We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of P'town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum

Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum
High Pole Hill Road, Provincetown, MA 02657
508-487-1310
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 27 attractions in Provincetown
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Museums
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This monument commemorates the Pilgrim's first landing in Provincetown (not Plymouth), where they conceived, wrote and committed to the Mayflower Compact - the foundational document for the democracy America enjoys today. The Monument is the tallest all-granite structure in the U.S. rising 353 feet above sea level, and at the top, visitors are provided the most spectacular view of Cape Cod.In addition to the MOnument, the Provincetown Museum presents the unique cultural heritage of this historic town with special exhibitions and permanent displays.The Monument and Museum has ample parking, is open daily from APril 1st through November 30, and NEW this year - a food concession call the "Shallop Cafe" where visitors can enjoy a picnic lunch overlooking Provincetown and the Bay.
Atlanta,Georgia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great view of P'town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

By the time I got around to visiting the monument, I was too exhausted to climb the stairs to the top. It is an uphill walk from Bradford just to the parking lot. The museum gave a great history of P'town. The view from the bottom of the monument was great, so I can imagine what the view from the top was like.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    93
    22
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great time- amazing museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We started our visit by walking to the top of the monument and the views were stunning! Other than the screaming kids inside the monument we had a great time! After the monument we spent about an hour in the museum, and we had no idea that it was so big. The displays were put together nicely, and it was a great walk through history- would recommend going for anyone!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great view and tons of info”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Quite a few steps to the top, but the great view compensate well for it.
The accompanying museum has some good films and items to explain early settlers history.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our family loved the Pilgrim Monument and the amazing views from the top! It was fun to walk to the top which was easy for the kids but a slower go for mom and dad! Just pace yourself and you'll be fine. We had one child chicken out because she was afraid of heights.

There was a wonderful show in the gallery with interesting artifacts from coastal New England!

A must do whe your in PTown! The parking lot costs $10 but you receive a free adult ticket to the monument. You canpark all day and its an Easy walk down to town.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Rude kids!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

It's a nice view at the top of the monument - but the kids are just so rude! Swearing and cursing the whole way up, with parents who just seem to have given up. The viewing area at the top is small, at best, and you feel like you're up there with hoodlums. Unfortunately, the museum at the bottom isn't much better --- what is wrong with parents these days, where they can't control their kids??? They let their kids ruin the experience of other visitors. No where did I see this more than at the monument!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum to your Saves list