We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost our business” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Surfside Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Surfside Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Provincetown
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lost our business”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked 6 rooms for our wedding weekend in June. Staff was rude and far from helpful. We have stayed here multiple times before but will not be returning after this stay. The manager was inspecting our family members cups while we were on the patio to see if they contained alcohol- which they didnt. A bridesmaid was locked out of her room and despite her name being on the room I was forced to go down to show my ID for some reason in the middle of having my bridal hair done to get her a new key. The young man at the front desk was very rude and not apologetic. When we called to complain he said 'its not my fault your wedding weekend is starting to be a disaster' A groomsman was charged for an extra night but this same worker and had to spend hours trying to have this remedied. A room that beidesmaids stayed in lost power suddenly while getting ready for the reheraal and it tok over 1 hour for aomeone to come check out the problem. They maintenance man said - 'you cant run 3 blow driers at once' which was not the case seeing as the girls had had their hair done at the salon and had just returned to the room to change. As I said before we usually stay 6-10 nights here a year but will be taking our business elsewhere do to poor service. Rooms are beautiful and well kept (especially the harbor view suite). I'm hoping others are not treated as poorly as we were on such an important weekend of our lives.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I am so sorry to hear about your problems at the Surfside - had I been made aware of this I certainly would have stepped in. This Front Desk Agent is no longer with us, shortly after your wedding he was relieved of his duties. I do apologize for everything and hope that you will give us a chance to make this right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    136
    68
    28
    17
See reviews for
113
223
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We found this hotel on Booking.com. While the rooms were a little tired, it was family run and they were very attentive. The outdoor fire pit was a great place to unwind and meet folks. They were a short 10-15 min walk to the center of town. Their private beach was very nice as well. They served a continental breakfast every morning with waffle makers and select hot items each day. Their pool was heated and still open after Labor Day. They now serve drinks from their bar at both the pool and the fire pit.

Room Tip: Oceanside has an elevator and isn't that much more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We will be doing remodeling again this winter and hope that you will come and enjoy the hotel again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NIAGARA ON THE LAKE
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

After over two years we finally made it back to Provincetown and Surfside Inn. It was just as wonderful as we remembered. Our room was oceanside with a sitting out area. Lovely sunsets and marvellous view of a perfect wedding on the beach, making this a memorable trip once again.
This hotel is ideally situated on Duval, a pleasant and scenic walk into downtown Provincetown. Breakfast each morning was good with a different feature each day.
The hotel is dog friendly, as is the beach at certain hours when dogs can be off leash beachside.
Great fire pit area for the evening.
Can hardly wait to return!

Room Tip: If you are able to, try to get a room on the water side. The views and sunsets are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. I also thank you for sharing your very special day with us, your ceremony was beautiful. We look forward to seeing you again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Surfside is the best place I've stayed while in Provincetown. The rooms are newly renovated and cozy. We had a waterfront room and it was glorious. The staff there were amazing. They were super available during the night of our wedding on the beach. Dogs are allowed at this hotel and that made it easier on us to not have to leave them at home. There are plenty of places to eat in walking distance. We loved this place.

Room Tip: The king size bed room is a bit small but cozy and nicely furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure having you with us and letting us share in your special day. We look forward to seeing you again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

once again surfside has provided a great place to stay while in p-town,the staff goes out of there way to make sure you have everything you need,room was cleaned every morning early,and in great condition.can't beat the location or the staff thanks again see you soon

Room Tip: can't beat the ocean front rooms just steps away from the ocean,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, always a pleasure having you with us and keeping you coming back. Our staff works very hard to make everyone's stay with us pleasant and enjoyable. See you again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a king suite, room was clean and bed was really comfortable. Nice size TV, my complaints were bathroom was so small, and the curtains allowed way too much light in the room. Overall nice for the price! Location was great, walk to everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm delighted you found your room clean and comfortable, our staff works very hard to make everyone's stay with us as comfortable and pleasant as possible. I'm sorry about the light coming into your room, however, there are three sets of curtains in these rooms, the room darkener is nearest the window in front of the sheer. I wish you would have called us so that we could of shown you the insulated darkening drapes. However, it is a pleasure to have had you with us and I am pleased we met your expectations, we hope to see you again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at Surfside since no other hotels allowed kids during the time we were in Ptown. Room was big enough for our family (2 adults, 1 infant). The staff was really friendly and rooms were cleaned quickly each day. Since most of time was spent outdoors, the room was mainly for sleeping.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that we met with your needs and our staff was able to provide you with great service and we hope that you will stay with us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Hotel & Suites

Address: 543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Family Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. Private beach, outdoor heated saline pool, complimentary breakfast, free WIFI, free parking. Courtyard with fire pit, bar service from our Lighthouse Bar. Easy walk to town, 3/4 of a mile through the art district. Pets welcome, pet treats, pet station and pet shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Surfside Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel And Suites
Surfside Hotel Provincetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.