We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, Tasty, Reasonable Price !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tian Lai Seafood

Tian Lai Seafood
158 Jalan Ulu Choh, Gelang Patah 81550, Malaysia
75101521
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood
Restaurant details
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fresh, Tasty, Reasonable Price !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I have been here twice, the seafood especially the crabs and fishes are very fresh and delicious. The chilli crab with fried dumpling is one of the best dishes here. Fried baby octapus is another recommended dish. Price is reasonable. Parking is one of the problem here especially during weekends lunch and dinner time. You could only park along the main road as the restaurant is a residential single storey house converted to become a restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    13
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food, and the fish is fresh!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visited the restaurant based on the other reviews, and I wasn't disappointed. I was going to have the finish but when I asked the waitress if that would be too much food she wandered off and looked in a fish tank and said there were no small ones left - so it was certainly fresh! I had a sweet-and-sour pork, which was excellent value and very tasty. Good restaurant that is very busy and full of locals enjoying the food. The crabs looked excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good and cheap seafood !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The food here is delicious and cheap but this is quite a shabby place as it looks like a village house by the main road. You need to park by the road side as there is no proper parking.

Please come by 6.30 pm on weekends and public holidays in order to get a place. Otherwise, please prepare to wait. The place is full by 7.00 pm.

The crabs are fresh as Tian Lai serves live crabs. The chilli crabs are delicious and not so spicy. The steamed garoupa taste great too. Pricings are reasonable.

Avoid the durian seller by the road side. He is not a honest person - told us it musang king but it is just a D24 durian.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“PLS MAINTAIN THE STANDARD & QUALITY OF FOOD SERVED”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I had been to this restaurant a few times with friends and family and noted that the foods served couldn't maintain its standard. Either they were too oily and salty. The mussels we ordered were full empty shell and with only just a few pieces of flesh which were dropped out from the shell (not fresh). The fried bee hoon was oily and tasteless and sambal sweet potato leaves was too salty. However I would still go for their butter crabs which is good! Hope that they could try to maintain their standard and keep their place clean (a lot of housefly and cockroach).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very delicious seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The pepper crabs were real spicy but very fragrant. The chilli crab is sweet and less spicy but also very delicious. Butter prawns were the best I had in Malaysia so far and the steamed fish was fresh and nice. However, the vegetables were a bit tasteless and not to our liking.

Really worth the trip and money as it cost only about RM$460 for 6 pax.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tian Lai Seafood also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Gelang Patah, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Tian Lai Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tian Lai Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.