We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How did it EVER get 3.5 Stars ???” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue-Eyed Crab Grille And Raw Bar

Blue-Eyed Crab Grille And Raw Bar
170 Water St, Plymouth, MA 02360-3862
508-747-6776
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 184 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“How did it EVER get 3.5 Stars ???”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Decided to try the Blue Eyed Crab for lunch while we were in the Plymouth area because of the good reviews. What a mistake ! The Clam Chowder and Lobster Bisque were the highlights, creamy and flavorful. The Calamari was over-breaded and bland. The Crab Cakes were slightly burnt and uninspired. The tab for lunch for 3 people came to almost $70. It took us over an hour to complete our meal, even though there were less than 15 customers present at the time. Don't bother ... there are many other choices in the area (and they can't be as bad, hopefully.)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    90
    33
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Very good seafood in a relaxing atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We ate outside in mid week which was perfect. Plymouth is pretty lively on Friday/Saturday evenings so I think I would choose to eat inside on those evenings . Our meal was very good I can't remember exactly what my wife and son ate but I know they really enjoyed it, my son's girlfriend and I both had the Blue-Eyed Crab Seafood Stew and it was excellent.
Service is friendly and unobtrusive, but a bit on the slow side.
Prices are reasonable for this quality of food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A fun place for very good fish.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Not fancy. Low tech. Seems to be staffed mostly be college kids. Menu is on the chalk boards as everything is fresh and when they are out of something, they are out. That is the other side of the fresh food guarantee that I can live with. Prices are reasonable, seating is limited.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Calamari and pleasant atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The restaurant is near the ocean, but isn't ON the ocean. Something I wish I'd known, but then ended up not caring about. It was too hot to sit outside. I found the atmosphere charming and intimate. Really loved the calamari appetizer the best. I had the special, which was a steak tip sandwich - devine! Great cocktails, nice servers, and a clean restroom.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Massachusetts, USA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good but not as good as off season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The crab is always a good choice here but it is better off season when there are fewer people around.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue-Eyed Crab Grille And Raw Bar also viewed

 

Been to Blue-Eyed Crab Grille And Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue-Eyed Crab Grille And Raw Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.