We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, Fantastic staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Surfside Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Surfside Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Provincetown
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, Fantastic staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Myself and 3 others were here just last week. After spending a few days in Boston for a friends wedding, we headed over to CapeCod on the Fast Ferry. Within 20mins from docking, we were in the friendliest hotel we have known. The staff were so welocming and this continued throughout our stay!
My friends and I had seaview rooms, which were just jaw dropping. We opened our balcony door and the sea was there, with beautiful views of the harbour as well.
I would just like to say thank you very much to all the staff and yes we will all be returning soon!

Our Mugs are fantastic!!!! Thank you to Kelsey and Dave

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have jaw dropping views
See more room tips
Green Features: 5* Everthing you see around is amazing. Fantastic staff, fantastic location, amazing people. All staff including the ladies that clean your room are delightful
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you girls for taking the time to review our hotel. It certainly was a pleasure having you with us and one we will remember for a long time. Always a pleasure having guests like you with us, David will remember the Irish ladies for a long time as well as Kelsea. Hopefully if you are in the states again you will be able to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    136
    68
    28
    17
See reviews for
113
223
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We left an inn that didn't work for us and came to Surfside on the 2nd day of our trip. It's not a luxury establishment, but it is a big, well run place w ocean access, a pool, an outdoor lounge, and good-sized modern rooms, all in the East End of town, about a 10 minute walk from the center of things. The experience is worth the price, and we were glad we moved. Thanks, Surfside.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Surfside Hotel and Suites. We are also pleased that you found us and that we were able to make your Provincetown experience one to remember. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we certainly hope that you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel is in a good location about 15 min walk to downtown P-Town. Which is nice because the downtown area can be very busy. Room was small, clean but the carpet felt damp not sure what that was about. We had a court view shared balcony 2nd flr. But I think bay view on the 1st flr. would be better You have your own balcony with lounges. No dragging your luggage up the narrow steep stairs. We managed though. I rated this place very good because the beds were comfortable lots of pillows, the staff very friendly, free parking and a hot breakfast was provided 8am to 10am. I would recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor with bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was accommodating. We will certainly look into the damp carpet issue, at times if the air is damp there may be a feeling of dampness on the carpets because we are so near to the ocean but be assured that we are looking into it. We hope to see you in the near future and that you will be able to stay in the newly remodeled waterfront rooms with that beautiful view of Cape Cod Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampasas, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations. From the first look at the nice courtyard with the pool and the firepit to the inside lobby area we were impressed. The staff were very nice. Our room on the 4th floor was immaculate and beautifully decorated. The colors were fabulous. The room faced out to the beach which was beautiful. The common balcony was very nice with nice chairs. We sat outside and just found it to be so soothing. The beds were comfortable, nice bathroom. Overall just a great experience. Definitely the place to stay if you have kids who want to be in the pool. Breakfast was included and was the standard for most hotels.

Room Tip: Beachfront of course!
See more room tips
Green Features: We didn't have the sheets changed daily. They offer this option.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and are very pleased that we exceeded your expectations. Our staff works very hard to make your stay with us enjoyable and comfortable and I am pleased that they once again succeeded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I spent several summers working and playing in Provincetown and the cottage I rented was just next to the Bradford st building. I was there in 1991 and can absolutely guarantee the rooms on the top floor were built AFTER 1991. Whenever I go back to visit I stay here and have always had a positive experience. Is it a max luxury hotel on a manicured white sand beach? No. Is it a way better than average Cape Cod hotel? Yes.
They even have a parking lot! Almost unheard of in P Town. You can easily walk into and out of town but if you've forgotten something in the room you'll e bummed out to have to walk back again! It's a good enough distance from the party in the center of town to be quiet but close enough to know you are still in Provincetown. I sit for hours late at night on the beach and watch the sunrise. Provincetown is a fun, weird, very liberal place to be. The Surfside is a great place to stay when there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for your review, we appreciate that you took the time to let others know of your experience at the Surfside and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I would recommend this hotel if you are staying in P-Town! Rooms seem updated and clean with very comfortable mattresses. It had a beautiful private beach and a charming fire pit with bar service at night. Also an excellent breakfast is included!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again when you are in Provincetown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Early check-in was very nice considering the long drive. I can't explain how much I appreciated them getting us in as early as they did. We were greeted in the parking lot by Dave (nicest guy in town). We enjoyed the location and private beach. Center of town was a quick bike ride, bike rack helped us with storage. Pool looked great but it was too cold to enjoy. Only complaint is that we weren't allowed to drink alcohol around the firepit. It would have been nice considering it was so chilly and a holiday weekend. Continental breakfast provided daily.

Room Tip: Third floor hotel rooms are tough with a lot of luggage since there is no elevator on the parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and appreciate your wonderful comments on our staff and amenities. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Hotel & Suites

Address: 543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Family Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. Private beach, outdoor heated saline pool, complimentary breakfast, free WIFI, free parking. Courtyard with fire pit, bar service from our Lighthouse Bar. Easy walk to town, 3/4 of a mile through the art district. Pets welcome, pet treats, pet station and pet shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Surfside Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel And Suites
Surfside Hotel Provincetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.