We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad, and...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Barrington Stage Company

Barrington Stage Company
30 Union Street, Pittsfield, MA 01201
413-236-8888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Pittsfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Barrington Stage Company (BSC) is a professional award-winning Equity theatre presenting top-notch musicals, masterful classics, thought-provoking new work, cabarets and youth theater on four stages from May through October as well as a New Play Festival in February. Co-founded in 1995 by Artistic Director Julianne Boyd, BSC is perhaps best known for premiering William Finn and Rachel Sheinkin’s Tony Award-winning musical "The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee" and was voted Best Theatre by "The Berkshire Eagle" readers in 2011 and 2012. BSC welcomes groups and offers senior and youth discounts.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“The good, the bad, and...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We've supported and enjoyed BSC's productions for years! We think they're by far and away the very best theater has to offer -- here in The Berkshires or on Broadway. But now they've done something that angers many long-time patrons. They opened "Mr. Finn's Cabaret" in a basement space that seats 100 people at closely packed tables and at the bar. By and large, the shows have been outstanding...BUT. They advertise this as non-reserved, open seating. When you get there you find they reserved at least three-quarters of the good tables with good sight-lines for "special" people, leaving us plebes to scramble for the remainder or sit at the bar on stools with no backs. We have to get there at least three-quarters of an hour early to scramble for the left-overs. They have even reserved many of the few parking spaces. This is highly elitist and leaves us 'ordinary' supporters upset. Before you buy tickets for the cabaret you might want to consider our experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarringtonStageCo, Public Relations Manager at Barrington Stage Company, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. This is the first full season at our new venue, Mr. Finn's Cabaret. It has been exciting, and we have been overwhelmed by the turnout - sold out houses the first year! We are continually exploring ways to improve our patrons' experiences, and we realize seating has become an issue. While some tables had been reserved for the cabaret sponsors and BSC board members, we realize this creates challenges for patron seating in a general admission house. We are currently reviewing our policies (and are considering the possibility of reserved seating for the 2014 season) so that the level of service we provide at Mr. Finn's matches that high level of service and seating found at our Boyd-Quinson Mainstage and St. Germain Stage theatres. Once again, thank you for sharing your comments and concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    16
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
momajtm
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good off Broadway Fun Plays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nice regional theater at a good price. Staff is very helpful and theater is comfortable. Worth the trip and time!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmont, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Broadway Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We saw On the Town, this July 4th. What a great show. The performers were all very talented. The dancing was amazing, as was the singing. I think Gene Kelly and Frank Sinatra,(from the great movie) would be proud.
The venue, a small theater, is comfortable and clean. As seniors, my husband and I were able to buy fairly, priced tickets, for this worthwhile, show.
We are looking forward to seeing their next show, The Chosen, shortly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A terrific evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We saw an excellent revival of On the Town and couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more. We have no other experience with the theater and don't live in the area so I can assess the quality of other productions.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Jersey
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Broadway quality in an intimate venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We saw "On the Town" at Barrington Stage in Pittsfield at the recommendation of a NY Times review which gave this production high marks. The Time was right - the show was an excellent production. All of the characters were well cast, with strong singing, dancing and acting. This is classic Broadway at reasonable prices - our $55 seats were in the 4th row Orchestra on the right! The venue seats 550 and every seat was filled and appeared to have terrific visibility to the stage. This is a highly enjoyable show and venue!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrington Stage Company also viewed

 
Pittsfield, Berkshires
Pittsfield, Berkshires
 

Been to Barrington Stage Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrington Stage Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.