We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Visit to Aroma's” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aroma's Tavern and Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Aroma's Tavern and Grill
739 State Road, Plymouth, MA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 181 Restaurants in Plymouth
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: New restaurant with local flavor
MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“3rd Visit to Aroma's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Found ourselves in Manomet to watch the sunset last nite and decided to eat once again at Aroma's since the Plymouth waterfront was packed. We've been pleased in the past with most of our experience here but the restaurant could make a few improvements. Their Caesar salad is quite delicious, lots of garlic, anchovies on the side on request, and large enough to share. "Be the Chef" is a new addition since the last time, choose a sauce, a type of pasta, and a protein or two, or three. DH ordered the Parmesan white sauce with shrimp and scallops over angel hair, while quite good though it needed more flavor. The seafood was cooked to perfection unlike my halibut special. The fish was overcooked, dry, and almost stringy though the flavor was excellent and truffle salad topping it was delicious and unique.
Service was outstanding so it was easy to overlook the discrepancies. Prices for wine, drinks, meals are reasonable though drinks were not as generous as at most restaurants. (DH'S would
have liked to order a double!) We will return and try other menu items. Nice not to have to wait for a table on a Sat. nite in the summer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Little touch of Italy in Manomet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

As we visit all the local restaurants the town of Plymouth has to offer we tried a little bistro in the Manomet Beach area of Plymouth. Its location is perfect for us as it is a 5 minute drive from our house. They take reservations which is a huge plus with me. cute little bistro set up inside. Outside, not much to look at as it is in a little strip mall at an intersection. Plus is there is a ice cream shop up from the restaurant in case the desserts don't appeal to you. Great food, simple preparation of classic Italian dishes, natural ingredients, nice size portions that don't intimidate. Nice little wine list to compliment the meal and waitresses that know how to pace a meal.
well done Aroma, well done. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The staff at Aroma's are friendly and helpful. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is great. We ate there all 3 nights of our stay in the area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A bit out of the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

But not that far.

Trying to find parking in downtown Plymouth for dinner is at best, difficult.

A little bit down 3-A south and you come upon this little gem. No crowds, plenty of parking and a nice place. Staff and food is above average.

We watched a bit of the Red Sox (they won!), bought Power Ball tickets (we lost!) and had a great meal to boot. My wifes mac & lobster was very good, my burger above average.

All & all a nice night. Drive the couple of miles, it's worth it "Far from the Madding Crowd".

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stop for a drink and appetizers are great. Pizza to die for. Small but very quaint. Have made this place a nice on the way home stop.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroma's Tavern and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Aroma's Tavern and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aroma's Tavern and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.