We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fogata

La Fogata
770 Tyler Street, Pittsfield, MA 01201
(413) 443-6969
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 136 Restaurants in Pittsfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stratford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I wish we lived closer! My husband and I came to Pittsfield to visit Melville's home - Arrowhead - and visit other sites on the Melville trail. We never in a million years would have found this restaurant on our own - thank you tripadvisor! The waiter was delightful and pleasant; the food was fresh, delicious and nicely presented; the atmosphere was cozy and unpretentious. We enjoyed it so much it inspired us to write our very first review. La Fogata is a little off the beaten path, but well worth the effort to find it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    9
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown Heights
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food and staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Utilizing the reviews from tripadvisor we gave La Fogata a try this past July. To sum up our feeling, I wish this restaurant was in our home area as it would be our go to eating spot! Loved the food! The fish was wonderful! The appys were familiar yet slightly different. The interesting juice choices were a delightful start to a meal. Our waiter was extremely helpful in suggesting our meal! Even the chef from the open kitchen overheard my fondness for hot sauces and quickly prepared a fresh one for us. Unpretentious, pleasant and a bit off the beaten path. A wonderful meal!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have been to this restaurant several times. We are in Berkshires two or three times a year and always make this restaurant a part of our stay. Food is great and this restaurant deserves an awesome review. Food is excellent, service is great. If in Berkshires you need to eat here!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Better than Bogota”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Husband and I had lunch at this sweet and comfortable restaurant on a Sunday afternoon. The items on the menu looked familiar as we had visited Bogota, Columbia in July '13. The food at La Fogata was superior with freshness, flavor and presentation. The tripe soup was richly flavored. Empanadas were crisp with deliciously seasoned centers. Our dish Salteado peruano, beef with tomato and onion had a wonderful brown sauce. Our desserts of cake tres leches and flan were cool and fresh. The flan was best ever. Our lunch was better than any traditional dishes we had in Bogota. Very nice people. We would go there again and again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, CT
1 review
“Friendly staff, very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We went to this restaurant for lunch based on the good reviews found here....they were accurate! Food was very good, portions were large. We've never had Colombian food before and were afraid it might be too spicy for us, but it wasn't - in fact, it could have been a bit more spicy in our opinion, but all tasted fresh. We tried the frozen mango drink, thinking it would be similar to a mango lassi in an Indian restaurant, which it was, but not as sweet, still very refreshing. Empanadas were very good. We didn't have room for dessert - maybe next time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fogata also viewed

 

Been to La Fogata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fogata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.