Street, Provincetown, MA 02657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 70 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed one night at this B&B and we liked the experience. It is very handy to have the parking included just in front of the house and we are at walking distance to the main street.
THe breakfast was good.
We were not very used to the 'old' style but it felt like it was a real american home
It is expensive though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    35
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
156
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here for three nights whilst we explored Provincetown and it was wonderful. The hosts were very accommodating with our late night arrival which we really appreciated as 1am isn't your usual check in time!

The breakfast was delicious with a wide selection of muffins, breads, homemade granola and fruit each morning. Our room - the Churchill suite was spacious and backed onto the guest garden which was so very beautiful.

I think the location was perfect, only five minutes from the main pier by foot - so convenient for exploring the town during the day but away from the noise of Commercial Street in the evening - which was a bonus on a Saturday night!

Room Tip: The Churchill Suite was fantastic, obviously I can't speak for the other rooms but this one was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The owner is nice and friendly. The garden is well-maintained, sweet and relaxing. The room is small but comfortable and clean. Breakfast is adequate. I love its location - it's not neighboring the beach but that also means the place is more quiet than places on the streets near the beach. And it's just 5 minutes walk to the street with lots of shops.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed one night. The room was very nice and clean. We were welcomed by Brian. He showed us our room. Gave us directions and suggestions. The inn is walking distance to almost everything in town. We also asked if we could leave our car after we checked out and we were told we could. The breakfast was very nice with many choices. Would definetly suggest this place and would stay again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Room was very nice and the owners were pleasant and accommodating. Property is beautiful - we had breakfast outside and enjoyed the morning sun. Food was delicious. The owner allowed us to park the car there until 3:00pm even though we checked out at noon. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston,ma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed for just one night and can't wait to go back! We are very particular about B and B's, usually opting for Select Registry or that caliber-this one was right up there! Owner was great, breakfast beautifully served and inn very charming and welcoming-great location for walking or biking around P-Town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I showed up on a rainy Friday morning and as soon as I parked my car, the rain stopped. When I made the reservation, I sent an inquiry to the Innkeepers asking if I could possibly park my car in their lot and wander around town until check-in time. I immediately received a reply email saying "Yes - absolutely you may use our lot if your room isn't ready when you arrive".

So I arrived - stupid early - and by chance, my room was ready. Bill/Brian (I can't remember which one I spoke with) was great. Friendly, helpful, easy to talk to. He showed me around the house (charming), and gave me the lay of the land - coffee maker, movies, ice machine, breakfast, etc.

The entrance to Snug Cottage is warm and inviting. A sprawling brick patio, well planted with clusters of seating and tables greets you as you walk up to the front door (after parking your car in their ample lot). The tones of Snug Cottage are dark - masculine, warm, historic. Dark wood, dark upholstery, but it doesn't feel heavy. Everything is period, a bit worn (in a lovely way), and has character. You'd imagine that this was the Provincetown vacation home of a well to do and well heeled 60 year old bachelor in the 1920's.

Small engraved brass plaques quietly announce everything - which closet has the icemaker, which closet is for housekeeping, which room or suite you're standing in front of. Walking through Snug Cottage is a study in creaks and groans in the old floorboards. Not in an annoying way - in the sort of way that you loved your grandparents house and made a game of avoiding or stepping on specific floorboards when you wanted to alternately be quiet, or a nuisance.

I stayed in the York Suite. Bright - whites and blues, splashes of yellow, spacious, nooks to nap and read a book, a fireplace if the season is appropriate, plenty of appropriate lighting, WATER VIEWS (from one of the nooks). It was comfortable, charming (I'm using that word a lot and it's absolutely appropriate), and felt open and breezy. With the windows open, the air was constantly moving through the room keeping everything fresh and cool.

Breakfast was lovely. Bill/Brian made a great egg casserole, the blueberry muffins were delicious, cereals, yogurt, lots of fresh fruit, oatmeal, granola (homemade - I think), breads, english muffins, hard boiled eggs, preserves, juice, coffee - best B&B breakfast I've had in a while.

Afternoon refreshments featured: lemonade, white wine, and homemade oatmeal cookies. All were delightful.

Coffee seemed to be available 24/7 from the Keurig in the Living Room.

The grounds were lush: overplanted in a wonderful "wilderness meets gay" sort of way.

I would definitely stay here again. And again =)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Snug Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Cottage

Address: 178 Bradford Street, Provincetown, MA 02657
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Snug Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1825, Snug Cottage surrounds you with history. We've preserved the best of the early 19th century and added all the comfort and luxury you expect of first class accommodations. Set amidst tranquil gardens, Snug Cottage offers eight luxurious guest rooms featuring wood burning fireplaces, private baths, TV/DVD, complimentary high speed wireless internet access, telephones w/voicemail, fluffy robes, and AVEDA amenities. Our sumptuous continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments help make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Snug Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snug Cottage Hotel Provincetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snug Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.