We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Surfside Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Surfside Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Provincetown
Warren, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

short walk to town but on quite side with private beach, great views the king room was only a few steps to beach .there was a great restaurant right next door for lunch and dinner . the room comes with a great breakfast of waffles and bagels and eggs and fruit would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Surfside Hotel during your stay in Provincetown. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your waterfront room and the amenities at the hotel. The view is spectacular especially of Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. We are on the quite side of town however, as you know just a short walk to the restaurants, shows and attractions ptown has to offer. Our staff works very hard, my breakfast person will be pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast, he works very hard each day preparing a great breakfast to start everyones day with a smile. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    118
    60
    26
    15
See reviews for
99
201
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I would definitely stay at the surf side again. The room was clean and the view in the water front room was beautiful! We didn't get to enjoy a fire at the fire pit due to the wind but it looked like a nice place to sit and relax. Breakfast was really good with a lot of choices. There was something for everyone. The staff in the lobby were helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your review - I have a great staff here at the Surfside and they will be pleased to see your review, they work very hard to make your stay with us a comfortable one. Our front desk staff is extremely knowledgeable of the area and have great suggestions for dinner, night life and attractions for you to enjoy during your stay in Provincetown. The views as you stated from our waterfront rooms is beautiful, overlooking Cape Cod Bay, Provincetown Harbor and our private beach. We hope that we will see you in the near future and you can enjoy some time around our new fire pit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I've been going to the Surfside for a number of years. We generally come to town two times a year, and have been pleased with each stay. The prices are affordable, the staff are friendly, and the accommodations are perfect for a comfortable stay close to town and right on the water. They offer a great outdoor space, perfect location and are next to great restaurants. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the waterside views leave little need for much else. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your loyalty to the hotel and look forward to seeing you return each season. Our staff works very hard to meet all guests expectations and I will be sure to post your review for the staff to see. Our newly remodeled rooms overlooking our private beach and Cape Cod Bay we feel are truly beautiful, we are excited to have our guests see them for the first time, the new sliders in these rooms are a big hit with our guests also. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,Ma
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed for a weekend in a waterfront king and the view was beautiful! The waterfront stepped out onto a balcony which accessed the private beach. They offered a free breakfast of bagels and fruits,eggs,hash as well as coffee. It's conveniently located on the road that leads to the center where the shopping and food and pier is a must!!! The rooms were clean and spacious. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Better to pay the extra and choose the waterfront the views are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We always love to hear that a guest was pleased with their room and everything the hotel has to offer. Each year we try to bring new items to our complimentary breakfast, so glad you enjoyed it. The center of town being only 3/4 of a mile from the center and attractions Provincetown has to offer makes for a pleasant walk into town and if you don't want to walk back remember the pedi cabs are ready and willing to give you a ride back to the hotel. The view of Provincetown Harbor and Cape Cod Bay as you say just can't be beat, if you wake early enough you can watch the sunrise from your balcony. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Headed to the Cape over President's weekend for a restful short vacation. We enjoyed the hotel and its beautiful rooms that overlook the bay. Nice to have locking screen doors which allowed us to fall asleep to the sounds of the ocean. Loved the outdoor fire pit where we enjoyed drinks in the evening watching the sun go down. The location is great as its only a short walk to downtown shops and activities. Felt good to be able to walk off the great dinner we enjoyed from local dining spots. We will definitely be back. Thanks to the great staff for all your recommendations and pleasantness.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Waterfront building are comfortable and offer great views of the sunrise every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review - I am happy to hear that the staff and the hotel amenities met with your expectations. The view of Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor can't be beat, what a great place to watch that sunrise as you mentioned. Also our private beach with lounge chairs makes for a wonderful place to relaxe in the afternoon. We look forward to seeing you again soon, our pool is now open and we are serving from our Lighthouse Bar by the pool this year. I will pass your review on to my staff, they enjoy reading reviews and will be pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We are a family of three with a small kid and enjoyed our stay in May 2013, great central location with small beach. Nice and helpful staff. Clean and fine room. Valmue for money. Will always come back and recommend the place

Room Tip: Pool view room 218 was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review - It was a pleasure meeting your family, what a wonderful little boy you have, we hope he enjoyed his pale and shovel on our private beach and made many sand castles. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your room met your expectations, we will pass your review on to our staff. We hope that we will see you again when you come to the states on holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

we have been coming here for many years(since the early 70s) and found OUR place at the Surfside about 15 years ago. The view from the water rooms is spectacular anytime of day or night. Can't say enough great things about Elaine andDave-they are more then innkeepers they are friends. Rooms are very clean and breakfast fit for a king. Walking distance to town and many wonderful dinners, shopping trips etc. we now come 3 times a year for 4 nites and hope to make it 4 times this year. Our poodle has been going there since she was a baby and gets very excited just like us when the luggage comes out to pack. Sharon R.

Room Tip: higher floor rooms on the water side have fabulous views and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Always a pleasure having you, Larry and Maisy with us. We are always happy to see our regulars come home each season. We thank you for your gift, still enjoying the flowers. The staff was very happy to read your review. It's guests like yourself that make our job so enjoyable, smiling faces each morning at breakfast and throughout the day. Buddy says hello to Maisy and looks forward to seeing her again very soon. We thank you for your review! SEE YOU SOON!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surfside Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Hotel & Suites

Address: 543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Family Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfside Hotel & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. Private beach, outdoor heated saline pool, complimentary breakfast, free WIFI, free parking. Courtyard with fire pit, bar service from our Lighthouse Bar. Easy walk to town, 3/4 of a mile through the art district. Pets welcome, pet treats, pet station and pet shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Surfside Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel And Suites
Surfside Hotel Provincetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.