We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and gracious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   73C Warren Ave., Plymouth, MA 02360   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Warm and gracious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this lovely seacoast B & B. Sandy was so warm and friendly. She had good knowledge on restaurants and visiting the area. Breakfasts were delicious, and coffee ready early in the morning. Breakfast is family style, in that we all sat together around the table, but Sandy plated and served the meal. Our room was on the first floor, and we could see the harbor. If we are in the Plymouth area again, we'd like to stay in one of the second floor rooms, where the view is even better.
We usually don't sleep well in a different bed, but the bed was comfortable and we slept well.
Thanks Sandy, for a special few days at your lovely home.
We recommend this B & B.

Room Tip: We were able to view the rooms, and all are nice. The second floor has a better view of the harbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
100
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Laconia, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent only one night her at the Thornton Adam, but wished it was more. We had a delightful room-- the Blue Room-- a delicious breakfast with great food, great conversation with guests and Sandy could not have been more accommodating for a special gluten free diet. Thank you! When we had personal guests arrive after breakfast she welcomed them and offered them treats as well! We would highly recommend this B and B to anyone coming to this area! Hope to be there again! Sandy Also provided my husband with a tie for the wedding when he realized his was forgotten at home!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at this B&B for a long anniversary weekend. Sandy, the hostess, is very nice. The room, Erin's room, was very comfortable. When the fog lifted in the mornings we had a beautiful view of the ocean. Breakfast was excellent. She has a signature cranberry cake that is to die for. She was very helpful in what places to see and what to do. She would even arrange tours and dinner reservations. I peeked into the suite and that is awesome. The next time we head up to Plymouth, there is a good chance I will book that room just for the jacuzzi tub. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast for any of your future stays.

Room Tip: Sandy has several room types to choose from. The two front second floor rooms overlook the ocean an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Above the Bay at Thornton Adams was the perfect place to begin our celebratory trip. Very comfortable and lovely accommodations (the best my lower back has felt in months) in a beautiful and quiet setting. Breakfast was delicious and the morning conversation wonderful. Our hosts, Sandy and Ron, could not have been more welcoming and kind. We highly recommend you stay with them!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had such a wonderful 2-night stay with Sandy and the othe guests! We found the home to be beautiful and in a central location where we could tour Plymouth and Cape Cod. The house is off the beaten path, which I loved. We would go to the downtown area, walk around to see all of the history, enjoy restaurants and even a little shopping! I liked not being right on the corner of all the activity so that when we did not want all of the hustle and bustle, we could retire to the home and our private room and bathroom. I would highly recommend renting bikes to tour the area. There is a nice bike path and it is a quick way to see a lot of the sights when you don't have a lot of time. We rented our bikes for 1 hour but there was also a daily rate. Sandy made our stay very enjoyable with very clean rooms, delicious breakfasts and valuable information on restaurants, etc. When we told her we were going to drive the Cape to Provincetown, she gave us a map that showed her favorite route to drive when wanting to see the beautiful scenery. We drove the Cape to Provincetown and went whale watching. What a wonderful experience! On our return, we stopped at Moby Dick's for dinner and found a beautiful spot in the sand by the water to watch the sunset. Before you knew it, we were back in Plymouth and stopped to get an icecream cone, walk around a bit more and retire to our room. The next morning, we drove to Boston to spend 2 nights there. What a wonderful long weekend to celebrate our 20th anniversary!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, NY
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I am not a great fan of B&Bs ...breakfast with strangers early in the morning is not for me. Then there are all the do-dads that seem to be required decor. Limited parking, cramped rooms and watchful inn keepers give me the jitters. But when faced with poor alternatives such as the absence of hotels/motels I gave in and reserved at the Thornton Adams. This lovely home is a straight run on the outskirts of Plymouth central so is very convenient for access to restaurants. Ample parking, spacious rooms with decent bathrooms. A gem of an owner, Sandy, accommodating, generous with her time and knowledge, she whips up delicious breakfasts at the drop of a hat and skillfully guides conversations in a way that makes you forget that your breakfast companions are actually strangers and not old friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed with our hosts Sandy and Ron for 3 nights in August, originally planning to stay for one night as we toured 'Cape Cod and Newport RI, we found Plymouth and Thornton Adams to be the perfect base to do this so stayed for 3. Sandy could not have been more helpful, giving advice on places to visit and the best routes to take to get the most out of our short stay. My wife is a 'coeliac' and therefore on a gluten free diet which can be a problem, not here, Sandy fully understood the problem and ensured each breakfast was different and very enjoyable!!! Plymouth is a wonderful place in it's own right and needs 2 or 3 days put to one side just for this area, unfortunately we did not do this so that on this visit so that's for next time when of course we will be staying at Thornton Adams with Sandy and Ron again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast

Address: 73C Warren Ave., Plymouth, MA 02360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a Classic Colonial style B&B with Ocean Views in an upscale area only two minutes to Plimoth Plantation, Mayflower II, Plymouth Rock, Pilgrim Hall Museum, Whale Watching, Within a 5 mile are we have miles of public beaches and wonderful restaurants. We are only 15 minutes to Cape Cod and a 55 min train ride to Boston. We have a Jacuzzi Suite, and a family suite as well as a queen room. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Above the Bay at Thornton Adams Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.