We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was Affordable Had a good time.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pilgrim Sands on Long Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pilgrim Sands on Long Beach to your Saves list
Pilgrim Sands on Long Beach
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   150 Warren Avenue, RT 3A, Plymouth, MA 02360   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Plymouth
Taunton
1 review
“Was Affordable Had a good time.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

When Me and my boyfriend went to Plymouth for the weekend, We wanted romantic and fun getaway. I knew what hotel to go but it was little more pricy so we went to look around any other available and more affordable hotels or motels. We stopped by into the Pilgrims Sands and asked about the rate for one night. We lucky and got one night for 155 non ocean view but that was fine with us. When got to room it was good but it had double beds and at first we like what this, we dont need to beds. But then it was fine with us and we just happy to be together away from work and stress. So we settled in and we went to the attactions and had lunch. We walked around for awhile, we took a harbor cruise that was cool. We after we went to dinner then went to relax in the indoor pool and hot tub. The beds were kinda uncomfortable but I was fine with it after, were there only one night. We had free breakfast next morning, it was a good breakfast I think. After breakfast went to see the beach before check out at 11. The beach was awesome and sunny. Everything was great and would come here again but not for more than one night.

  • Liked — good breakfast, the indoor pool and hot tub, the room was descent and the price.
  • Disliked — we were givin two beds i only wanted one but it was okay, had to give 150 deposit werid.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    147
    33
    12
    9
See reviews for
210
158
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North nj
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

This is a great place for three or four days. Best features.....the indoor pool and outdoor pool were very clean and fun. The hot tub was taken care of and was about 90 degrees. You can not beat the ocean as a back yard the pretty sea gulls and the one pigeon that likes to perch up near rm 209.

I agree with the 1970's look of the bedding as another had posted and must mention if you don't mind waking up and feeling like someone beat you with a 2x4, this is quaint. Get a massage or sink into the hot tub. Have fun!!

We had no children so I am the opposite of the the other women with four kids, no I don't like to hear children running up the stairs and yelling but we were lucky that only happened one day and I was able to shut out their noise with the ac. Not a place for babies, maybe 6 and up with good manners.


Jersey girl

  • Liked — the views, the clean pools
  • Disliked — the bed was like being beat with a 2x4
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2007

I have been meaning to share my vacation here for a while , The other day I was talking to a freind and got reminded of our horrific vacation at the Pilgrim Sands! The location is great but the staff was not. We have twin 4 year old boys and two girls ages 9 and 14. We booked this place for 5 nights at the tune of 1800 dollars and boy what a price to pay to be stressed out all week. The first five minutes in the room we were called by the grumpy jerk at the front desk to quiet down. We were just unpacking. I knew it would be downhill from there. My boys and girls are not out of control kids. They are just that. KIDS. The guy at the desk spent the rest of the weak terrorizing my 3 year old boys by running up the stairs whenever he heard us to tell them to stop making noise. They were just laughing and running to the room.. I left this place so stressed out! We told them we had four young children when we booked the room. These people should not rent to kids, they are way too uptight. We would of left and found another spot but we were not there alot so decided to stay. Bad decision, we should of left. For the money we gave them they sure were rude! I would recomend if you have small children dont stay here! We cant be the only family this place treated bad. Anyone else have this experiance? The two only nice things were the beach and the ladie who took care of the breakfast buffet in the morning. She was a sweetie. This place also is not a five star hotel so if your looking for luxury of any kind dont stay here. It was clean but a little old and the mattress was terrible! That guy at the front desk is really a creep to haress little three year olds. I was so upset he rendered me speechless! I left him a little note at the end of the week. Next time we book a chain hotel so we dont run into this kind of treatment. I was told this guy was the owners son.

  • Liked — the location is great, right on the beach
  • Disliked — the staff were rude and nasty to me and my children , all but the breakfast lady, She was sweet!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

Hotel directly on the beach. Not fancy, but very clean. Staff friendly, helpful. Close to town. Pools sparkling! Lots to see and do!!! Would go back!!!

  • Liked — Clean and Neat; Continental breakfast included.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

We were looking for a base in this area so we could make day trips to both Boston and Cape Cod. We considered the large chains but were put off by the reviews we read, the poor position and also the lack of availability in August. From this point of view the hotel is in an ideal position on the beach front.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful when we booked and were welcoming on arrival. The rooms were clean but basic and desperately needed updating. The air-con was far too noisy to have on all night and with 4 in the room and the August heat this was a must. The heat at night was also not helped by the plastic based mattress protectors which rustled every time someone turned over! The furniture and fittings in the room were very dated and an odd mix of colours.... pink throw and yellow (bobbly)sheets! The furniture was very dark and added to the dreary feel in the room. The bathroom was also dated and the shower curtain smelly! Although free tea and coffee were available all day this was from a central location rather than in the room. The communal areas were comfortable but also dated. Free internet access was available. Breakfast was basic but adequate it could have been improved by having proper cutlery and plates instead of the plastic variety! The Motel does make the breakfast room available in the evening for eating take away food. You need to balance the great location on the beach front with the comfort of a chain as price wise they are similar. When we go away we look for something that is at least as comfortable as home. From this point of view the Pilgrim Sands Motel is sadly lacking.

  • Liked — The views from the terrace
  • Disliked — The dated accommodation
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, m
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2007

needed to getaway with my 21 month old. This place was perfect. Even though the beach isn't available all the time, when it is there, it's a treasure trove - hermit crabs, starfish, rocks, seagulls. I had to pry my son off the beach in the early morning during low tide and in the evening to sleep. When the beach was "unavailable" the indoor and outdoor pools did the trick. Enjoyed the continental breakfast that one reviewer called "uninspired", please, it's a motel, bagels and cream cheese, cereal and muffins are plenty. Everything is clean and everyone is friendly. The bonus is that it's not too far from downtown Plymouth where there are lots of places to eat and great attractions. We had lunch at Nicole's Cafe (fabulous salads for adults and hot dogs and chicken fingers for the wee ones) and dinner at Weathervane's. With small children you can't beat a place that provides placemats to color and a cup of crayons. Not to mention the mac and cheese. It's store bought, but, just what my little man wanted - he ate the whole bowl. I had the clam roll, not all about the clam and not the batter. The mixed drinks were pricey, but hey it's vacation. Stay at Pilgrim Sands and enjoy this little nook of the world. We'll be back.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

This was our first stop on a week long road trip up to New Hampshire. The view of the ocean is wonderful. The staff was extremely helpful and informative. The rooms were not fancy or modern, however, they were clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was also great with toast, cereal, fruit, danish, bagels and oatmeal. We only stayed one night, but wished that we would've stayed longer. We will be back..OH! The staff recommended the place to eat next door (Stoneforge Plymouth @ Bert's Cove). We go out to dinner often and this was one of the best meals that we have ever had AND the best meal we had on the entire trip.

  • Liked — The view, pool and accomodations.
  • Disliked — A little pricey, but it was a Saturday night in season.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pilgrim Sands on Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrim Sands on Long Beach

Address: 150 Warren Avenue, RT 3A, Plymouth, MA 02360
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#2 Business Hotel in Plymouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pilgrim Sands on Long Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront motel in Plymouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pilgrim Sands on Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrim Sands On Long Beach Hotel Plymouth
Pilgrim Sands Motel Plymouth
Pilgrim Sands Hotel
Pilgrim Sands Plymouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pilgrim Sands on Long Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.