We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 42 Degrees North

42 Degrees North
Route 3A (State Road), Plymouth, MA
508-224-1500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 184 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: New Restaurant - seafood -excellent!!!!
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We went this week - 6 and a baby - and they were very helpful indeed. The food was good with very generous portions - the starters are way too big in fact. A little too pricey mind you

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    40
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I would have given five stars if it were not for the confusion around waiting for a table. We had called for reservations but were told they only accept them for parties of six or more. When we arrived we gave our name to the hostess at the outdoor deck and went to get drinks at the outdoor bar. After 40 minutes or so we checked with her and were told they could seat us inside immediately. (We were unaware of two lists for tables, and were never asked if we preferred inside, outside, or first available.) when we went inside, there seemed to be a disagreement among the staff as to where we would be seated, a bit unprofessional in front of us. As noted by a previous poster, there are some dark corners, and some tables are pretty cramped next to neighbors, in fact the hostess had to ask others if they could push in so we could be seated.
On to what really matters - the service and food were excellent. Our party ordered caprese salad, chowder and brussels sprouts apps; for main courses, lazy man's lobster, scallops with risotto, and swordfish. All food was cooked and seasoned beautifully.
We would return again - there are many items on this menu we want to try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very disapointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I went to this resturant in hopes of some nice fine dining. We were told 45 min wait so we decided that wasn't to bad after 1 1/2 hours of waiting I asked the hostess where we stood on the wait list she replied 3 partys ahead of you! So of course we are going to wait as the night was getting late and didn't want to search for another place to eat. We finally get seated in a very small in the corner table with a party of 10 very loud obnoxious group of drunk people right next to our table! I will never go back to this over rated resturant! its more like a pub/sports bar with a bunch of locals getting drunk!! horrible! Police should take notice of the over serving of alcohol! no wonder we had to wait so long they just kept serving drinks even though they were clearly intoxicated!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

I had the cioppino , my date had the scallops & risotto. both were extraordinary, and the service was great! but 2 closed mussels and 1 big closed clam makes me wonder where's the QC in the kitchen please????But it tasted great and I was sorry I was cheated out of a clam and a mussel. Scallops and risotto were flawless.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Imaginative, wonderfully presented AND delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

A family birthday sent us looking for something new, but nice. After reading some reviews (and watching the Phantom Gourmet video), we decided to try this. Great choice! Ciopinno was wonderful, pan-seared scallops great, shrimp & scallop duo fabulous and the best simple scrod dish rounded out the entrees. The crabcakes were very good and the roasted Brussels sprouts with bacon and maple glaze were tasty (and really unusual). Key lime pie and their signature ice cream pie finished off a wonderful meal. The only disappointment? When we went in, we spoke to the hostess and asked if they could acknowledge the birthday at the table. Despite assurances it would be taken care of, it didn't happen. By the time we realized it had fallen through the cracks, it was too late to remedy. The other small annoyance was that the server tended to disappear for long periods of time, leaving us hanging with empty glasses and no side dishes? Attention to detail is what makes a good restaurant great, and they fell just a little short.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 42 Degrees North also viewed

 

Been to 42 Degrees North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 42 Degrees North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.