We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alaskan gives it 5 stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wood's Seafood

Wood's Seafood
15 Town Pier, Plymouth, MA 02360
508/746-0261
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 181 Restaurants in Plymouth
Price range: $0 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Alaskan gives it 5 stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

Just awesome enough said. Everything very fresh. Cod fish and chips was so white and cooked perfectly. Lived in Alaska so I know great seafood.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    127
    41
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Fresh Fast Food Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

A very casual seafood hut on the water in the harbor. Order your food at the counter and then pick it up on a tray to self serve seating. Consistently fresh, tender, and not over cooked. Great place for fried seafood or lobster with french fries. Usually a line but it moves very quickly.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“4th highest rated restaurant in Plymouth...really???”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Being in the area for the first time for a few days from Vermont I was really looking forward to a fabulous meal of fresh seafood. When I saw the reviews and the rating I thought I have to try this place. I must say I was somewhat disappointed. While not the worst seafood meal I have ever had it definitely was far from the best as well.

I went with the Seafood Platter. The serving size was quite large, however it was VERY greasy. The friench fries were undercooked, soggy, and greasy. I also had a bowl of clam chowder. The chowder base was good but that is about all there was in the bowl, very little clams or other ingredients.

When you walk in you place your order at the window and they call your number when it is ready. While this is of no concern the person taking the order did not offer the corresponding options that were available with the Seafood platter. I would have preferred rice pilaf which was listed as a side option on the menu board but was not given the option when placing my order. Also, the platter came with your choice of whole clams or oysters. I was not asked which I preferred.

I would rate the overall meal, and experience as average at best...

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Fried Fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We've tried every fish restaurant in the Plymouth area and by far, Wood's Seafood is the best. For delicious, fresh fried fish, and a cool view of the harbor, this place is unbeatable. Go there for lunch and then hop on one of the whale watching vessels for an afternoon adventure -- there's nothing better in the area. We love this place!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“seafood delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

A very varied menu of all kinds of seafood and other eats. They also have a fresh seafood market on the premises and they are situated on the wharf where all the tour boats are docked. Very convenient for all the hungary seafarers.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wood's Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Wood's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wood's Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.