We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going downhill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Waterford to your Saves list
The Waterford
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   386 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 70 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have stayed at the Waterford approximately six times over recent years. It began as a lovely place to stay, right in the heart of Provincetown, with reasonable rates and good service. This year, our stay there was very disappointing. The rates have gone up a lot and the service has declined. When we first got to our room this time, there was a very dirty, wet towel from the previous occupant hanging on the back of the bathroom door and a large toenail clipping in the middle of the rug. The breakfast, which had always been reliably good, was also very disappointing. By the time we arrived for breakfast (in the middle of the breakfast time frame), there was no more fruit available, and the other selections were inadequate and very limited. Time to find a new place to stay, I think.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    25
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
84
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I are not "easy vacationers" and this trip was absolutely wonderful, due to the very special quality of hospitality offered at The Waterford. They make you feel completely at home, while not being overbearing. We would stay there again in a second. James more than lives up to his reputation for delightful hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We reserved at the last minute when we decided to spend the night following our friends' Ptown wedding. If you reserve further out, sometimes there's a multi night minimum during peak season. James, the manager, more than lives up to his billing in other reviews: beyond helpful over the phone, helping us pick Room #8. When we arrived, he and the housekeepers Petya and Rick loaned us another room so my wife could change for the wedding while they readied ours. When we got to our room, it was sunny, nicely decorated, clean, and functional. There's an iHome dock bedside for your iPod or iPhone as well as a mini fridge in this particular room. Our friends had their wedding reception at the hotel restaurant- food and service were both outstanding. The rooftop seating area is a terrific place to enjoy dinner while take in all that's happening on Commercial Street. There is also a quieter courtyard seating area. Owner Al Gordon was everywhere- onsite, hands on, making sure the place runs like a well made watch. The next morning we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast before leaving. Again, the food was simple but fresh and well prepared with friendly service. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Room 8 King is sunny, quiet, facing the courtyard and harbor, with a nice reading chair and ottoman...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I booked the Waterford for a last minute overnight stay. We got a great "in season" rate on the internet. Having never stayed at the Waterford, we were not sure what to expect. We were very impressed! The room (cleaned by Rick) was exceptionly clean. The bathroom, though small, was spotless. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were "just out of the washer" fresh. The Waterford is an 19th century mansion ,so don't expect alot of modern amenities. Our room had high ceilings, tall windows and wonderful original wide pine floors. We booked a Monday night stay, so the inn was somewhat quiet. I cannot say whether or not noise would be a factor had it been busy. James had the day off; we checked in with Al who was very pleasant and couldn't have been more helpful. The entire staff was just wonderful! We had dinner in the adjacent restaurant. It is a bit pricey, (as are all of the p-town restaurants) however they do have an "early bird special" with a choice of several different entrees with soup or salad and dessert for $14.99. It was an excellent deal! We dined on the outside patio by the sidewalk; you can enjoy the comings and goings of the crowd and on a beautiful summer evening, what could be better. All and all it was a very pleasant stay, and we will definately by back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We recently stayed at the Waterford and while James the innkeeper was really fantastic and his entire staff was super friendly, I am not 100% sure we would stay here again, but might consider it. A nice touch is the fresh baked cookies in the rooms but due to a gap in the a/c unit..ants were on the attack in our room! Thankfully they were tiny and really only wanted to eat the cookies :) Our room was very clean and very spacious, even the bathrooms are a good size. The Inn is in a great part of town and you are close to everything. The biggest downfall is having to pay for parking as there is no onsite parking. I would recommend this Inn to friends for sure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Me and my wife and our 2 daughters have been travelling in New England for one week and the night at the Waterford Inn was the best. We stopped to eat at the restaurant in the evening and we were a little disappointed not being able to find a double bed room or similar in Provincetown and suddenly we got the opportunity to get a nice room (3 windows) with a king bed and a small one for a kid with view on the sea. Everything was perfect clean, fresh, good bed. We had breakfast in the restaurant were we had lobsters the day before. I could park in the street without additional cost, just in front. We were at 5 minutes walking distance from the Whales boat tour. Room 6, perfect with kids.

Room Tip: Eat at the restaurant, very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Oaks, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed there this past June for our Birthdays. James McCue made us feel like we were in his home. He never stopped working from the morning set up for breakfast till dark. Anything we asked for he was able to get, do and make it happen. The staff coudn't be more pleasant. We loved the food and especially the raw bar at 1pm. We enjoyed the garden day or night. James worked so hard to keep it beautiful. From the minute we drove up he helped us to the time we left he was there. We felt like we made a new friend, we felt like family. The room was clean and comfortable. I have lived in P-town years before so I know many residents and many other places to stay but since our experience we would not hesitate to come back. I was in the customer service business and James is a great asset to your team. Thank You James and we miss you !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterford

Address: 386 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Waterford 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Luxury in the Heart of it All. Completely renovated in the Spring of 2009 the Waterford Inn combines the charm of an 1860's Sea Captain's Mansion with modern amenities and an unwaivering passion for outstanding service. Rooms are large, all with private bathrooms, several with private decks overlooking Provincetown Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterford Hotel Provincetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.