We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No pretense, just good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shanty Rose

The Shanty Rose
16 Town Wharf, Plymouth, MA
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 163 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: 508-746-ROSE
Restaurant details
Description: 508-746-ROSE
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No pretense, just good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Solid, solid place. In the middle if touristville, right on Plymouth Harbor, sits this little gem.
Ate at the bar, looking out on the boats, and ate one of the tastiest, freshest fried scallop rolls I have ever eaten.
Homemade onion rings on the side, lightly-breaded.
Solo guy with an acoustic guitar did a good job.
No frills place, not a hipster scene. Just real & real good.
Did I mention the fried scallops?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Horse Beach, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“downhill fast”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Went to the Shanty Rose with 2 friends, at their recommendation. Both had been there last year and said food was good. We ordered drinks and got large beer sized glasses of vodka drinks, so far so good! Then we ordered dinner, my friend ordered scrod and asked about the veggie and was told they had no veggie, however she could get the chicken noodle soup instead? WHAT, with fish??? My other dinner mate ordered steak tips, was never asked how she wanted them cooked and I ordered the lobster roll. Lobster roll was fine, how can you screw that up, fish came out fried, and was refused and sent back, she ordered broiled. Steak tips had half a bottle of cold teriyaki sauce poured on them. When the fish finally arrived, it was very under cooked and inedible. I will not return, very disappointing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth, Mass
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Oh NO !!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Don't do it! Lousy everything! Drinks stink and are measured, food is inconsistent! Huge turnover in staff. Makes regulars uncomfortable

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsonsburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Plymouth's Little Secret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Surrounded by bigger restaurants with bigger (more well known) names, the Shanty Rose is small in size, but large in its neighborhood watering hole atmosphere, excellent food and drinks. From hot chips to super clam chowder, this is the real McCoy. The Bloody Mary is out of this world. But the best part is that they greet the stranger as if you were a regular and an old friend. We've sampled most of the seafood places around, but keep coming back to the Rose!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“best little bar/restaurant on the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

great view of the water while enjoying a drink or a wonderful meal. when i visited i tried their special soup of the day butternut squash ~ it was complete comfot food and absolutely delicious. this is a cozy little place with a bar atmosphere casual and comfortable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shanty Rose also viewed

 

Been to The Shanty Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shanty Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.