We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Hour .99¢ Raw Bar - Veggie Friendly after 500pm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victor's Restaurant

Victor's Restaurant
175 Bradford Street Extension, West End, Provincetown, MA 02657
508-487-1777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Victor's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 121 Restaurants in Provincetown
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: West Vine
Description: Victor's offers a delicious "small plates" dinner menu of New American cuisine, sized for tasting and sharing with friends and family.Dishes are served individually at their hottest, freshest, in an open, airy, light atmosphere. Our cottage-style restaurant, with its cathedral ceiling, central stone fireplace, and tables hand-crafted by owner Victor DePoalo gives diners a comfortable, yet elegant place to enjoy these delicacies. To delight our guests, excellent food is always paired with our warm, gracious service. Don’t miss Raw Bar Happy Hour with lovely fresh Wellfleet oysters, local clams, and shrimp for 99¢, all super fresh.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“Happy Hour .99¢ Raw Bar - Veggie Friendly after 500pm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our party of 5 arrived at 430pm on a Friday to a lively happy hour bar at Victor's. The .99¢ raw bar from 3-5pm (oysters, shrimp, crab claws) was what brought 3 of our party to this establishment. As two of our party are vegetarian we were lucky to have arrived at 430 as the only veggie option for happy hour is sweet potato fries, however the dinner menu does have an entire section devoted to vegetarian options. *NOTE to owners - would not be too hard to include a few of those (hummus, beet salad) on your bar menu rather than telling your customers they have to wait until 500pm to order anything vegetarian. The raw bar offerings were fresh and although no one could tell us where the oysters came from, other than local, the 2-dozen ordered were fresh and served within 10 minutes. The cocktails on the menu were especially imaginative and while a bit pricey for happy hour, were very tasty. Our table especially liked the White Cosmo and the Ginger Lemondrop. After 500pm the whole menu was available to us and we sampled quite a variety of items (served tapas style), from mushroom empanadas, Ahi Napoleon, seafood cakes, pork tenderloin, and supper fluffy/fresh gnocchi. Most items (except empanadas) were exceptional, and all plates returned empty. The service was professional and attentive. The bar had multiple tables and seated around 30 comfortably. The dinning room looked very clean and nice and I imagine would be comfortable for a more formal dinner. All in all, we had a great experience at Victor's and I would recommend to others. The overall bill for the meal was about $45/person before tip, but if you stick to the happy hour raw bar and go easy on the cocktails you could probably call this budget friendly!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    67
    27
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mattituck, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth the Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was our first visit to the area. We checked out trip advisor before we made reservations at this terrific place. We got to the restaurant ahead of our reservation time and they sat us early. The choices were wonderful. We ordered a special which was sirloin grilled with vegetables. The fish tacos were delicious--moist and had a good flavor. The service was just the way we like it--right there when you needed them with a smile and a friendly attitude. They replaced our small plates often so we could really appreciate the different tastes. We would definitely go there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We've eaten at Victor's many times since it opened and it is always consistently good. We love the tapas style menu which gives us variety and the chance to share. The menu gives plenty of choice and no matter if you have a small or big appetite, you won't leave hungry.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best food in Provincetown!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I just visited Provincetown, MA for the very first time. During our first night in town we drove by Victor's and decided to go there for dinner. The restaurant was fully booked, but we were able to grab the last two seats at the bar and boy and I glad we did... the food was nothing less than amazing!!! This is a tapas style restaurant; I sometimes worry I will leave these types of restaurants hungry, but that was not the case at Victor's. My husband and I were stuffed by the time we left. We tried a couple oysters and shrimp from the raw bar (the shrimp were so plump and I fell in love with the dipping sauce that came with them). If you go between 3-4, I believe the raw bar is $.99 cents/item as opposed to $2.00/item. We tried a few different dishes, the truffle mac & cheese was out of this world and the fish tacos were delicious just to name a few. We were so impressed with our meal and the grade A service that we went back again. The second time around we dined on the restaurant side; we enjoyed the ambience and once again received excellent service. We tried many different restaurants during our stay and this was, by far, my favorite!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Where will you eat when you're done here?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Because that's probably what you'll have to do. Years ago, Ptown was known for excellent places to eat. Gallerani's, Chester, The Mews, Lorraines, Front Street....just a few of the names that come to mind. Some are still around, some not. PTown has now degraded to degrees of mediocrity and this place is leading the way. To say I didn't like it is an understatement. Went over Memorial Day(first mistake). The desk was very helpful in booking the reservation. That was the last good thing that went on. At the end of the day, the place is a glorified tapas bar. Overpriced for small plates and the portions(?) that go along with them. Ordered four plates, lobster dumplings, skirt steak, cocoanut shrimp and a pork tenderloin. While they were decent, there wasn't enough. And the waiter was able to ask us if we wanted more food. I was impressed in that he was able to do that with a straight face. Also braved the dessert sampler. The German chocolate was the best of the four items offered. The cheesecake was completely disgusting, and not edible. The rest of it was forgettable. Eighty dollars for all this foolishness. The service was indifferent, the attitude was just oozing from the staff. It would seem that if one is anything other than young, gay and pretty, you may as well forget about decent service. Over priced, lousy service with attitude and small portions. Sounds like a real dud to me. Our choice for dinner after this was George's Pizza in Town Center. 20 Bucks for the special and it was good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victor's Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Victor's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victor's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.