We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting historical location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum

Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum
High Pole Hill Road, Provincetown, MA 02657
508-487-1310
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #4 of 26 attractions in Provincetown
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Museums
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This monument commemorates the Pilgrim's first landing in Provincetown (not Plymouth), where they conceived, wrote and committed to the Mayflower Compact - the foundational document for the democracy America enjoys today. The Monument is the tallest all-granite structure in the U.S. rising 353 feet above sea level, and at the top, visitors are provided the most spectacular view of Cape Cod.In addition to the MOnument, the Provincetown Museum presents the unique cultural heritage of this historic town with special exhibitions and permanent displays.The Monument and Museum has ample parking, is open daily from APril 1st through November 30, and NEW this year - a food concession call the "Shallop Cafe" where visitors can enjoy a picnic lunch overlooking Provincetown and the Bay.
pt st lucie, florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very interesting historical location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Enjoyed reading up on the history and walked to the top of the tower but the foggy day limited the views. Glad we stopped and the staff was very nice. Its worth the time to check it out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    80
    22
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta,Georgia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great view of P'town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

By the time I got around to visiting the monument, I was too exhausted to climb the stairs to the top. It is an uphill walk from Bradford just to the parking lot. The museum gave a great history of P'town. The view from the bottom of the monument was great, so I can imagine what the view from the top was like.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great time- amazing museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We started our visit by walking to the top of the monument and the views were stunning! Other than the screaming kids inside the monument we had a great time! After the monument we spent about an hour in the museum, and we had no idea that it was so big. The displays were put together nicely, and it was a great walk through history- would recommend going for anyone!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great view and tons of info”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Quite a few steps to the top, but the great view compensate well for it.
The accompanying museum has some good films and items to explain early settlers history.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our family loved the Pilgrim Monument and the amazing views from the top! It was fun to walk to the top which was easy for the kids but a slower go for mom and dad! Just pace yourself and you'll be fine. We had one child chicken out because she was afraid of heights.

There was a wonderful show in the gallery with interesting artifacts from coastal New England!

A must do whe your in PTown! The parking lot costs $10 but you receive a free adult ticket to the monument. You canpark all day and its an Easy walk down to town.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.