We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wachusett Mountain Ski Area

Wachusett Mountain Ski Area
499 Mountain Road, Princeton, MA 01541
+1 978-464-2300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Princeton
Type: Mountains, Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Activities: Skiing, Birdwatching
Attraction details
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Lift tickets were cheaper then the ski rentals!!! Ski and boots looked old!! The magic carpet area was good for beginners if they only have a place to ski. There were so many kids and beginners at the foot of the mountain that it was difficult to find place when you are skiing down. I think they should teach only in one side so that people(other beginners) have place to ski down safely. So i didn't like the magic carpet much. Next I tried Indian Terrain and I loved it..though I was super scared as it was my second time. All in all a nice place to ski with good trails and not overly expensive. The only thing I didn't like is the price of ski rentals which looked very old and used!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    35
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We took the family for the day and had a wonderful time. Great staff and good food! The lodge was very comfortable and many folks who were not skiing could hang out and enjoy the ambiance . Good day had by all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Place for Kids!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I take my kids to the Polar Club for 1/2 day and all day skiing lessons. The are fantastic. The instructors take good care of the kids and the kids have a great time. And certainly its nice that they're only ~1 - 1.5 hours from Boston. Much better than heading up to NH. I stay in the lodge using the Internet and they ski.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to learn to ski and relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I've been to a few ski spots in the east coast and have been struck by how chaotic and crowded the whole experience has been. The resulting crush often results in harried staff and instructors. Watchusett was a welcome change - and i actually learned how to ski! I remember a horrible experience in the Poconos that had me off trying skiing for at least 4 years - this time, the amazing instructor got us to try some nice moves and got us to the top of the bunny hill. A big deal for a 1.5 hour session for a battle-scarred beginner like me! The kids had a great time - fantastic experience with the capable and kind instructors they had. The food and beverages were very reasonable - which is not the case in all these places. It's a scenic spot, so you can hike and just take a bunch of beautiful pics, if that's what you like. Five stars - we'll be back!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good skiing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This local ski area has several good slopes to ski on from novice to expert. Reasonably priced for seniors and youth. Restaurant has good food reasonably priced and they hold autumn and sping events as well. Nice place to hike in the summer too!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wachusett Mountain Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Wachusett Mountain Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wachusett Mountain Ski Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.