We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice staff, comfortable room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Pittsfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Pittsfield to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Pittsfield
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 West St, Rte 7 & West St, Pittsfield, MA 01201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Pittsfield
Waterbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Very nice staff, comfortable room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

We stayed here for two nights because of its proximity to the Berkshire Medical Center. We did have some concerns after reading these reviews, but we were very pleasantly surprised.
The room had all the amenities expected of a Crowne Plaza. Although the hotel itself is older, the furnishings and details were in wonderful shape. The room was quiet (request the business floor if you want a more peaceful setting). We ate at the hotel restaurant and had a very good meal with excellent service.
The location is in a seen-better-days downtown, but there are many restaurants and the new and fantastic Beacon Theater within a couple of blocks. Use standard City caution outside of the property but don't stay away because of the area. We returned to the room around 10 p.m. Saturday night and saw nothing that would concern us.
All in all, a very good stay, and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLECLAIR, Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsfield, responded to this review, May 19, 2010
We would like to thank you for your recent review of the Crowne Plaza Hotel in the Berkshires. It is our goal to provide exceptional service and we strive to exceed each guests' expecations. Please know that all comments are communicated with our staff and we thank you again for your comments.
We look forward to your next visit to the Berkshires.

Sincerely,

Crowne Plaza Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    86
    66
    33
    15
See reviews for
74
49
15
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We didn't have much choice as this was one of the few (maybe only) pet friendly hotels in the area. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was very clean, but tiny. It seemed like we were the only guests at the hotel that night. Felt rather strange. Creepy, almost. Plus the part of town where the hotel is located seemed like a ghost town. No one on the streets. Plus there was an older couple that sat in the lobby all day long. The swimming pool was the best thing at the hotel. One of the nicest indoor pools we've seen.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLECLAIR, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsfield, responded to this review, May 22, 2010
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments and make sure you are aware of our upcoming guest room renovations, which features updated room furnishings with a flat screen television system.

The Crowne Plaza Hotel features a Sleep Advantage program, which entails a sleep CD, lavendar spray, and numerous other components to ensure a good nights' sleep.

It is our goal to provide exceptional guest service and strive to exceed each guests' expectations. Please know that all comments are communicated with our staff and we thank you again for your kind remarks.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Sincerely,

Crowne Plaza Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

I had my daughter's 12th birthday party at the Crowne Plaza. I reserved two adjoining rooms, one for the adults and other for my daughter and three friends. The kids really enjoyed the party being poolside and the adults loved the hot tub. The employees were very friendly and helpful. Once we were done with pizza, cake, and swimming, I took the girls up to our room where we all enjoyed a family friendly movie. The rooms are very spacious and clean. I would highly recommend staying at the Crowne Plaza in Pittsfield, MA.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLECLAIR, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsfield, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
Thank you for your kind remarks!

It is our goal to provide superior accomodations and exceptional guest service. Please know that all comments are communicated with our staff and we thank you again for your kind remarks.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Sincerely,

Crowne Plaza Hotel Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala Fl
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

My wife and I had an excellent stay. The employees were very pleasent and extemely helpful especially Jessica.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLECLAIR, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsfield, responded to this review, May 22, 2010
Thank you for your kind remarks!

It is our goal to provide exceptional guest service and strive to exceed each guests' expectations. Please know that all comments are communicated with our staff and we thank you again for your kind remarks.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Sincerely,

