We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Surfside Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Surfside Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Provincetown
Scarsdale, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Another Great Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We keep coming back, again and again. Rooms are clean, decorated beautifully and very comfortable. The location is perfect for walks to town. The waterside view is spectacular. Great outside seating with lounges at the beach and pool or tables for the included and well done breakfast "buffet". The Fire Pit is especially nice to sit around. Already made my reservations for next year!

Room Tip: Rooms on water side take advantage of a great view of Cape Cod Bay and P-Town pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your letting everyone know how much you enjoy the Surfside Hotel and Suites. It's always a pleasure to have guests like yourself return year after year. I look forward to seeing you again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    136
    68
    28
    17
See reviews for
113
223
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastport, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I can't say enough good things about all my stays at Surfside Hotel & Suites. Every room I have stayed in has been bright and clean. The beds are very comfortable with cozy quilts. The bathrooms are immaculate. The location is perfect, within walking distance of shopping and galleries. They offer an expanded continental breakfast, discounts on area activities and discounts at a restaurant nearby. The front desk staff is always ready to give information and make reservations. They even print out the menus of any local restaurant your interested in. You can sit around the fire pit in the common area and a member of the staff will take your food order, pick it up from the restaurant across the street and bring it to you. For swimming, there is a beautiful pool area and bayside beach.
Everyone in the employment of this hotel is friendly and helpful and you are always greeted with a smile. They make you feel special.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our staff works very hard to make your stays with us one to remember. It's always a pleasure having you stay with us and I'm happy to hear that the staff made your stay with us a pleasant one and that they met your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again next season. Again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. It's roughly a 10-15 minute walk from the pier in P-town. The staff that we met were fine, no issues there especially as they left us check in at 1pm. The room was beautiful. The view of the water and beach were stunning. The room itself was decorated to a high standard but the bathroom needs updating. Wifi is slow if you have a beach front room as the lobby is across the street but it's worth it for the view.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review, we do have plans in the future to update the bathrooms, the waterfront rooms were just updated last winter and I'm pleased to hear that your room met your expectations.
This winter we will be updating our WIFI, there is a problem with connection with Iphones and Ipads but we will correct this and everyone will be able to connect fast and without problems.
We hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Excellent! Only place we stay in Provincetown! Reasonably priced! J
Just stayed there again. We mistakenly thought our reservations was for two nights but the front desk informed us it was only one night . Front desk offered to help us find a room at another hotel but at the last minute a room became available at Surfside and a room right on the ocean. They saved the day as we had NO other place to stay! Thank you Surfside front desk and manager. We were able to continue our fun time in P-Town !!! Will definitely stay there again! Bill & Joanne

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your review, we were happy to be able to help you enjoy your stay with us and that a room became available to extend your stay with us. We will see you next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked 6 rooms for our wedding weekend in June. Staff was rude and far from helpful. We have stayed here multiple times before but will not be returning after this stay. The manager was inspecting our family members cups while we were on the patio to see if they contained alcohol- which they didnt. A bridesmaid was locked out of her room and despite her name being on the room I was forced to go down to show my ID for some reason in the middle of having my bridal hair done to get her a new key. The young man at the front desk was very rude and not apologetic. When we called to complain he said 'its not my fault your wedding weekend is starting to be a disaster' A groomsman was charged for an extra night but this same worker and had to spend hours trying to have this remedied. A room that beidesmaids stayed in lost power suddenly while getting ready for the reheraal and it tok over 1 hour for aomeone to come check out the problem. They maintenance man said - 'you cant run 3 blow driers at once' which was not the case seeing as the girls had had their hair done at the salon and had just returned to the room to change. As I said before we usually stay 6-10 nights here a year but will be taking our business elsewhere do to poor service. Rooms are beautiful and well kept (especially the harbor view suite). I'm hoping others are not treated as poorly as we were on such an important weekend of our lives.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I am so sorry to hear about your problems at the Surfside - had I been made aware of this I certainly would have stepped in. This Front Desk Agent is no longer with us, shortly after your wedding he was relieved of his duties. I do apologize for everything and hope that you will give us a chance to make this right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We found this hotel on Booking.com. While the rooms were a little tired, it was family run and they were very attentive. The outdoor fire pit was a great place to unwind and meet folks. They were a short 10-15 min walk to the center of town. Their private beach was very nice as well. They served a continental breakfast every morning with waffle makers and select hot items each day. Their pool was heated and still open after Labor Day. They now serve drinks from their bar at both the pool and the fire pit.

Room Tip: Oceanside has an elevator and isn't that much more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We will be doing remodeling again this winter and hope that you will come and enjoy the hotel again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NIAGARA ON THE LAKE
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

After over two years we finally made it back to Provincetown and Surfside Inn. It was just as wonderful as we remembered. Our room was oceanside with a sitting out area. Lovely sunsets and marvellous view of a perfect wedding on the beach, making this a memorable trip once again.
This hotel is ideally situated on Duval, a pleasant and scenic walk into downtown Provincetown. Breakfast each morning was good with a different feature each day.
The hotel is dog friendly, as is the beach at certain hours when dogs can be off leash beachside.
Great fire pit area for the evening.
Can hardly wait to return!

Room Tip: If you are able to, try to get a room on the water side. The views and sunsets are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. I also thank you for sharing your very special day with us, your ceremony was beautiful. We look forward to seeing you again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Hotel & Suites

Address: 543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Family Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. Private beach, outdoor heated saline pool, complimentary breakfast, free WIFI, free parking. Courtyard with fire pit, bar service from our Lighthouse Bar. Easy walk to town, 3/4 of a mile through the art district. Pets welcome, pet treats, pet station and pet shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Surfside Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel And Suites
Surfside Hotel Provincetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.