We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our oceanside home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Surfside Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Surfside Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Provincetown
Cambridge, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Our oceanside home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have been coming to the Surfside regularly for over 10 years. We love the magic combination of a room right on the water, the walk to town (through Provincetown's galleries) and the warm hospitality of the Innkeeper's, David and Elaine. The rooms are nicely decorated, and if you book an ocean side room, you can fall asleep listening to the surf. Our dog Josie is able to come along as well, and adores the place. The Surfside has a devoted following. It really is a special place.

Room Tip: We like the ocean side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Surfside Hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your letting others know how much you and Josie enjoy your stay each season at the Surfside and also Provincetown. We look forward to seeing you again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    136
    68
    28
    17
See reviews for
113
223
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hyannis, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

As has always been the case in our previous visits everything was just wonderful. Great room with fabulous waterfront view, friendly and helpful staff, delicious and filling breakfast included and of course they are pet friendly! This is a terrific bonus for us as we take our poodle Maizie where we go. She has a great time with everyone there and on the beautiful beach right outside our door. We have already book several dates for next year and are truly looking forward to going back. There is so much within walking distance of this gem which is one more point for them. We always feel welcomed and relaxed on our trips to the Surfside-thank you Elaine and David.

Room Tip: Waterfront is spectacular and the upper floors have a greater view
See more room tips
Green Features: They truly care about the environment and follow through on that
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for your review, always a pleasure having both of you and of course Maize here with us. We so look forward to having our guests return year after year, like family coming home. My staff works very hard to make everyone's stay with us one to remember. Always a pleasure seeing Maize every year, she always remembers where the treats are when she arrives and makes sure we know she's here and expecting those treats. We will see you next season, have a wonderful winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nice pool, inviting fire pit area lit at night, glass enclosed breakfast room, bar available for drinks poolside, very nicely decorated room, high quality hotel shampoo & conditioner, my room overlooked the sand on the ocean beach, helpful people working at desk - asked for directions and area recommendations, about 10 minute pretty walk into busy part of town

I believe I got a lot for the price.

Room Tip: ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your letting other know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we met you expectations. We look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Very pleasant stay. Room was slightly tight, but if you aren't spending much time in the room, it doesn't matter in the least. Fantastic location and very clean. Pleasant staff. Great selection for the complimentary breakfast~thank you for that!

Room Tip: If we had to do it over again, we would choose a room by the water, ground floor. Spring and summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, we appreciate your taking the time to let other know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. My staff works very hard to make everyone's stay one to remember and I am pleased to hear that they succeeded once again. We look forward to seeing you again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We liked it so much we already booked next year. The rooms were very clean and large. The staff was helpful and courteous. I will recommend this place to all my friends. The fact that breakfast was included was definitely a bonus. Although we don't have a pet, I thought it was wonderful that the hotel was pet friendly. I think the fire pit was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate your comments, this will let others know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we met your expectations of a great stay at the Surfside Hotel and Suites. We look forward to seeing you again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

It's kind of old fashioned, in a nice sort of way. Very comfortable rooms. The view from my bay side room was spectacular! I found access between rooms & hotel sections & parking lot to be somewhat problematic, especially for my roommate, who has Parkinson's. The place is not handicap accessible. The elevator is appreciated, but uncommonly slow. I was there for a Peace Corps reunion & we found the common area comfortable and the breakfast selections delicious. It's situated perfectly to enjoy all that Provincetown has to offer within a short walk.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a bay side room, if available. You'll be ON the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments, you will be pleased to know that we are looking into ways to make update parts of the hotel to make them ADA compliant. We are pleased than you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure having the Peace Corps Reunion with us, what a fun group! We hope that you will have the pleasure of staying with us again if you in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We love this place. The rooms are clean and well maintained. Dog friendly as our Boston Terrier had a great time as well. We stayed on the bay side and that is where we like it. Out the back door and your onto the beach. The continental breakfast is very nice. The walk to town is just right to walk off the great food you can enjoy in town. The restaurant right next door is very good and convienent (Fanizzis). We have stayed here numerous times and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for again choosing the Surfside for your stay in October and we appreciate your taking the time to review the hotel. Always a pleasure to see guests return year after year, including those beautiful furry ones. We look forward to seeing you in the 2014 season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Hotel & Suites

Address: 543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Family Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. Private beach, outdoor heated saline pool, complimentary breakfast, free WIFI, free parking. Courtyard with fire pit, bar service from our Lighthouse Bar. Easy walk to town, 3/4 of a mile through the art district. Pets welcome, pet treats, pet station and pet shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Surfside Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel And Suites
Surfside Hotel Provincetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.