We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Surfside Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Surfside Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Provincetown
Scarsdale, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Still Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have stayed at the Surfside once a year for many years and it continues to get even better. The Bay side rooms on the beach are very comfortable with a view that is amazing. The new fire pit was a pleasant surprise and a great place to enjoy a drink and good company. The short walk into town is very convenient. The staff is pleasant and professional. We definitely will be back again!

Room Tip: Any room on the Bay side is great but the suites are really special. If I couldn't get the Bay s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review, always a pleasure having return guests stay with us year after year. Yes indeed the new fire pit has been a big hit with everyone this season. Our staff works very hard to make everyone feel at home and happy to hear they once again succeeded. We look forward to having you with us again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    136
    68
    28
    17
See reviews for
113
223
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Surfside Hotel is situated in a great spot at the east end of Provincetown just across the road from the sea. However, its sealed windows and dysfunctional air system in the rooms in the main building make it less than a pleasant place to stay. What a shame that the owners would choose to make it impossible to open the windows and enjoy the sea air in such a spot. For such a pricey place I would expect better quality. Some of the staff were more congenial than others.

Room Tip: It may be that rooms overlooking the waterfront are better than the clostrophobic rooms in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. The rooms courtside were newly remodeled just three years ago with new bedding, we will certainly look into the problem you had with the sleep quality in your room. New air conditioners were also purchased during the remodel, I wish you had let us know if your AC was not working properly, as we always have new units on hand should one fail. As for windows opening we will take a look at these rooms to see if this can be corrected. We hope that you will stay with us in the future and stay in one of our waterfront rooms where the sliders can be open and you can enjoy a view of the bay and our private beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pawtucket
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Words cannot express our gratitude to Elaine/Manager and to her entire staff. We chose the Surfside to be our host Hotel for our wedding which was held on August 25th, 2012. All 60 of our guests stayed at the Surfside. The accomodations are 5 star. The rooms were immaculate, the pool was beautiful, the views from the beach front rooms to die for, and let's not forget about the awesome fire pit. Lorraine and I hosted a gathering on the night before our wedding which was held at the fire pit. The bar was fully stacked with adult beverages and of course a lot of different smoothies for the kids. The next morning we all met on the patio and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast the Surfiside offers. All of the kids were thrilled as they got to make their own waffles, the bagels were as fresh as could be and the eggs/sausage enjoyed by all. FYI- the best coffee in town:)) The grounds are beautiful and well manicured. We got to see the most beautiful sunrise from our suite. What a way to start our days. Our dogs were also treated like royalty...always fresh water out for them and of course cookies at the front desk. Our wedding weekend was beautfiul and is now filled with so many memories and we thank you all at the Surfside for your true dedication to making all of us feel special. We are in the process of planning our 1 year anniversary for next August and we will not be coming alone. We have so many of our family and friends that want to join us next season to celebrate our anniversary at the Surfside.

Room Tip: We stayed the suite, ground level which has a patio on the waterfront side. Great size, ground leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Always a pleasure to have you and Lorraine with us, having your family and friends stay at the Surfside for your special day was a privilege to myself and all my staff. The staff enjoyed having your group with us they were so much fun. The staff at the Surfside works very hard to make everyone's stay with us a memorable one and it looks like they have again succeeded once again. We look forward to having you all with us again next season, we will see YOU next month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here for a week following Labor Day. We had a waterfront room which overlooked the small private beach. It is no exaggeration to say that it is a literary a stone’s throw from the sea. The vista over the bay was truly magnificent, changing in colour throughout the day from the bright blue of the mornings to the beautiful pink sunsets. The room opens up onto a balcony, although it should be noted that this is shared and not private. The room itself was actually quite small, and although apparently recently decorated was showing the signs of a summer season, with some peeling paint for example. The walls (and ceilings) were rather thin, and we could hear the folks in the room above moving around on the last morning – I think it must thankfully have been empty before that. I don’t know why so many American hotels insist on putting a fridge in the room. In this instance it took up a lot of space and I found it like trying to sleep in a kitchen.

