We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raw Turkey Burger and Rancid Linguine Sauce” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nix's Plymouth - CLOSED

Nix's Plymouth
6 Town Wharf Plymouth, Plymouth, MA 02360 (Formerly Nix's)
+1 508-591-7706
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Raw Turkey Burger and Rancid Linguine Sauce”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Appetizers: Truffle Fries and Quahog Lollipops -

Truffle Fries - Soggy, greasy and lukewarm: 8$
"Quahog" lollipops - I defy anyone to find a big enough piece of quahog in this pile of dough: 9$

Main Course: (after we had been told they were out of half of the menu) Turkey burger (with an added salad or fries? and extra 1.50). LInguine and Clams.

Turkey Burger was RAW. Not a little, but except for a little browning on the outer layer - the entire patty was raw. If my daughter had not cut her burger in half she would have had a bite of raw turkey. So disgusting. We complained and the manager came over as if he was doing us a favour. His first words, "Sorry for the mix up". What mix up? Had someone else ordered the raw turkey? I told him there was no mix up and he proceeded to give me attitude as if I had done something wrong.

The burger came back, it was obviously on the same bun as before - bad move. When you cut raw meat on a bun the juices seep into the bread. They gave us a raw patty and couldn't even be bothered to give us a new bun and patty. It was the same meat - but cooked through this time.

My linguine and clams looked like it was from some sort of bad high school cafeteria - there was so much grease coagulating in clumps. And the sauce had turned rancid. Yuck.

We will not be going back.

Try Anna's right across the way - better service and you won't get sick from eating the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    9
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great cocktails and good live music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a good bar/dinner for cocktails, beer and live music on a Saturday evening and the food is reasonably good, but it is more bar standard than restaurant quality.
The atmosphere is relaxed and the staff are friendly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Best Lobster Sliders"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I come to Plymouth occasionally with my children and husband to vacation we are so glad we found out about Nix's. The place is so clean and family oriented. My favorite is the unique menu they have here. The clam chowder is my daughters favorite and I love the Lobster sliders. We have yet to have a bad thing off this menu. My kids love dancing to the live music so its fun for us to come. Beautiful patio and indoor views! Can't go wrong here!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Night Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My Family and I always go out to the waterfront and Nix's is a welcomed change. My wife had the Linguine and Clams and I had the Steak Frites. Both where well cooked and tasted great. Our server was a young girl but she was a big help with us in deciding what to order. After dinner we walked the back bar area which we had no idea was there. There is another bar and a huge outdoor patio. A band setting up so we decided to stick around for another cocktail and caught the first part of the bands set. (I think the band was "six foot sunday") The bartender was friendly and letting us know that the patio was newly constructed and just opened weeks ago. This was a nice night out with my wife and we are definitely going to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Disappointed in Nix's Mate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were not impressed. We walked into a nearly empty restaurant, not a good sign for a beautiful Tues. evening in August when we expected it to be bustling with business. We sat on the back patio, surprised by the high fence which obstructed any view of the water. There were a few high tables and one was at a small section of shorter fence so we did see the water and that alone saved our nite. Food was mediocre at best. I had a shrimp scampi flatbread that had 6-8 tiny shrimp, lots of cheese, some arugula, and a few grape tomato halves but not much garlic. Not hot, instead it was almost soggy. Husband had the steak frites cooked medium with some smaller pieces almost well done. It was a fair portion of meat, good flavor, and quite tender but the steak fries were a much smaller portion than you would expect for a $20+ entree. It also came with a small arugula salad with a little blue cheese but no dressing. No bread was served with the meal. We won't return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nix's Plymouth also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nix's Plymouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.