We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wood's Seafood

Wood's Seafood
15 Town Pier, Plymouth, MA 02360
508/746-0261
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 183 Restaurants in Plymouth
Price range: $0 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Wood's Seafood is locally known as the place to go for the best seafood in the area. It is also a seafood market with the freshest seafood available at reasonable prices too. The restaurant is nothing fancy, paper plates, plastic utensils,and you order and pick-up your food. It has a nice view of Plymouth Harbor and is a short walk to downtown Plymouth ( and Plymouth Rock). The food is unbelievable-the best fried clams,scallops, and steamers no question about it. Their lobster dinners are reasonable and delicious. The fried seafood platter for 2 can easily feed 3-4. The majority of their meals are fried but they do have some baked or broiled seafood available,as well as sandwiches.The staff are friendly,courteous and helpful. If you are visiting the Plymouth area or just want the best seafood around you cannot find a better place than Wood's Seafood.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    127
    41
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The best fried seafood in Plymouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I've been going to Plymouth every summer for my whole life and I've tried all the restaurants that have been down on the water over the decades. I feel that Wood's has the best quality fried seafood of them all. The breading is not thick, it's thin and light, so you can eat it without feeling heavy afterwards. The interior seating is nothing great and we often do takeout instead. But that's a small price to pay for the quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Lobsters!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

One of my favorite place to get a steamed lobster, clams and all the fixings and not have to cook it!!! Outstanding!!! Great value......

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Wood's is on my short list of "must go to" locations when I am in the vicinity. I always have the Twin Lobster Dinner (I am a creature of habit), as well as a bowl of Lobster Bisque. This visit I followed up with a side of Fried Clams. Everything was well prepared and delicious.

As others have said, if you are looking for fancy, you may want to go somewhere else. If you are looking for fresh seafood at a decent price, you are at the right place. The food is generally hot and there is plenty of it to go around.

Additionally, the staff, in my experience, is always friendly and helpful. They were even willing to take the time to answer questions I had. I also noticed that some guests had various requests and each time the staff was very accomodating and helpful.

If you find yourself in the area, take the time to stop in to Wood's and enjoy a great dining experience.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Local Clamshack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Woods never disappoints. Everything is fresh and well prepared. Keep in mind this is mostly fried food, although some of it can be broiled. The seating area is just bare bones decor, like a real clam shack. It is also a fish market.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wood's Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Wood's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wood's Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.