We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promising restaurant/Bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rye Tavern

Rye Tavern
517 Old Sandwich Rd, Plymouth, MA
508-591-7515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 163 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
443 helpful votes 443 helpful votes
“Promising restaurant/Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We have eaten at the bar twice and had good meals in a pleaseant setting. Molly the friendly barmaid is attractive, efficient, and knowledgable. Terriffc selection of wines and beers. Molly knows her stuff and you should take her advice. Steamed mussels and the Tavern Burger are absolutely first-rate and as good as any I've had anywhere. They have their own produce garden and use it to good effect in the fresh and seasonable dishes and specials. Menu rotates every few weeks. Bar is smallish and quite, with a nice rotation of tunes played at reasonable volume. They are very accomadating and when my wife wasn't really in the mood for the menu selections they offered to whip her up something off the menu. She asked for and got a nice medly of steamed root vegetables cooked perfectly and presented in a nice way. They even made up a special key on the register for it, so ask for the B.A.V.P. The Big Veggie Plate.
Can't wait to try the rest of the menu items and to dine al fresco this summer.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    54
    17
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middleboro, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experieince”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

My husband and I tried this out as we heard great reviews from some of his coworkers. I'm glad we did! From driving down the dirt road to rustic charm of the tavern - you get not only a great dining experience, but you also feel transported in time. The food was great, we got the dates wrapped in bacon as an appetizer. For the main course I received the seared scallops and my husband ordered the beef stew. It felt nice and cozy on a cold winter's night. I would love to go there again during the warmer months as they have outside seating available. You can tell the chef really produces high quality and innovative dishes. The service was also great too.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I ventured down the dirt road to this historic tavern after reading a Facebook post detailing their specials for the evening. Mac and cheese with smoked ham and a bread pudding for dessert are two of my husband's favorite foods, so off we went. The outing was rather disappointing, but not because of any complaint against the food, service or location. This is a fine dining, gourmet exprerience with a price tag to match. There was nothing on the menu to satisfy a picky preteen and I don't normally pay twenty two dollars for mac and cheese, no matter how wonderfully prepared it is. We will look forward to returning, on our own and for a special occassion to justify the expense! This is a wonderful place with a unique menu and excellent service. Just don't head there for a quick, cheap homey meal!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but noise level high”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is a quaint tavern with a rich historical past. Fireplace will be nice during the cooler months. Outside patio is nice.
Went on a Saturday with friends and really enjoyed the food. Nature of the building and design results in high noise level. Management may be working on this. They take reservations, even on a Saturday.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Horse Beach, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Rustic and Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We went to an Octoberfest event at the restaurant held by the new General manager, Nikki and it was wonderful. It was an outside pigroast and beer fest. We were served appetizers at our tables as well as beer and we dined on delicious assorted versions of pork and side dishes. I know that we were not there for a traditional dinner but for what we ate and saw (the obvious charm of the interior and the very friendly staff) we know we will be back again and again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rye Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Rye Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rye Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.