We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would I stay again if I was in the region. Yes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eben House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Eben House to your Saves list
Eben House
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   90 Bradford St., Provincetown, MA 02657 (Formerly The Fairbanks Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 70 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Would I stay again if I was in the region. Yes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

There were three of us doing a three week holiday to New York and New England and we generally had two rooms. We stayed two nights at the Fairbanks Inn and had one Classic King and one New Standard King.
The rooms were sparingly but smartly furnished and looked like the photos on the website. In the Classic King room (unrenovated bathroom) the floorboards squeaked and we could hear voices from another room plus noise from what we think that was the upstairs air-conditioning unit. This bathroom was small. However the new Standard King (with fully renovated bathroom) had none of those problems. The only quibble was there wasn’t much shelf space for toiletries.
The manager Julia was very pleasant and helpful. Also we had made dinner reservations through her (at her suggestion) on booking our rooms. The included breakfasts were the best on our three week stay in US, other than one at a cafe in another town. There was an excellent variety and it was very fresh and completely different each day. There was also coffee and tea available throughout the day in the communal lounge/eating area.
As other reviewers have mentioned the remained of the rooms should be renovated during the 2014/15 off season which should fix the quibbles about the unrenovated rooms.
We really enjoyed our stay here. I have rated the Sleep Quality and Rooms as 4 stars but this is for the renovated rooms.
Would I stay again if I was in the region. Yes!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia H, Manager at Eben House, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
It is great to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us! Our extensive property renovation of all guest rooms (including all bathrooms, furniture, decor, etc.) and all common space areas will be completed for our May 15, 2015 opening! We are opening under a new name - Eben House - paying homage to the sea captain named Eben Snow who originally built the Main House in 1776. I hope you will get a chance to visit Provincetown in the near future to see our finished inn. I am certain you will find the "quibbles" have been addressed, David... we're quite proud of it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful stay, even on a rainy October weekend. The decor at the Inn is just my taste; minimalist with clean lines and old charm. Everyone was SO nice and the breakfast each morning was delicious. The location is perfect, walking distance to everything, but not as loud as the main street. We would absolutely recommend the Fairbanks Inn to others. Visit Joon for dinner, you won't be disappointed.

The only thing: bathrooms are really small, but they are clean and water pressure is excellent!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia H, Manager at Eben House, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, Kimberly! I am elated to hear that you had a lovely stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of all that Provincetown has to offer despite the unwanted rain! Our inn's design aesthetic is indeed minimalist, bright, and clean while still maintaining the wonderful historic charm of the inn. I am glad to hear you found the inn visually pleasing and our service to be excellent! And we 100% agree - Joon Bar + Kitchen is a fabulous choice for dinner or drinks! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

The Fairbanks Inn has an old timey feel with all of the comforts of home. Right when we walked in, we were greeted by Julia. She was so nice and helpful, and even made a great recommendation for dinner. The room was clean, albeit plain and minimalist. We were in room 7, which was smaller that I had hoped. There were several vacancies so our friends were upgraded to a larger room. We were not given an upgrade but that did not take away from the stay. Before dinner that evening we were able to join our friends in the courtyard and community breakfast room for some beers and snacks. The bed was very comfortable, but we could hear other guests through the walls and floors. However, it is an old building so that was expected. Breakfast in the morning was outstanding, they had something for everyone!

Room Tip: First floor rooms risk having other guests above you. Old house = squeaky floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia H, Manager at Eben House, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our lovely garden and conservatory seating to relax with your friends. Indeed, the inn was built in 1776 - there is a lot of character in its bones! One of our goals in our complete property overhaul this winter is to add soundproofing in every room to decrease the ambient noise that is typical of an older building. We would love the opportunity to host you again and hope you will return during our 2015 season to see our completed renovations, Allison!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We enjoyed our time at Fairbanks Inn in Provincetown. Kevin and Julia were very very helpful, event gave us a bottle of champagne to celebrate our anniversary. The breakfast was really delicious every day, they made reservations for us each night and helped us get in when our ferry was cancelled. It was amazing. I hope we go back some day!

