We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprise gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Surfside Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Surfside Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A surprise gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My wife and I booked late for a busy week in Ptown and found a room at the surfside...we were pleasantly surprised! The rooms were nice with comfy beds and a huge tv (by hotel standards). The pool had been upgraded and is perfect. (They said they will be adding more chairs next year). Last night we sat out by the firepit which was so nice and relaxing. We brought our bikes this year which made the distance to town seem like nothing. There is a private beach with lounge chairs and umbrellas. The free breakfast was good...quite a few choices including but not limited to scrambled eggs, hash sausage and make your own waffles. The staff has been very helpful and they are pet friendly.

We would certainly stay here again!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our renovation of the pool area has made a big hit with our guests and we appreciate your mentioning it on Trip Advisor. Our breakfast is a great start to your day, we are pleased that you enjoyed it. My staff will behappy to see your review and that we were able to make your stay with us a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    155
    77
    28
    18
See reviews for
135
252
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We traveled with our 2 boys, ages 11 & 12, and we all had a wonderful time. The sea view rooms are right on the beach and they had plenty of loungers and chairs to use on the beach. There is a fire pit in front of the hotel lobby and we had pizza delivered there on our second night and we got to meet to nice people and enjoy the evening. We did not find it too loud and there was a wedding taking place right on the beach in front of our room. Overall, it was a truly enjoyable experience and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with an ocean view are worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and services. We appreciate your comments and are pleased that we met with you needs and expectations. We hope to see you again in the future. Our fire pit has been a hit with everyone, what a great place to make new friends. We hope to see you again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Hotel overall was great. Clean Rooms, Good Atmosphere, and the location was fantastic. A short walk from downtown Provincetown where great shops, food, and theatre awaits. We had a room right on the ocean. The view was fantastic, and we shared a back porch with everyone on the floor (probably about 12 Rooms or so). The service was great, always answered our questions and knew where all the good restaurants and landmarks are. The beach was not crowded at all, and they had beach chairs all set up for us once we got down there. The breakfast in the morning was the worst part of the hotel. They had Bagels and Waffles, as well as scrambled eggs and sausages (which weren't that good). We went on a whale watch one day which was fantastic. Our boat was surrounded by whales and they were swimming right up to the boat.--Highly recommend spending one day to go on a whale watch (lasts about 4 Hours or so). The shops were nice (but expensive as well as the restaurants). The trip probably wouldn't have been as enjoyable if our room was facing the parking lot or street. Lots of dogs, as the hotel is Dog-Friendly.

Room Tip: Get an Ocean View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm going to look into the breakfast problem as most guests enjoy our many choices at breakfast. Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woonsocket
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My partner and I stayed in Provincetown for the weekend and chose the Surfside because it was oceanfront as well as slightly away from the hustle, bustle and noise of Commercial Street in downtown Provincetown. It was an excellent choice. We brought our bikes and the mile into town was quick and easy. The rooms had A/C, a shared balcony overlooking the ocean with lovely seating, a fridge, microwave and coffee maker! We enjoyed the free breakfast one of the mornings we stayed and there is a good selection of food (hash browns, scrambles eggs - yes they are powdered, so they were just so-so, freshly made waffles from do-it-yourself irons, hard boiled eggs, cereal, bread items, oatmeal, coffee, tea, juices, milk, fruit). The pool is VERY nice and they have a lovely outdoor gas fire pit with all sorts of seating around it. We stayed in the rear building which sits ON the beach. I would HIGHLY recommend staying in this building. The other building was NOT oceanfront really and while the hotel is nice, I would not choose to stay there in the pool-side building. The manager was right on top of things. When a group of rowdy, young adults were making noise outside at 3am on the Saturday night of our stay, she was out there within 30 seconds of my phone call dealing with the issue. Hotel is pet-friendly, as is ALL of Provincetown!!! Staff was very nice and very welcoming. Free parking for one vehicle.

Room Tip: Oceanfront building on the beach only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
I want to thank you for your review, I appreciate your letting others know how much you enjoyed our hotel and service. We look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I didn't mind this hotel but it was quite the walk from the action of P'Town- normally I'm not bothered by this but dragging luggage along the rough main road that distance in the July heat wasn't ideal- a cab would have been a wiser option had we realized ahead of time. We had a room on an upper floor overlooking the beach which was absolutely wonderful. We could sleep with the patio door open and listen to the sigh of the waves coming in all night. The room itself was quite basic and drab, but being on the beach made up for this. It is an older hotel but the price reflected this. It has a nice pool and margaritas delivered to you on deck if you want. Fairly decent continental breakfast (with warm options available) which was a nice little addition and included in the hotel price. Would be a nice family location.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the beach!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Although we are 3/4 of a mile from the center of town, many of our guests enjoy this for the quite we offer them after being in the hustle and bustle in the center of town. Many of our guests also choose to rent bicycles during their stay so that they can go to the center of town as well as our National Park bicycle routes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Elaine & her staff could not have been more accommodating! I was traveling with my 4 year old granddaughter & 5 month old grandson...Elaine saw that we got a room close to the pool, which my granddaughter loved! I cannot say enough about this place! The room was extremely clean & well appointed with a small microwave & refrigerator, which was nice traveling with two small children. The pool was great..just renovated this season & heated! The ocean was just steps across the street! They offered a complimentary breakfast each morning with a nice variety of hot & cold items….Beyond the beautiful room & pool…the staff went above & beyond to accommodate us! From the front desk to housekeeping, all had a warm & friendly smile…even a fire in the evening, where you could unwind and mingle with other guests!! Definitely the spot to be while visiting P-town..only 10-15 minute walk to the center. Elaine was great in recommending a tour of the Pilgrim Monument, the highlight of my granddaughter's stay! We will be back!!

Room Tip: When available…the ocean front rooms are great! You literally step off your deck to the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review we appreciate your wonderful review and I will certainly pass this on to our staff they will be pleased that your expectations were met during your stay. We hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Great location and perfect place to relax after riding our bikes from Boston. The staff were terrific and made us feel right at home after two long days of riding. Drinks on the patio around the fire pit in the evening was a great way to end the day. Beautiful ocean views from the room. If you are in Provincetown this is the place to stay.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel we appreciate your letting other know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next season during the MS ride.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
0.9 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
0.7 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#8 of 13 in Provincetown
3.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
20.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
1.8 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Cape Colony Inn
Cape Colony Inn
#3 of 13 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Hotel & Suites

Address: 543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Family Hotel in Provincetown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. Private beach, outdoor heated saline pool, complimentary breakfast, free WIFI, free parking. Courtyard with fire pit, bar service from our Lighthouse Bar. Easy walk to town, 3/4 of a mile through the art district. Pets welcome, pet treats, pet station and pet shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Surfside Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel And Suites
Surfside Hotel Provincetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.