We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hey, take the time and get some exercise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum

Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum
High Pole Hill Road, Provincetown, MA 02657
508-487-1310
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum like an insider
Top Rated
$56*
and up
Cape Cod Fast Ferry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This monument commemorates the Pilgrim's first landing in Provincetown (not Plymouth), where they conceived, wrote and committed to the Mayflower Compact - the foundational document for the democracy America enjoys today. The Monument is the tallest all-granite structure in the U.S. rising 353 feet above sea level, and at the top, visitors are provided the most spectacular view of Cape Cod.In addition to the MOnument, the Provincetown Museum presents the unique cultural heritage of this historic town with special exhibitions and permanent displays.The Monument and Museum has ample parking, is open daily from APril 1st through November 30, and NEW this year - a food concession call the "Shallop Cafe" where visitors can enjoy a picnic lunch overlooking Provincetown and the Bay.
Sundance Wyoming
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Hey, take the time and get some exercise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We didn't even know this was here and when we got to the town and saw it we decided we needed to try it. The walk up the tower takes a little time but the view is worth it. I think it cost us $12 each, but that included the museum. It was great to be able to see and ariel view of the area we had been hiking and driving. The museum is well done also. We have spent a lot of time in museums but I did enjoy this, we were close to the end of the day so we didn't get to spend as much time as I would have liked.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    124
    28
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Temple, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth the trek to the top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I loved the 10 minute walk to the top - what a view of Provincetown, and with plenty of ramps anyone could make the walk! Others in our group loved the museum, and it had a great gift shop. Worth the $12 entrance fee!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Do it for the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The climb to the top of the monument takes 10 to 15 minutes. Yes, it's a workout but the design (using mostly ramps instead of steps) really makes the ascent much easier than it could be. The view from the top is amazing. One word of caution - it can be much cooler and windier up top than on the ground; take a jacket so you aren't caught off guard like I was. The museum is okay, nothing spectacular. The real value of this stop is the view from the top. (Besides, who knew Provincetown was the REAL Plymouth? I didn't.)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“a lot of stairs but worth the view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

There were a lot of stairs to climb, but an awesome view at the top!! You could see for miles in all directions.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good memorial to brave Pilgrims”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

What the Pilgrims did, through their faith in God and following God's Word, was amazing, so this grand monument is very fitting! It is an amazing feat to climb the monument, because it is a lot of steps. I liked how the designers designed it— I am afraid of heights, but was able to go up all the way to the top, because they have barriers on the inside; and so as you climb, you cannot see how high you are going. There is a great view from the top of the monument. The museum is interesting; I particularly liked the section on the Pilgrims.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.