We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot recommend this hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Berkshire Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Berkshire Inn to your Saves list
Berkshire Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   150 West Housatonic St, Pittsfield, MA 01201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Pittsfield
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cannot recommend this hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The Berkshire Inn: the worst place we have stayed in during our visit in the USA so far: overpriced, lousy service, dangerous electrical wiring. I really cannot recommend this place.

The free WIFI access did not work. Breakfast was really poor: mostly unhealthy stuff loaded with sugar, no breakfast room, only two cast iron tables in the tiny reception area. Staff was unfriendly , when you told them about the problem you had with the service.
We paid 211 $ for one night for a room with two queen beds, a comparatively high price regarding the flaws the hotel has; we paid much less in other hotels with the same room category, but the service and the hospitality was much better in any other hotel we satyed during our four weeks visit of the USA.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkshireInn, Owner at Berkshire Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
It was of concern to note your remarks regarding your recent stay here, at the Berkshire Inn, When you have brought up the concern of the Wi-Fi access not working for you during your stay here, we have investigated the concern with the Wi-Fi issue and it appears that you had multiple devices that were connected to our Wi-Fi service for lengthy periods of time, as we have stated that the “Wi-Fi service is complementary to our guest and is there is no guarantee on Wi-Fi service due to some devices not being able to connect to the Wi-Fi”, as we have tried to explain to you about the Wi-Fi service, it appeared you were not satisfied with any response. We have inspected the room and we did not find any electrical wiring issues that maybe of concern, and there was no concern of any electrical issues brought to our attention.

A concern that we also have is your concern of the “Sugary Breakfast” We try to provide a wide assortment of breakfast items for our guest, as we do cater to a wide variety of people. We try to provide in our Continental Breakfast items such as plain bread, whole grain breads, Whole grain and Plain Bagels, plain and whole grain English muffins, and at least 4 brands of dry cereals such as Cheerios, Special K, Chex cereal brands, Orange Juice, Milk and Assortment of Coffee and tea flavors. There is also Fresh fruits served, also, the continental breakfast is a complimentary service that we provide for our guest to start the day off replenished and refreshed.

We the Perrin family try to emphasize that our facility is a traditional “Mom & Pop” style facility, while we know that this might not be satisfying to some of our guest, but we try to focus on providing a family friendly environment versus a corporate hotel/motel chain atmosphere. While we do understand that Berkshire Inn is not for everyone, we are sorry that we were not able to meet and provide the quality of service that you were expecting. We do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your travel while visiting the USA.

Thank you,
The Perrin Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    36
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
37
31
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hackensack, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Good value for the price. Premises and room were neat and clean. A few things needed adjustment in the roon (faucet, A.C.). The owner was in with his tools within 5 minutes and very capably took care of the situations.
Enjoyed the breakfast and coffee which was put out for guests each morning.
Room was spacious and included a fridge.
The Perrin family are quite delightful and aim to please.
This is the place if you are looking for simplicity, value, and personal attention if needed.
Convenient to many Berkshire attractions. We were going to Barrington stage which was very nearby,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkshireInn, Owner at Berkshire Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Greetings from The Perrin Family at The Berkshire Inn, in the Berkshires, Pittsfield, MA

We The Perrin Family would like to thank you for your review of the Berkshire Inn. We the Perrin family pride ourselves on providing family friendly environment and comfortable accommodations for you and your guest, we are glad that you choose to stay here at the Berkshire Inn. We always try to emphasize on the "Mom and Pop" feel of our facility, we are glad that you enjoyed yourselves here. We are looking at the Faucet issue and are currently in the process of replacing them, as the current faucet is a bit confusing to utilize.

We want to thank you for choosing to stay here at the Berkshire Inn, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Perrin Family
Berkshire Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I chose this stop based on tripadvisor and the excellent reviews were not wrong. It is a motel from the 50s-60s in style, but it is very clean, scrupulously maintained and the young couple with their two small children were helpful, friendly and dedicated to making their place just right. Recommend highly

Room Tip: Jimmy's Restaurant next door was very good. Italian food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkshireInn, Owner at Berkshire Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Greetings from The Perrin Family at The Berkshire Inn, in the Berkshires, Pittsfield, MA

We would like to thank you for your review of the Berkshire Inn. We the Perrin family pride ourselves on providing a "family friendly environment" and comfortable accommodations for you and your guest, we are glad that you choose to stay here at the Berkshire Inn. We always focus on making sure our rooms are clean and in order for our guest. We always aim to provide plenty of local information to our guest so that they enjoy themselves while visiting the Berkshires.

We want to thank you for choosing to stay here at the Berkshire Inn, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Perrin Family
Berkshire Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadley, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

The young owners of Berkshire Inn are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious and affordable. Many places to eat nearby. A safe environment for a morning walk. Great coffee! Thank you, Perrin family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkshireInn, Owner at Berkshire Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Greetings from The Perrin Family at The Berkshire Inn, in the Berkshires, Pittsfield, MA

We would like to thank you for your review of the Berkshire Inn. It was a pleasure to hear about your enjoyable stay here at the Berkshire Inn. It is a treat to hear from our guests, particularly those so effusive in their praise! We the Perrin family pride ourselves on providing family friendly environment and comfortable accommodations for you and your guest, we are glad that you choose to stay here at the Berkshire Inn.

We want to thank you for choosing to stay here at the Berkshire Inn, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

The Perrin Family
Berkshire Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel while our son was playing in a baseball tournament. We couldn't have been more pleased. Very affordable, clean, and comfortable. The Perrin family was wonderful! Would recommend to anyone traveling in this area. Thank you Perrins for your hospitality.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a pretty standard, low-price mom&pop-run motel on the outskirts of Pittsfield. There's a small pool out front, a couple of vending machines for drinks and snacks, free wi-fi and a complimentary breakfast buffet during the summer months in the tiny reception area, with trays available so you can take your meal back to your room to eat.

My room was clean and tidy, if a little old-fashioned, with plenty of hot water and a comfortable bed, which is all I ask when booking this style of accommodation. The walls are pretty thin, which can be a problem if you're a light sleeper or have particularly noisy neighbours, but the property is set back from the highway and is largely surrounded by trees, so is pretty quiet, otherwise.

There's a big shopping mall nearby where you can buy food, and a refrigerator and microwave in the room, so the lack of an on-site cafe really isn't a problem and there are also numerous places to eat in Pittsfield, of course.

I was checked in by the owner, who was friendly and helpful and gave me all the information I needed for the time that I stayed. I used the motel as a base for visiting Tanglewood and local attractions and was very comfortable there. Would I go back? Yes, no problem at all.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fremont nh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

room was clean,owners very friendly and helpful, comfortable bed, highly recommand. lots of places to eat real close.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berkshire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkshire Inn

Address: 150 West Housatonic St, Pittsfield, MA 01201
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Pittsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Pittsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Berkshire Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berkshire Inn, is centrally located in the Beautiful Berkshires and downtown Pittsfield, We are within walking distance to beautiful historical downtown Pittsfield. We are short drive to many local venues and sight seeing locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Berkshire Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkshire Hotel Pittsfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkshire Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.