We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotdogs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky Dog Ptown - CLOSED

Lucky Dog Ptown
293 Commercial St, Rear, Provincetown, MA 02657
508 487 3647
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Description: Lucky Dog Ptown serves Premium all beef hot dogs, veggie dogs, lobster rolls, fresh sausages, homemade cookies, homemade Boston Baked Beans, Chili, Potato Salad, Coleslaw, toppings and more. We source locally, serve only the freshest stuff made on site.. we don't fry or freeze. Lucky Dog Ptown is family owned and operated. Open from end of April through October 31st
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
433 reviews 433 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“Good hotdogs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great quick food and good seating not far from Macmillan Pier. Try the New York hotdog or the one with sauerkraut. Yummy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    21
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Food - Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Suprised this place is ranked as highly as it is. Food is good, don't get me wrong, but it's overpriced, even for P-town. My Nor'Easter Lobster Roll was very good, the cook asked me how much mayo and Old Bay I wanted, which was nice. I don't like lobster rolls that have a ton of mayo. I want to taste the lobster! However, it wasn't worth $16!! I've had lobster rolls just as good, with more meat, for substantially less. My girlfriend had a turkey and avocado sandwich, which she said was very good, but I'm not all about spending $9 on a sandwich w/ 4 oz. of meat. I've read their hot dogs are outstanding, but no matter how good they may be, I couldn't bring myself to spend $8-$10 on a hot dog. I can go to the other hot dog joint in P-town and spend $4 on a footlong that is apparently excellent as well.

Overall, they have decent food, but for what it is, it's overpriced. There are better options for dining out for lunch in P-town. I'd suggest Mojo's if you're in the mood for something quick.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quality and care shine through”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

You might say to yourself, "how good can a hot dog stand really be?" Lucky Dog shows that care and attention to detail can lift the humblest meal to the sublime. The dogs are thick and juicy and have that satisfying snap when you bite into them. The lobster rolls are spilling over with juicy sweet lobster, and they don't mix in the mayo until you order. They only add as much as you like! The Mac and cheese is velvety and decadent. These are people who give a damn about what they do, and it shows. Amazing place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but tasty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Like most places in Ptown, the value is a bit dubious. Part of running a seasonal business. But the dogs are quite tasty, with a nice natural casing crunch and good flavor.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great dogs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Went here for lunch on 8/11. Had the dog with onion, cheese and bacon.....awesome!! The cheese was freshly melted (not fake stuff out of a can) and the bacon fresh. Others in my group had the Cape Cod chicken salad.....wow! Delicious and a huge sandwich..... Also had the baked beans made with at least three types of beans (maybe more) and fresh bacon. Great place for lunch or dinner. Only drawback, cash only...credit cards not accepted. Other than that, don't miss it!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Dog Ptown also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucky Dog Ptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.