Provincetown itself is an interesting place, and certainly one of the more livelier towns on the Cape. This is the place to be for restaurants and bars. The hotel is at the far easterly end of town, probably about a 15-20 walk, which was actually quite nice to be able to escape the crowds. There was no WiFi in the rooms, free or otherwise, which I find unusual in this day and age, but it was offered in the communal area in the reception. The breakfast was standard at best, but free.

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms offer a magnificent view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review, I'm happy to hear that on the whole you did enjoy the Surfside and our beautiful Provincetown. Yes our balconies are shared with other guests on your floor due to fire regulations, we cannot have only one egress from the rooms, therefore private balconies are not an option for us. WIFI, we do have WIFI in the rooms at a charge to our guests, however, the WIFI is free to our guests in the lobby, lounge, courtyard and pool area. We hope that if you are in the Provincetown area again that you will stay at the Surfside Hotel and Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was our first time staying at the Surfside, and I hope it won't be the last! As other reviewers have said, I would recommend the water-view rooms, both for the view and the sound of the surf outside your door, and the waterfront building has an elevator (the building on the other side does not). The hotel's breakfast was nothing fancy, but absolutely fine, and it was nice to have this option on-site vs going out for breakfast every day. Walking into town for dinner or shopping was fun, and a relaxing way to see the local area without the hassle of finding parking for the car. All staff that we encountered at the hotel were friendly, available and helpful (I didn't catch everyone's name, but Elaine and Kevin at the front desk were great, as was the man who sets up the breakfast, and Winston, the handyman who seemed to work 24/7 while we were there, keeping the outdoor areas clean and running smoothly). We also appreciate that the Surfside is pet friendly -- our dog loved checking out the beach, as did many of the other canine guests! On the topic of dogs, while the hotel is very clear that all pets must be leashed while on the hotel property (for safety as well as hygienic reasons), but not everyone adhered to this. We witnessed one unleashed dog running away from his people and their 2nd unleashed "brother" dog, as he scampered into two different rooms that had their patio doors open. The guests in those rooms were quite surprised, and fortunately there were no issues among the dogs in those rooms, but the runaway dog's owner seemed oblivious to the leash policy...
Overall, we had a great time, and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
We are the ones who are happy that you found us and want to return to the Surfside and our wonderful town. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and were happy with our employees and enjoyed our newly remodeled rooms. Although we try to make pet owners aware of our rules and the town rules in Provincetown, sometimes they have ideas of their own regarding the pets, this is why we have all pet owners sign the pet policy on check in so they are aware of not only regulations regarding pets here at the Surfside but also the town. We hope to see you soon, if not this season in the 2013 season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed for four nights in a King Bed over Labor Day Weekend which was great.
the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was great, the pool was big and deep and clean, everything was great except one thing. In the morning we found it a little too noisy. It seemed like the cleaners in the hall and other rooms were a little too loud and banged quite a bit. This wouldn't put me off staying again though because everything else was brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your review. I will certainly pass along your comments to housekeeping, asking them to try to be a little quiter in the morning so our guests can sleep in. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

stayed at the surfside hotel in auguest of 2012 for one full week. was the best time. Hotel was clean, comfortable, staff made us feel at home and talked to us every chance they got and made sure we were happy and had everything we needed. Hotel is on the main road and easy to find and a nice walk to center of town. parked the car at the hotel and only used it once during the week stay due to rain. will stay at this hotel again in the near future.

Room Tip: street view room with balcony no elevator so second floor is best. beach side suites do have elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. I will certainly pass this review along to my staff, they will be pleased the accomplished their goal, another satisfied guest. The Surfside, so conveintly located to town and local attractions, private beach, saline pool, beautiful evening fire pit.
The hotel has a great view of Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor from our newly remodeled waterfront rooms. We hope to see you again in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Hotel & Suites

Address: 543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Family Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. Private beach, outdoor heated saline pool, complimentary breakfast, free WIFI, free parking. Courtyard with fire pit, bar service from our Lighthouse Bar. Easy walk to town, 3/4 of a mile through the art district. Pets welcome, pet treats, pet station and pet shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Surfside Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel And Suites
Surfside Hotel Provincetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.