Room Tip: We really wanted an outdoor area while we were there but then it was so cold we never went outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia H, Manager at Eben House, responded to this review, October 12, 2014
I am so thrilled that you and your wife were able to enjoy your relaxing trip to celebrate your anniversary. We were honored to be a part of such a special occasion! Our concierge services make it easy for our guests to truly relax and not stress about dinner reservations, etc. We were glad you made it down after the torrential rain affected the ferry schedules! We hope you come back to see us again soon - please feel free to contact me directly for assistance on future reservations. We are grateful for your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share it with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

My husband and I visited Provincetown for the very first time this month after the crowds had gone away. Driving in from Boston took longer due to rain but on a normal day should only be 2.5 hours. The drive itself is easy and allows you to stop and enjoy all the other parts of the Cape as well. Provincetown has everything you need should you decide to only stay in town. I was glad we chose The Fairbanks for a number of reasons. It was a toss up between here and The Salt House Inn. Both equally the best places to stay in Provincetown.
The Fairbanks provided all the best things you want in a B&B and more. David and Julia and Daniel provided places which were a must see, restaurants that were the best and most interesting, weather info and possibly the best breakfast anywhere. Breakfast hosts were the hardest working trying to keep everything filled and fresh and did an excellent job. The choices daily were fantastic and inspiring to both of us.
So glad we chose to stay here as it is tastefully decorated, clean and one of the best locations to walk almost anywhere.
Pros: décor, location, breakfast, linens, price and vacation advice/suggestions.
Cons: maybe a bit noisy because of wooden floors and bed was squeaky (although we both agree that it was soooooo comfortable) its what you expect from such a beautiful historical building.
Kevin and David we wish you a great winter season and remodel project.

Fairbanks provided the best bed, breakfast, showers, linens. Stay here.

Room Tip: perhaps a room on second floor and away from breakfast prep room. the remodeled rooms are so nice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia H, Manager at Eben House, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us, groovygirl954! I am glad to hear you enjoyed the scenic journey through Cape Cod on your way down to Provincetown, and am thrilled that you enjoyed the restaurant and activity recommendations we gave you! Thank you for recognizing our hardworking staff - your kind words mean so much to us. Our team appreciates your well-wishes for our renovation - we hope to see you again in 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

We could not have enjoyed a better hotel experience in Provincetown, I'm sure. Our room (8) was large and extremely comfortable, with two free bottles of water provided on arrival (a nice touch but one that many hotels fail to do). The owners and their staff could not have been more welcoming and obliging, really friendly without being intrusive. And the breakfasts were really good - a mix of sweet and savoury delights, with tea and coffee 'on tap'.

I really wish we had chosen to stay here longer - had we known! Many thanks to Julia, David, Daniel and the rest of the staff for making our holiday a very pleasant one. Good luck with the refurbishment.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia H, Manager at Eben House, responded to this review, October 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review, Chris! I am so glad to hear that we were able to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. We always aim to provide helpful and friendly service that is not overbearing - thank you for recognizing our success in these efforts. I am glad you enjoyed your assortment of English teas and fresh coffee each morning - what a great way to start your day in Provincetown! We appreciate your well-wishes for our renovations and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Barnstable, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

The Fairbanks Inn was a wonderful experience. The staff was warm and friendly the room was beautiful and charming and the breakfast in the morning was outstanding. Nestled in the heart of town with parking included it could not have been more convenient. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia H, Manager at Eben House, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Our entire staff read your review - we are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us, Todd! We all love when guests share their feedback and provide us with positive, kind words. I am glad that you found the room charming and that our complimentary breakfast exceeded your expectations. Thank you for recognizing our efforts. We hope you are able to make it back down to Provincetown again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eben House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eben House

Address: 90 Bradford St., Provincetown, MA 02657 (Formerly The Fairbanks Inn)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eben House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Eben House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairbanks Hotel Provincetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eben House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.