We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karoo Kafe - CLOSED

Karoo Kafe
3 Main Street, Unit 32B, Provincetown, MA 02642
+1 508-255-8288
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $16
Cuisines: African, Vegetarian, Middle Eastern, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Description: This is a SOUTH African restaurant. It is Zagat rated.
Cambridge, MA
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Healthy treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Visited Karoo Kafe for the first time this year and was delighted with the meal. The price is cheap, the service is friendly. Its a very casual atmosphere with some outdoor and indoor seating, away from the crowds on Commercial Street. Get the Protein Salad with their spiced chicken. Special treat!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    54
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Try something different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This little place tucked around a corner on Commercial does really well so do yourself a favor and look for the yellow sign. I had the ostrich burger last week and it was great. I've had the babootie many times and always love it. A great place to try something new!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice lamb curry but not enough meat for my taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

First time trying this cafe. Had the lamb curry which was very flavorful and it had assorted veggies and rice. Personally I'd like a bit more meat in the portion. Very friendly staff.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
“Easy and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our no-fuss dining at Karoo. You order yourself, and the friendly and prompt wait staff bring your meal to your table. We ate outside at this pet-friendly spot. The vegetable samosas were flavorful with a delicate crust and had more vegetables than the Indian-mainly-potatoe style. Our curried cole-slaw added a sweet and refreshing accompanyment to the meal. The tofu "meatloaf" was an outstanding mix of flavor and texture. Highly recommend this establishment!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent vegetarian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Always stop here when in Provincetown and we are never disappointed. The food is great and the people friwndly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karoo Kafe also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karoo Kafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.