We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on the water - Get the sesame crusted tuna!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Fish

Union Fish
14 Union Street, Plymouth, MA 02360
508-747-4503
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 182 Restaurants in Plymouth
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Great location on the water - Get the sesame crusted tuna!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My boyfriend and i went on Memorial day so it was really crowded. We got lucky and got two seats at the bar right away.(they were still warm. LOL!) The view is awesome but I think there is a fueling station for boats next door because a couple of times we were inundated with noxious odors of fuel. The bartenders were seriously out-numbered and service was slow albeit friendly. I got the sesame crusted tuna which was awesome and b.f. got burger which he enjoyed. There was a lovely duo playing guitar and singing and the whole place enjoyed them. We met some cool people at the bar and conversation easily flowed. I dont know how much tab was cause I didnt pay but it all seemed very reasonable for the location. I would enjoy returning at a less crowded time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    13
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mediocre Food, Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I have eaten at Union Fish three times, each one progressively worse than the previous. The reason we kept going back was because the view of the harbor is great and its a nice place to sit outside.

Here are some basic takeaways for the restaurant:
1) The service is incredibly slow, expect to wait 5 - 15 minutes for drinks; bar drinks take way too long, even just glasses of wine.
2) The wait staff gets orders wrong all the time; want gin and tonic? hope you like vodka and tonic.
3) The menu is great and the food would be too if it were prepared well. We have gotten everything from cold dishes to burnt fish.
4) The whole place is poorly managed; the wait staff are kids, they have no interest in doing a good job, and there isn't a good manager to help keep them motivated and things moving.

Here is what happened the last time we ate here:
My wife, mother and I went here for an early dinner on a Saturday night. Our table outside that we were seated at had not been cleaned. We waiting 5 minutes to get menus, another 10 minutes to place a drink order. Our drinks arrived 30 minutes after we had been seated. We ordered appetizers which we got an hour into the meal, they were cold. Nothing tastes quite as gross as a cold pig in a blanket. When our meal came out, it was pretty terrible. The Lobster Mac and Cheese was ALL claw meat; it tasted awful. My mother's halibut was still cold in the middle and my wife's salmon was grossly overcooked and over seasoned. I was drinking Gin and Tonic, the bar ran out of carbonation, the waitress proceeded to give me flat drinks rather than ask if I wanted anyting else. We ordered dessert and it arrived close to two hours into our meal. We also ordered decaf coffee with our dessert and were very surprised when we realized that she had brought us tea instead. When we complained about the entire experience, the waitress explained that "saturday's are really busy nights and maybe we should come on a less busy night like tuesday". Really? Seriously?

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Love the view, delicious food, & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is the 2nd time in one week that I was there. I have always had a great experience, whether it was Union Fish or Mayflower..Recently had drinks & appetizers with friends. Yum, yum,. spinach & artichoke dip...Excellent. Today a burger. Yum... Food & Service great. Oh, yeah...the atmosphere, views....Oh, my God...Excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“delicious seafood place hidden within the Brewer Marina lot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is one of those hidden gems that was classy, fantastic food, with great views, and an overall delight. You have to walk through the boat/marina lot and will miss it if you don't pay attention to the signs. Try the tuna tartar and the grilled fish tacos- delicious!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Union Fish is a great restaurant. It has changed names and owners over the years, but has always maintained its status as a great restaurant. Had drinks and an appetizer there today with friends. The spinach and artichoke dip is great and the Sangria was really good. It was a beautiful day to look at the beautiful harbor while we enjoyed each other's company. Denise is a great waitress. She is courteous, funny, and always willing to go the extra mile to make sure her customers are satisfied with their dining experience. Highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Fish also viewed

 

Been to Union Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.