We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Boston to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Boston
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   59 Newbury Street, Peabody, MA 01960   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X Points
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Peabody
chelsea,me
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“nice not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

sat.breakfast was verey good ,sun and mon not that good.checked in with my servace dog and was told I should have called ahead.on the second day got call from desk and was told no pets.had to inform them she was a service dog.they should studie the law.the room was very large and clean.on second day cleaning staff did not come to the room till 4:45 pm.after a long day of work did not wont to be bothered

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    122
    55
    21
    8
See reviews for
117
91
13
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here to be close to Gloucester for a whale watching trip. The hotel is clean and the breakfast is good. Despite the nearness of a very busy road, we didn't hear any traffic noise even though our room was on the front. The problem with the hotel is that it is very difficult to get to and it is because of this that I am not rating it higher.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Hampton Inns can be hit or miss. This one is a hit. Clean and a very nice staff. Close to the North Shore and to Boston as well. Had a room on the front of the hotel and did not hear any traffic. Will stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Boston, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for the kind words as well as your comments and concerns about your stay at our hotel. We rely on feedback such as yours to help us improve our product and service. Our team aims to please and we hope you can give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations on your next trip to the Boston area.

Thank you again and as always, we take pride in providing Excellent Customer Service and our 100% Hampton Guarantee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Caldwell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Rooms were very nice, service was excellent, staff was exceptionally friendly.
Breakfast ready-to-make waffles are always on my list of criteria for a hotel.
The only thing that would make this hotel perfect would be a hot tub / jacuzzi in the pool area.
Maybe some won't like northern location relative to downtown Boston, but was perfect for my needs going further north. Found going in and out on Route 1 to be very fast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Boston, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. Your feedback helps us improve our product and service for our current and future guests. As always, we take pride in providing Excellent Customer Service and our 100% Hampton Guarantee. We appreciate you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here for three nights. The hotel was clean. We needed a larger room but did not have one available. Staff helpful but can do better. Hotel location was good. Get rooms in the higher floors. The breakfast was nice but we left early each day and didn't use it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The problems with this hotel included the following:

1. Upon arrival the front desk staff informed me that I had been assigned to a smoking room, and that such a room had been requested - when no such request was made. The room reeked of cigarette smoke - the stench was overwhelming. Eventually the staff did place me in a non-smoking room.

2. The hotel is next to Route 1 north of Boston and is accessible only from the northward side of the highway. The hotel is close enough to the highway so that one can hear the constant drone of traffic, even from rooms at the back of the hotel.

3. There are no decent restaurants within walking distance; One has to return to Route 1 and drive somewhere to find a place to eat.

4. The windows are hermetically sealed - so it is impossible to get fresh air (even if there were no traffic noise). So to air the room or bring the temperature to an acceptable level, one has to run a noisy air conditioner constantly. It is surprising to me how many hotels care not one wit about the high decibel level of their room air conditioners.

5. The persons who selected room furniture had no idea what constitutes ergonomically correct posture when sitting at a desk. In fact, it seems from the style of fit, the desk and chair might have been selected at random - or certainly for the lowest cost - not the most comfort
and correct posture for sitting at a desk.

6. The furnishings are rather staid - the bedspread looked unattractive and frumpy.

The only positive parts of the stay were that the Wifi worked satisfactorily and the breakfast was
adequate.

Nonetheless, I do not recommend to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, insist on a non-smoking room away from Route 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Boston, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for the welcomed feedback about your stay at our hotel. We rely on feedback such as yours to help us improve our product and service. We do our very best to try and honor every request on each reservation and sometimes with all the requests it can get tricky. Our team aims to please and we hope you can give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations on your next trip to the Boston area.

Thank you again and as always, we take pride in providing Excellent Customer Service and our 100% Hampton Guarantee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here for a pleasure trip to Boston, and to visit Salem. Location was good if you plan on driving in to the city, not if you want to take the T down. Wit took us exactly 30 minutes door to door, from the hotel, to the Boston common parking garage. It was a super easy trip, set the GPS, and whirled right down to Boston. There are many many restaurants right near the hotel, along with several shopping centers and a mall. It is a perfect location if you want to stay outside of the city, and if you have a car.

The entire hotel was immaculate, and had a very elegant breakfast area. They also had tables and chairs on an outdoor patio that you could use. All of the employees were super friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was great, they had a selection of hot foods daily, (western omelets,French toast, sausage), along with the Belgium waffle maker, and fresh hot oatmeal with toppings. They also had all the usual cold items, pastries and cereals. Great coffee, and several teas. Loved the cleanliness and selection.

The room was super clean and comfortable, only drawback is that they only have two double beds instead of two queen beds; I don't see why, as the rooms are very large and could accommodate them...

I will stay here again if I come back to Boston.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Boston

Address: 59 Newbury Street, Peabody, MA 01960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Peabody
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Peabody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Boston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn/Boston Peabody is located on Route 1 at the junction of Routes 95 and 93 about 25 minutes north of Downtown Boston. Our hotel offers all the great amenities that Hampton Inn Hotels are known for including complimentary wireless in all guest rooms and public space, complimentary hot breakfast and our new Jump Start Fitness exercise room. Our indoor heated pool is available from 9:00am to 9:00pm daily and we offer, upon request, rooms with either a king size bed or two doubles. Most rooms with king size beds offer a pull out couch for your convenience. We hope to welcome you soon to our hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Boston - Peabody Hotel Peabody
Hampton Inn Peabody
Peabody Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.