We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude and annoyed by customers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Provincetown Portuguese Bakery

Provincetown Portuguese Bakery
299 Commercial St, Provincetown, MA
(508) 487-1803
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 122 Restaurants in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rude and annoyed by customers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I love p-town, but I thought the cook (who I suspect is the owner) was very rude. I said hello and was greeted 30 seconds later by a "hey" as he did not bother to left his head. I had to recite my order to the top of his head, which I needed to repeat once he decided to grab a pen and pad. The bacon, egg, and cheese sandwich had under cooked eggs with runny yolk. We were going to dine inside, but I just wanted out of there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    70
    18
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Staple for Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have been to Provincetown 3 years in a row, you always have to stop Portuguese Bakery. They are one of the few places open at 7 am to get a great pastrie and a cup of coffee. There Fig squares are wonderful. The place is nothing fancy its really to grab some great pastries and go even though they have a few tables to sit and eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“malasadas to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Hands down this place has the best malasadas I have ever passed through my lips! I am surrounded by Portuguese Bakeries, have certainly eaten my share but this place makes on that just melts in your mouth. I visit every time I'm there, but I can't tell you about anything else they make. I just can't not not order the malasadas, but I'm willing to take a chance and say there's something they make you'll love!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious and unpretentious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Authentic portuguese baked goods, with a breakfast/lunch/dinner menu, and has been around for decades. This place does not exist for the tourists, though they are more than welcome, but was around long before P-Town became trendy. The interior is nothing special, with few tables to sit down, but most of their menu items are eaily portable and everything tastes fantastic.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Little hidden gem in Provincetown. Walked in and had great bakery. Then went back the next day for breakfast and was amazed with the food. Ate there again all four remaining days. Great service and good. Was my favorite place. Definitely recommend.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Provincetown Portuguese Bakery also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Provincetown Portuguese Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Provincetown Portuguese Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.