We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time back in Provincetown in 20 years” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Colony Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Colony Inn to your Saves list
Cape Colony Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   280 Bradford Street, Provincetown, MA   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct-Special Offer
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Provincetown
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“first time back in Provincetown in 20 years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

had the pleasure of staying at the Cape Colony Inn on my long weekend in Provincetown, my first time back there in almost 20 years. i had initially chosen another hotel about 20 minutes away (which seemed nice when i drove by it LOL), but the allure of staying right in in P-Town won out, and i am glad it did.
first off, the people working there were amazing ... i have trouble with names, but in this case, it doesn't matter. they were all great ... down to earth, helpful and accommodating.
the Cape Colony Inn is a quaint, clean place ... their continental breakfast was quite good, the fresh muffins were wonderful! there were restaurants close by, as well as a movie theatre, and what i refer to as a country store right down the street. the heated pool seemed nice, although we were too busy during our stay to make use of it. the recreation area was a really neat idea. it encouraged socialization among guests & was a nice place to walk pets (the ping pong table was a hit for the little girl traveling with us).
it is a 20-25 minute hike into town, however, the beautiful cottages, scenery and people along the way make it quite pleasant. i may bring a bicycle next time i stay ... yes there will be a next time (unless i relocate).
the room was surprisingly nice. the beds were amazing, and almost identical to the comfort level of my bed here at home.
the only cons were a brief mid-shower plumbing issue, which was resolved within 10 minutes (the person writing this went through an 8 day power outage after an ice storm, so this is not much of a complaint) ... and noise was a little bit of an issue (but to be expected when you stay at a bustling inn). reinforcing the stairs, as well as carpeting on the upper floor walkways might help, as well as signs asking patrons to take extra care walking through after a certain time at night. the doors also were difficult to close, which added to the issue, but i'm not sure if this is a pesky MA fire code requirement or not.
all in all, i had a wonderful stay, and i can't wait for next year ....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    171
    31
    4
    8
See reviews for
103
203
18
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The property is slightly off the beaten path but the mile or so walk into town was very enjoyable. The rooms were recently renovated, staying true to the beachy Cape Cod feel,fresh and clean with cool photography on the walls taken by local artist..nice touch!
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCIptown, Manager at Cape Colony Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at CCI, and for taking time to provide your wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you had a great stay and experienced our clean, newly renovated rooms, expanded breakfast and wonderful staff that we are very fortunate to have. We hope you will visit us in 2014 and enjoy our newly renovated bathrooms. Thanks again, and enjoy the holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voluntown, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here 5 times. Years ago it was a last resort place to stay because of the very outdated decor and conditions.
This year we've stayed twice and they have really stepped up their game. Rates were great, staff was friendly and helpful and the decor is very nice.
A short bike ride to the center of town and definitely walkable.
For the price, this place can't be beat.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCIptown, Manager at Cape Colony Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for trying us again and staying with us at CCI, and for taking time to provide your wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you had a great stay and experienced our clean, newly renovated rooms, expanded breakfast and wonderful staff that we are very fortunate to have. We hope you will visit us in 2014 and enjoy our newly renovated bathrooms. Thanks again, and enjoy the holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The worst stop in US this summer, we receive false informations and the promise of the reception disappear after confirmation : please avoid this incoorect and unpleasent hotel.

They double the normal price and the service and breakfast were very under the standard level.
Even the director acted like a first lady and we were not handle like clients...

Very very unusual bad customer care, we never meet people like them

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCIptown, Manager at Cape Colony Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Andrea,
We are very sorry that you paid more than you expected. It would help if we had more information about your stay and appreciate it if you can contact us to let us know your name and date of travel since we have no record based upon this review. We will gladly issue a credit if we know what the issue is. Our policy is to email a confirmation if the guest books directly with us, so if you can send us that confirmation email we will quickly review and get back to you. Thank you again and we are sorry that you had an issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Have to agree with most of the comments previously made. Very helpfull staff, rooms are well decorated, furnished and clean. We were there for a couple of nights at the very end of October as the weather was turning I would suggest its nearer a 20-25 minute walk to the main harbour and centre and not 15 as some have stated. I bet thats lovely when the weathers nice, but just as well were wore suitable clothing for our yomp back to the hotel.
Not to be taken for granted, car parking for residents which not all hotels closer to the centre have and parking is expensive up town.
Minor grumble - we were staying on the first floor and due to the structure of the walk way balcony found it very noisey in the morning when people walked along it. You could hear the cleaners trolley coming along it 20 mteres away.
We would go back again, which is always a positive indication.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCIptown, Manager at Cape Colony Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at CCI and for taking time to provide your wonderful feedback. Good news, carpet on upper deck coming in 2014 which should quiet things down a bit. We are delighted that you had a great stay and experienced our clean, newly renovated rooms, expanded breakfast and wonderful staff that we are very fortunate to have. We hope you will visit us in 2014 and enjoy our newly renovated bathrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Great value! My husband and I stayed at Cape Colony Inn during this year's Tennessee Williams Festival. It was exactly 1.2 miles from the Crown and Anchor, an easy walk. We crossed Bradford Street to get to the sidewalk on Commercial Street and enjoyed daily strolls to and from festival events. Our room was large, bright, cheerful, spotlessly clean, quiet, and very comfortable. Hospitality was excellent. The people at the front desk were most welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. Free breakfast was well-managed and well-stocked with standard selections. We loved the location and the friendly staff. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCIptown, Manager at Cape Colony Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at CCI and for taking time to provide your wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you had a great stay and experienced our clean, newly renovated rooms, expanded breakfast and wonderful staff that we are very fortunate to have. We hope you will visit us in 2014 and enjoy our newly renovated bathrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The rooms are spacious and clean with enormous beds. The staff were friendly and helpful and the 'pack-lunch' style breakfast is a handy way to have breakfast in bed without the service charge. It's a pleasant 15 minute walk to the harbour and we'd happily recommend this sweet little place to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCIptown, Manager at Cape Colony Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at CCI and for taking time to provide your wonderful feedback. We are delighted that you had a great stay and experienced our clean, newly renovated rooms, expanded breakfast and wonderful staff that we are very fortunate to have. We hope you will visit us in 2014 and enjoy our newly renovated bathrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Colony Inn

Address: 280 Bradford Street, Provincetown, MA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
#3 Family Hotel in Provincetown
#3 Green Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Colony Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 2 Blocks from Public Beach, 57 Newly Renovated and immaculate rooms, featuring Simmons Beautyrest Pillowtop Mattresses & Pacific Coast Pillows, Cape Colony Inn offers the most comfortable bed at the best value in Provincetown. Air Conditioning, Heated Pool, Complimentary Wifi & Breakfast including Fresh Belgian Waffles, Fresh Fruit, Yogurt, Cereal, Coffee, Juices, Pastries, and more. A unique photograph adorns each room taken by local photographers of their favorite outer cape spots. Bed are triple sheeted with comforters and each room furnished with a new Flat Screen TV, Keurig Brewing Machines, Mini Refrigerator with freezer, Microwave, Ipod Clock Radios, Rusk Personal Products, Iron/Board, Hair Dryer and more. Outdoor Picnic & Games Area features Weber Gas Grills, Picnic Tables, Volley Ball, Ping Pong, Shuffle Board & Horseshoe Pit. Short walk to shops, galleries, restaurants, & clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cape Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Colony Hotel Provincetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Colony Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.