Crowne Plaza Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Well, I've stayed at worse places. But this was an unexpected stay necessitated by inclement weather, not a vacation, so I could deal. THE PROS: the rate was only $109, and they dropped it to $99 for us since we were, for lack of a better term, "in need." (Though, if someone checks in at 1:00 am because they're stranded, $10 off isn't exactly spectacular.) I was able to buy contact solution (albeit overpriced and lacking a case) in the lobby, which was a lifesaver since we couldn't find any 24-hr convenience stores/pharmacies before checking in. The bathroom was clean, the room temp was fine, the toiletries were nice. The parking was free. THE CONS: The lobby looks lovely, and I was suspicious, this being Pittsfield, that it wasn't representative of the whole hotel. I was right. Step off the elevator into another era and see the hotel for what it is. Tired mint green wallpaper, pink tiled showers, dingy carpets and mustard colored furniture. This place needs a reno, asap. Decor was tired, but the room looked clean enough. I pulled back the sheets, desperate to get in bed after an exhausting, harrowing evening of bad weather driving, ignoring the shabby "bed" pillows (they were square throw pillows with regular pillowcases on them) only to find several hairs, including what were obviously pubic hairs, in the sheets. You cannot convince me that was a freshly made-up bed. Thankfully, they didn't even try when we called for new linens straight away. To their credit, they offered to move us to a new room, but being dead tired and fearing a repeat of the same, we just wanted the linens. They were sent right up to the room...well, two top sheets and 3 pillowcases were. Whatever. I stripped the bed and changed it, trying to ignore the cringe-inducing stained mattress pad (hey, Crowne Plaza, there's this wonderful stuff called BLEACH for sanitizing linens...get some!!). Had the worst night's sleep ever. Mattress was super uncomfortable, pillows were crap, bed linens insufficient. Ugh. But you know, emergency situation, I can deal. I could've been otherwise stranded on Windsor Mt. in an ice/wind storm with a tin of Altoids for sustenance. The icing on the cake though, was this... in the morning, we asked at the front desk for a recommendation for a local breakfast/lunch cafe or diner. The clerk quickly recommended the "Court Square Breakfast & Deli" and said, "our former executive chef owns it." Well, ok! Great! Let me tell you...it was disgusting. FILTHY. Run-down. Posters proclaim "we serve Dean's Beans" and "New England Coffee" but we watched the waitress scoop the coffee straight out of a Costco size Folgers container. Surprisingly, eggs & bacon were cooked to perfection, but we went straight to Dunkin Donuts for a second (i.e. decent) coffee after we left. Lesson learned. This hotel staff is not your trusted source. Would I stay again? Only if I had to.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLECLAIR, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsfield, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the level of service provided by the staff and the condition of the room may have caused you.

It is Crowne Plaza Hotel's goal to consistently provide superior service and accomodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations do not occur in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
450 reviews 450 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

the room amenities are terrible. Bad sleep, old/moldy mattresses, old worn tubs. Old TV system with very limited and expensive rentals. The restaurant and newer wing of the hotel are ok, fitness room is in need of repairs. Its considered the best hotel in town. Not a bad stay in the area, but it definitely has seen better days and is suffering from over use...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLECLAIR, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsfield, responded to this review, May 29, 2010
We would like to thank you for your comments and make sure you are aware of our upcoming guest room renovations, which feature updated room furnishings.

It is our goal to provide exceptional guest service and superior accomodations. Please know that all comments are communicated with Management and Staff.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Sincerely,

Crowne Plaza Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris022
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

Overall this hotel was pretty good. We checked in, and we had a bit of a family so we could not check in the 2nd room. The person at the front desk took care of that. We were going to see a show at the colonial theater, which is right across the street from the hotel.

The pool was in great shape (being a lifeguard I could tell), the dinner was GREAT for hotel standards. The room was nice, but didn't have WiFi - only a hard wire.

The breakfast was expensive and very bad for its value. Other than that, I couldn't be more pleased with the service, location, or anything! I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLECLAIR, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Pittsfield, responded to this review, May 22, 2010
Thank you for your kind remarks and suggestions, please know that all comments are communicated with our Management & Staff.

It is our goal to provide exceptional guest service and strive to exceed each guests' expectations.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you best in your business and personal endeavors.

Sincerely,

Crowne Plaza Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Pittsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Pittsfield

Address: 1 West St, Rte 7 & West St, Pittsfield, MA 01201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Pittsfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Pittsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Pittsfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Pittsfield-Berkshires Hotel offers a convenient downtown location, minutes from Berkshire attractions including several public golf courses,Tanglewood, Norman Rockwell Museum, Hancock Shaker Village, summer theater. One hour to Albany (NY) Airport. All guestrooms equipped with complimentary high speed internet. Free wireless Internet access in all public/lobby areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Pittsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Pittsfield Hotel Pittsfield
Pittsfield Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Pittsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.