We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with the Hampton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Boston to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Boston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   59 Newbury Street, Peabody, MA 01960   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X Points
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Peabody
Houston
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Happy with the Hampton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

We stayed at this Hampton in June of 2007. This property has been recently updated and looked very nice overall. It has a big lobby, which serves as the breakfast room. On the plus side, our room had two very comfortable double beds, with plush comforters. We never heard any other guests, including no noise from water running elsewhere in the building. It had free wireless internet access (but I did have to call the front office to get the pass code, as they failed to put it with my keys). The only things that kept this from being an excellent stay were some housekeeping details. For instance, they left a dirty towel in the bathroom from the previous guest, as well as some hairs on the counter of the bathroom. The bathroom light had two sets of flourescent lights over the bathroom sink, but one set was out. Also, the light bulb was out on the floor lamp in the room. These two problems were what kept me from giving them an excellent score. The property is located on Highway 1in Peabody (n.w. Boston). Mapquest did a pretty good job of getting me to the hotel, but it is a little tricky to find. It's next door to a Spring Hill Suites, and you see that hotel first as you approach. It has a Wendy's across the street, as well as a Bennigen's. There is a shopping mall about four miles south on Highway 1. The hotel also has an indoor swimming pool and small fitness room on the first floor. We didn't use either so I can't comment. They had complimentary cookies in the evening, as well as a continental breakfast in the morning. I only took advantage of the fresh apples (delicious!) Other than a few housekeeping details, this was an excellent stay.

  • Liked — Nice comfortable beds!
  • Disliked — Housekeeping had missed a few details.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    122
    55
    21
    8
See reviews for
117
91
13
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2006

Nice hotel but the access was extremely difficult. The staff was friendly and helpful, answering two calls to give directions, because we were lost! The choice of sausage, egg & muffin breakfast was unique and good. A short drive to Salem and local shopping.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2006

Stayed here one night before taking early flight from Boston Logan Airport. As previous reviewers noted, if you miss the hotel entrance expect to go miles to turn around and try to get to main entrance. It's located on busy US 1 which is difficult to turn around if you are not familiar with area. Rooms are large and beds very comfortable. Did not like air/conditioner heater because I could not get fan stay on continuously on air conditioner setting. Unit turned on and off all the time which was annoying. Price was good and free breakfast OK. Front desk staff friendly.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2006

From the start of my stay to the end I can only say this is an awful hotel. No one at the front desk when I got in. No one at the desk when I checked out. No one at the front desk when I called down for an extra pillow.

There seems to be barely any employees at this hotel. This hotel had too many problems to list. Only thing I can say is wont be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2005

This is the place to stay if visiting places like Salem, Gloucester. Everything is excellent about thei hotel. You must learn if coming South that after seeing the hotel on the other side of the road that not too far down(about 1 to 2 mile) on the right side coming south is a turn around, where you can cross over the highway, instead of traveling too far from the hotel, in order to get back to this hotel. Dont be discouraged it is easy.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2005

Enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Close to 95/128, but very quiet inside. Close to airport, Boston and Salem, MA. The only hotel in the area offering free van service to the local area - and restaurants you can walk to. Very nice indoor pool. Great free breakfast. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2004

This was a nice hotel. Make sure you approach the hotel driving north. It takes miles to get turned around if you are heading south.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Boston

Address: 59 Newbury Street, Peabody, MA 01960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Peabody
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Peabody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Boston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn/Boston Peabody is located on Route 1 at the junction of Routes 95 and 93 about 25 minutes north of Downtown Boston. Our hotel offers all the great amenities that Hampton Inn Hotels are known for including complimentary wireless in all guest rooms and public space, complimentary hot breakfast and our new Jump Start Fitness exercise room. Our indoor heated pool is available from 9:00am to 9:00pm daily and we offer, upon request, rooms with either a king size bed or two doubles. Most rooms with king size beds offer a pull out couch for your convenience. We hope to welcome you soon to our hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Boston - Peabody Hotel Peabody
Hampton Inn Peabody
Peabody Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.