We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Carver Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added John Carver Inn to your Saves list
John Carver Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Summer St, Plymouth, MA 02360   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Passport to History
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Plymouth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Plenty of parking. Nice water park for kids (big enough). Staff very nice and helpful especially Karen. Our first visit to area from Buffalo, we were in need of finding great restaurants, etc that the staff was able to assist. Only complaint was the mattress although while we were there they were putting new ones in the rooms. Hearth n Kettle restaurant was very good and reasonable. Need to get a package deal that includes food there. Great location. We had standard room and it was fine. Did have some problem with satellite tv but had heavy rains. New bar opened and looks nice but did not go in. I would recommend.

Room Tip: standard room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    140
    86
    43
    28
See reviews for
229
103
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in June. Had room 311 and then moved to 333. Beds are very strange, big thick "memory foam" mattress, lumpy and soft and you need a ladder to get in the bed? Pillows are like spongy blobs, useless. In room coffee maker makes really bad coffee. The room itself is OK, clean neat, remodeled bathroom. Dark hallways need some brighter bulbs installed, Building 19 at $.39 each maybe?
All in all, much better than the Gov. Bradford Inn down the street and not as good as the Radisson, both of which we have stayed at in the past.
Front desk ladies very nice, not their fault the owners are incompetent.

Room Tip: We had room 333 which was quiet, also had room 311 A/C compressor noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

One of my favorite nights on vacation ever. After putting the kids (ages 12 and 10) to bed, my husband and I took a little stroll through the town and walked back to hang out in the bar. The staff are super friendly but hung back when they saw us talking privately. The room was nicely decorated, the A/C was quiet and worked fast to freshen up the room, very inviting entrance/lounge. We didn't use the on -site restaurant, but they were kind of pushing it - not a surprise really.
The location really is the star of the show, you can walk most of the town from the hotel, leave your car in their huge parking lot. It's too far out to Plimoth Plantation, but the whole "audio tour" can be based from the hotel. The kids loved the pool, which had a lifeguard on site. I wish smoking had not been allowed on the balcony outside the pool, but I'm very sensitive to cigarettes, most ppl wouldn't notice.
Overall, I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: the back of the hotel (we were in room 231) was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchendon, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed in a lovely third floor room facing the back of the hotel. It was really quiet! The beds were very comfortable queen-sized beds with plenty of pillows. There were also two very comfortable chairs. There is only one elevator, so sometimes you need to wait to use the elevator. The hotel is attached to a great restaurant, the Hearth and Kettle. The staff made you feel welcome from the moment you went to the desk to register. There is a spa. There's also a pool. We were at a conference so we also took advantage of the food served to a large group. It was excellent --- warm, tasty, and appealing. The room, however, was small for the number of people in attendance. I guess the only downside of the hotel is that the heater/air conditioner is very loud when you're trying to sleep. To add to that, you hear the water every time someone in an adjoining room uses the toilet during the night.

Room Tip: The back rooms are better because there's no traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Location does not have a harbor view but it is awesomely situated, with an easy walk to Burial Hill (awesome!), Jenny Grist Mill, the town brook, Plymouth Rock...and not too far from the Lobster Hut. Hotel is older but has been updated, with classic furniture. In-room fireplaces use sterno cans. One surprise their pirate themed pool with slide, which we rented for a children's party and followed up with pizza in the restaurant. Pool is a favorite of local kids, but we were nervous about the lifeguard situation so I'd recommend a vigilant adult or two in the pool at all times. Small in-house gym with dumbbells to 50 lbs, local running is East Coast typical (poor sidewalks, narrow streets) but pretty, run south for beautiful homes, north to see businesses. Decent sleep, sometimes occasionally delayed by wedding groups which were noticeable but nothing like I've endured elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you need sleep on a weekend, stay away from the big banquet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We again visited John Carver Inn and as always had a very relaxing stay. Our room was clean and well stocked. I bumped into Nora from housekeeping and chatted a little. She has a great personality and you can see she cares about her job.
We ate all our meals at the Hearth and Kettle. The food was tasty and fresh. The staff was great too, fro the young gentleman seating us to the different wait staff: Molly B, Carissa, Leanne, Riley and Pamela. All were very attentive and provided quick service.
The construction going on for the new tavern was kept surprisingly quiet for the amount of work being done. I didn't notice any smells or dust in the air. It looks like it's going to be a nice room to relax.

It's especially great that the hotel is so close to Court St. as well as the river and waterfront. We only drove one time while we were there- due to rain.

Overall another great stay, I look forward to many more.

Room Tip: I always prefer the Queen Suite with fireplace and Jacuzzi, just my preference. (3rd floor) The poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone, NM
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Lovely Hotel, great rooms, great location, good restaurant.- good shopping around it, easy to get to other historic places.

I would not recommend Plimouth Plantation, unless you have children- more for children, and pricey.

Room Tip: Nothing to add.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph A, General Manager at John Carver Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
LinTyrone_NM, Thank you for your comments about our hotel. - Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to John Carver Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Carver Inn

Address: 25 Summer St, Plymouth, MA 02360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
#7 Business Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — John Carver Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your John Carver Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Carver Hotel Plymouth
John Carver Plymouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Carver Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.