We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Clean & Crisp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herring Cove Beach

Herring Cove Beach
, Provincetown, MA
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the Cape Cod National Seashore, Herring Cove is Provincetown's most popular beach.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Clean & Crisp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was happy to have brought my aqua shoes, as there's abundent pebbles. The water's great. We arrived by 8:30AM to the right of the entrance. There's a single row of parking at the edge of the beach. Tide was coming in, but not ridiculously fast so we setup our umbrella about 40 feet from the water's edge. It was getting close when we packed it in at noon.
Water's for the brave. Every once in a bit a seal pops his/her head out of the water to check things out.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    110
    25
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
547 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Best beach around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Easy to reach by bike (or car). The crowds can swell on the warm days so arrive early. The water is crystal clear though a bit on the chilly side - as you would expect. A very nice bath/toilet facility is under construction that will make it even better.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles, IL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“OUCH!!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Make SURE you have water shoes. This is not the sand to walk on. My poor kids said they thought their feet were bleeding! :( On the positive side my feet were smooth like a newborn's!! Great beach for rock searching. The rough sand has smoothed the rocks to beautiful polished treasures!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Stoney and Small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This beach is filled with stones, and is very small. The walk from the parking lot is minimal, and easy to walk. But if can't walk the Race Point Beach, this is the beach for you.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Entering the park that is home of the beach, turn to the right. You park right up next to the sandy beach with ocean not 30 feet from you. Saw seal and lots of great shore birds.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herring Cove Beach also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Herring Cove Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herring Cove Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.