We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Surfside Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Surfside Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
1 review
“A wonderful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

It's kind of old fashioned, in a nice sort of way. Very comfortable rooms. The view from my bay side room was spectacular! I found access between rooms & hotel sections & parking lot to be somewhat problematic, especially for my roommate, who has Parkinson's. The place is not handicap accessible. The elevator is appreciated, but uncommonly slow. I was there for a Peace Corps reunion & we found the common area comfortable and the breakfast selections delicious. It's situated perfectly to enjoy all that Provincetown has to offer within a short walk.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a bay side room, if available. You'll be ON the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments, you will be pleased to know that we are looking into ways to make update parts of the hotel to make them ADA compliant. We are pleased than you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure having the Peace Corps Reunion with us, what a fun group! We hope that you will have the pleasure of staying with us again if you in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    145
    73
    28
    18
See reviews for
125
240
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We love this place. The rooms are clean and well maintained. Dog friendly as our Boston Terrier had a great time as well. We stayed on the bay side and that is where we like it. Out the back door and your onto the beach. The continental breakfast is very nice. The walk to town is just right to walk off the great food you can enjoy in town. The restaurant right next door is very good and convienent (Fanizzis). We have stayed here numerous times and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for again choosing the Surfside for your stay in October and we appreciate your taking the time to review the hotel. Always a pleasure to see guests return year after year, including those beautiful furry ones. We look forward to seeing you in the 2014 season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Friends recommended the Surfside Hotel to my partner and me two years ago, and last year we finally made our first visit, in October. The hotel is perfectly located (on Commercial Street at the East end of Provincetown, with one building boasting beachfront rooms), it has beautifully appointed rooms with incredibly comfy/ luxurious beds, and the price, while not cheap, is completely reasonable for the quality of the lodgings.

There is also a terrific outdoor firepit (surrounded by rainbow-colored Adirondack chairs, naturally), a pool long enough to swim laps in (though, not in October), and a pretty good serve-yourself breakfast provided with the cost of the room.

Provincetown is a walking town, and the location is perfect if you enjoy stretching your legs (and working off the excellent local cuisine).

We love the Surfside Hotel and Suites. We have just returned from our second vacation, and, as last year, we already have our reservations for next October.

Room Tip: Ask for a beachfront room. When the tide is high, you almost feel as if you are on a ship-- the soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your taking the time to let others know of your wonderful experience at the Surfside. We will have more remodeling done through the winter and can't wait to show them off to everyone! We look forward to seeing you again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is simply wonderful. The room was lovely, with a beautiful view of the sea. The outdoor common area was inviting. I got to breakfast early, and that might have been the only weak spot. Not all the offerings were available 8:00, so I can't say much about the quality of what was brought out later. I would certainly come back. It's a very welcoming and relaxing place!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We thank you for your review and appreciate your letting other know of your experience. We hope to see you again so that you can enjoy our complete breakfast. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sound Beach, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

You can't find a better location in Provincetown. The hotel is right on the harbor beach, and the wharf, the historic sites, and all the shops, galleries, and restaurants are within easy walking distance. The rooms are bright, clean and cheerful. Many face the water and all have shared balconies. The beds are very comfortable, and the linens and pillows are excellent. You will not feel cramped in the hotel rooms, which include a space in the foyer for refrigerator and microwave as well as four built-in drawers and of course, space for hanging your clothes. There are four additional drawers in the main room. The bathroom is modern, and the shower has excellent water pressure and plenty of hot water.
The hotel's pool is quite large, and there is also an area outside the pool that offers a fire pit and several tables. Next to the cozy lobby is a small area of tables and a small bar. This area is also used for breakfast seating. The self-serve breakfast, included in the hotel fee, offers eggs, waffles, muffins, bagels, cereal, and fresh fruit.
I found the entire staff to be extremely helpful and friendly, which added to the pleasure of my three-night stay.
Finally, there is parking on the property, and this is a must in Provincetown, where parking is quite limited on the street.
If you are looking for a place that puts you right on the beach in lovely modern rooms and offers friendly service, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront room.
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel does not advise guests to let staff know if they would like to reuse towels and linens, as most hotels do today, so all towels that are used are replaced each day. No savings on water usage in this regard.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Surfside during your stay in Provincetown. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your taking the time to let others know about your experience. We hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I have been going to Surfside hotel and suites for the past 6 years and we love it more each time.
The hotel is wonderful, staff is like family and the best views in Ptown!
The management is always helpful and accommodating.
We love to wakeup to the beautiful water view, its like being on a cruise! The addition last year of the fire pit and open common area was wonderful.
We will continue to be loyal customers - Surfside is our home in Provincetown! We are already booked for next year!

Room Tip: We love the waterfront rooms! And bringing or renting bikes for the week makes the short walk to to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again this season and for taking the time to let others know how much you enjoy staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My stay was nice. The staff was very friendly & helpful. The view from my waterfront room was amazing. The bathroom could have been a little cleaner though. The breakfast was good. I would stay there again though.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and let others know about your stay. I will certainly look into the problem you had and be sure that it is corrected and will not happen again. We hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Surfside Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Hotel & Suites

Address: 543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
#5 Family Hotel in Provincetown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. Private beach, outdoor heated saline pool, complimentary breakfast, free WIFI, free parking. Courtyard with fire pit, bar service from our Lighthouse Bar. Easy walk to town, 3/4 of a mile through the art district. Pets welcome, pet treats, pet station and pet shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Surfside Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel And Suites
Surfside Hotel Provincetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.