We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““A memorable stay!”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Surfside Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Surfside Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Provincetown
Cottam, Canada
1 review
““A memorable stay!””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Convenient hotel with a great little breakfast!”
I recently stayed at this hotel and was quite impressed with its amenities and convenience to the downtown area of Provincetown. The rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. This makes a short stay in Provincetown so great because rest is needed after walking through town to all the quaint shops and restaraunts. No worries though because their is ample transportation to get you to any point of town. In the morning the hotel provided coffee and breakfast. Scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, bagels, toast and juice. We made our plates and enjoyed it on the terracce where their is a fire pit and pool overlooking Commercial Street. The fire pit would be great in those late days of summer when it starts to cool off. The staff was so friendly and very helpful. This hotel was a great experience!! Thank you so much....

Room Tip: try ti get one on a lower floor if you don't like the stairs'
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear you were so pleased with our hotel and staff. My staff works very hard to make everyone's stay with us a memorable one, I will post your review on our bulletin board and share this review with everyone at the hotel, they will be thrilled. Remember if you stay in our waterfront building you have the convenience of an elevator, you can't beat the view from that fourth floor in that building, overlooking Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    136
    68
    28
    17
See reviews for
113
223
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is our second time staying here and was better than the first.
The front desk was great at check in. Love this hotel. Love that is takes pets so our Boxer was able to come with us. Room was clean and nice (could use better pillows :)

Hotel is right on the beach. Perfect!! Has a balcony with 2 chairs to sit and look out on the water.
Sitting by the fireplace at night was able to have drinks served to us.
Pool was great. Perfect temp (also was able to get a drink as well :)

Breakfast was nice. Waffles, biscuits and gravy, bagels etc.
Nice walk into the main part of Commercial St.

And when we left the owner hug us and thanked us for staying with them (they also left us a birthday gift in our room which was really nice of them)

This is a must stay if you are in P-Town!!
We hope to be back before the season is over :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your wonderful comments on our staff and property. We LOVE our pets, you will be happy to hear that the new pillows have come in and will be in the rooms by the end of the week!!! - What a great place to make new friends, by our fire pit and in our pool area. We look forward to seeing you again next season!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and was quite impressed with its amenities and convenience to the downtown area of Provincetown. The rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. This makes a short stay in Provincetown so great because rest is needed after walking through town to all the quaint shops and restaraunts. No worries though because their is ample transportation to get you to any point of town. In the morning the hotel provided coffee and breakfast. Scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, bagels, toast and juice. We made our plates and enjoyed it on the terracce where their is a fire pit and pool overlooking Commercial Street. The fire pit would be great in those late days of summer when it starts to cool off. The staff was so friendly and very helpful. This hotel was a great experience!! Thank you so much.....

Room Tip: Stayed poolside and it was and end unit on the top floor so it was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our hotel and amenities. Located just 3/4 of a mile from the center of town is ideal when you are looking for some rest and relaxation, our beach side and pool side loungers are a great place to do just that. The fire pit has been a hit with all our guests enjoying evening cocktails from our Lighthouse Bar and making new friends. We look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stumbled upon the Surfside entirely by accident while planning a flying stop through Provincetown to do a whale watch. It was a lucky find because we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else, and we've gone back for three additional vacations since (and we're looking forward to the next!). The location is perfect because it is close enough to downtown to be convenient, but far enough away to be quiet, especially at night. The waterfront rooms have an incredible view, and a lovely breeze. The private beach is beautiful and fairly substantial, and an attraction in itself. The saltwater pool is wonderful and clearly well maintained. Wonderful hotel staff, and the Quigley's are always great! Every year that we return they have made additional updates, which we look forward to seeing! Can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, we always look forward to having you return to the hotel season after season. Our guests are so important to us and it is exciting for us each season to see familiar faces return. New changes will happen again at the end of the season for our guests to enjoy next year - see you then!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utica, ny
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have been coming to the Surfside for 20 years but increased our stay to twice a summer once Elaine and David took over mgt. Every stay has been exceptional but this one topped them all because after 20 years my partner became my spouse on the beach at the Surfside. With little notice, Elaine helped us locate a wonderful Rev. to officiate. We planned a small wedding , and it was, but Elaine added her own personal touch by creating a beautiful settig for us on the beach without being asked to do this. As a result we had a memorable beach wedding, made even more special because our "Provincetown Family", Elaine,David and Kelsea were there.

As always, the property was exceptional! The new waterfront decor is beautiful and the views are amazing. We enjoyed the new firepit and met new friends there. We were amazed by the good wishes we received from guests who heard we were getting married. Everyone is so friendly here. This was the perfect stay and we can't wait for August to come back!

Room Tip: Book waterfront rooms. They are a bit more but the views and sunsets are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Always a pleasure having you with us Chris and David and it was our pleasure to be able to make your special day one to remember. We also were so happy you chose beautiful Provincetown for your wedding and that we were part of it. Can't wait to see you both and Jessie again in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hotel has great location is Provincetown. Comfortable walking distance to shops, restaurants, and the pier. Didn't use pool, but looked really clean. Nice patio outside lobby bar. Continental breakfast. Great view of ocean for half the rooms with common balcony. Reasonably priced. Good parking lot.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your taking the time to rate our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I just returned home with my boyfriend from a quick one night stay in Provincetown. We didn't try to book a room until the night before and this was literally the only room left in the town. Traveling almost 300 days a year for work I know a good hotel from a bad one, and a real review from a crap one. Based on the other reviews I was a bit nervous but a had no other choices. When we arrived 4 hours prior to check in our room was already ready. When we opened the blinds we were blown away by the view. The hotels private beach was in front of us and the ocean was about 40 ft away. Some people might say that the hotel is too far away from all of the action. I disagree, it's only a 15 minute walk to everything. The next time I'm in P-Town I'll be staying again.Oh and the staff. The staff at the hotel could not be better I talked at one point or another to everyone from the manager to maintenance, everyone went above and beyond to make our stay even that much better. Lastly the hotel does not have its own restaurant so what they have down is worked out a deal where you can order from the restaurant across the street and they will pick it up for you. The place had a great menu. The Surfside is perfect for couples, to family's, to groups.

-Andrew Lawson

Room Tip: The hotel has two building. One is the "pool" building. This building has the front desk a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Andrew thank you for your review, it was a pleasure talking with you while you were here, we hope to see you again when you have some time off. I'm happy to hear that your Surfside experience was over and above what you expected and that my staff was part of that experience. Of course the view from our newly remodeled rooms does take your breath away when you walk out onto your deck, overlooking Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Provincetown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Hotel & Suites

Address: 543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Family Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. Private beach, outdoor heated saline pool, complimentary breakfast, free WIFI, free parking. Courtyard with fire pit, bar service from our Lighthouse Bar. Easy walk to town, 3/4 of a mile through the art district. Pets welcome, pet treats, pet station and pet shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Surfside Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel And Suites
Surfside Hotel Provincetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.