We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the World's best beaches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herring Cove Beach

Herring Cove Beach
Provincetown, MA
Improve this listing
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the Cape Cod National Seashore, Herring Cove is Provincetown's most popular beach.
Vail, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of the World's best beaches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have spent my whole life enjoying this beach. There is parking right along the beach if you get there earlier enough during the summer months. There is overflow parking which can also fill up by noon in the summer. Bring lunch and spend the whole day. The water is often warm enough to swim and linger in the ocean. It is also a great place to watch sunset since it is facing west.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    80
    17
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Where the locals go for sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Truly a breath taking view. We had a cloudless evening, and my husband and I were able to sit and enjoy the beautiful sunset (with dozens of other people) on the third night of our honeymoon.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Bike trails access!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a great start/end point for a bike ride along the Province Lands trails through the dunes. The trails are quite hilly in places and some riders may have to walk their bikes up an occasional hill if they haven't geared well on the previous downhill. Whatever your ability, the views and are worth the embarrassment each time you have to get off your bike. We've done the loop both clockwise and counterclockwise, and we think the views are a bit more magnificent in the counterclockwise direction

From the get-welcomed-and-pay booth (which was unattended when we went on a weekday in September), you can turn either left or right. To the right are a bunch of pull-up or back-in parking spaces for "tailgate"-type beach-going without the need for a 4WD vehicle. Beyond those is a set of sheltered latrines without plumbing, and beyond that is the trailhead for the Province Lands loop.

To the left after the booth are much more expansive parking and a set of gender-segregated bathhouses with plumbed toilet stalls, sinks, and showers. It's a very short bike ride along the beach and through the pull-up parking lot from here to the the Province Lands trails.

The bathhouses have large locker-room-style open areas with benches and are a convenient, but not private, place to change clothes if you are day-tripping and plan to stay in Provincetown for a nice dinner after your ride. There are showers as well, but there are no privacy curtains anywhere (remember your junior high school locker room, the one with the gang shower?). I'm OK with a presto/change-o out in the open, but I pass on these showers. DH reports comparable facilities on the men's side.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus,OH
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great sunset spot and easy access”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Saw the sunset here and it was great. You can simply park and watch from your car. the beach is directly ahead, so bring your blanket and enjoy the review.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Terrific site for a sunset ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I love to go to the beach for sunset and have been able to get a multitude of shots... A beautiful beach and great spot to witness a gorgeous sunset!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herring Cove Beach also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Herring Cove Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herring Cove Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.