We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not wonderful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Newbury Street, US 1 N & US 128 N, Peabody, MA 01960   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Peabody
Clarence Center, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not wonderful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Although the room was clean the carpeting had many brown stains and the bathroom very worn looking. We were dissapointed that the wi-fi did not reach our corner room. I asked if we could change rooms to get wi-fi and was told no I could get it in the lobby. The breakfast buffet was not included and expensive for what was there.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and and use them as a tool for improvement. We’re sorry that you were not satisfied with the condition of your guest room and the wifi. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. I will personally look into our WIFI set up and see where we can make improvements. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    66
    57
    23
    27
See reviews for
74
48
11
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

At arrival we were not recogniced as Platinum member. Check in was not friendly at all, in our opinion employee did not like her job. We had booked a 2 double bedded room (we were with 2 adults & 1 child). We were given room 142. Once in the room it was a one double bed room. Can you see a family of 3 sleeping in one bed 1.2 mtr wide??? We went back to the front desk and ask them if it was a joke that we needed to sleep in one double bed with the 3 of us? According to the Frontoffice manager/Manager on duty it was not a joke. He did block this room for us today because they were apparently overbooked. he said that he had tried to contact us on our home phone to transfer us to another hotel, but no-one did answer the phone (we have our cellphone number in our priorityclub account, duh). We were given room 120. Room size was ok, batroom as well. There were multiple stains on the carpet, toilet did not flush that good and we have had much better AC units. After returning from diner we walked by the front desk to our room and the frontdesk employees and the Frontoffice Manager/Manager on duty gave us a very angry/ugly face, unbelievable!!! We have visited many hotels in the past years (see our other reviews, 25+), but this is by far the worst hotel we ever stayed. Shame on you management!!!

We wanted a businesscard from the hotels General Manager, so stopped at front desk to ask them. They gave us a hotel business card. We had to ask them to put the General Managers e-mail adress on the back, very unprofessional Just for info to the hotel's General Manager: We will sent an e-mail to IHG Guest Relations and Priorityclub!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Wendy_from_Holland,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and for leaving us a feedback. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

I am sorry to hear about your experience at our property. I hope you can believe me when I say that your experience is not the norm in our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the poor experience and service issues you had during your stay. Our team pays special to our elite members and deeply regret that we were not able to provide you with the highest level of service that you deserve.

Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Your patronage and support to the hotel are very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and allow us to redeem your faith in our award winning service.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, ON
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights for our honeymoon. The staff were all extremely friendly and the hotel/room looked just like it does on the website. We ordered room service for breakfast one day and it was quick and fabulous! Getting to the hotel was a little interesting and confusing since it is right on the Interstate but once we did it once, it was easy to get to and from the hotel. There is one restaurant beside the hotel and nothing really within walking distance due to the Interstate. There are plenty of restaurants and shops within a couple miles by car.

Access to the Wonderland Subway station (T) was only 20 minutes away by car and parking there was a cost effective way to get into Boston. The front desk provided us printed directions but we found it easier to program it into the GPS as there were a couple of rotaries we needed to go through.

If we ever visit the Boston area again, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the courtyard/pool area - we heard no noise from the Interstate whatsoever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. I am happy to hear that we were able to make your honeymoon stay with us a memorable one. I am also happy to hear that the front desk staff were able to assist you in getting around in what can be a confusing city. I hope that we will be able to host you for your 2nd anniversary and the many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night to visit Salem. Quick check in and lovely juice in reception. Lovely room with everything you would expect including fridge and microwave. Our room overlooked the pool at the back. Very quiet. Leaving the hotel can be tricky as it is an extemely busy highway. We booked this through priceline for £50 so good value. When you arrive drive a bit slower otherwise you will miss the turn off and have to drive a long way up the highway to turn around!

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the hotel away from the busy highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very inexpensive hotel with a great location about 20 mintues from airport on way north to Maine right next to the freeway. BUT the rooms are not very good. They are old and tired looking. Felt like I needed to take a shower after being in the room for awhile. Carpet is dirty, sheets look dirty, beds are small and uncomfortable, loud old bulky air conditioner. Not the best but the not the worst. Plenty of other options around that look much nicer. Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear stevesmobilepc1204,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am pleased that you liked our location. Kindly accept our sincerest apology for the room's condition. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Staff was very polite and helpful. A few minor glitches that they took care of immediatly. The pool is nice and the restaurant, for breakfast is very good. The service there is efficient, and pleasant.

Room Tip: Getting into the parking lot from the highway is dangerous. It is betwee 2 major roads and cars are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel from the front looks nice... The staff are sometimes friendly, and the rooms are terrible. If you are staying for any length of time, bring a bunch of money. The hotel does offer a continental breakfast... for $9.00!! My first day here I asked for a refrigerator and a microwave... No microwave and the refrigerator did not work. After getting a new fridge, my door handle fell off inside my room, trapping me in the room. I can think quick on my feet and used my weatherman to somewhat fix the handle until maintenance could fix it the NEXT DAY! Glad there was not a fire!! The next day I woke to a bath tub full of sewage! I will never stay here again since i was not offered points or money back or even to change rooms!

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. I want to personally thank you for allowing me the opportunity to correct the mishaps during your stay. I am happy that we were able to turn things around for you. I trust that the new room we provided was what you expected. I also hope that you enjoyed the breakfast at the Newbury Cafe. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and again for giving me the opportunity to assist in making your stay a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody

Address: 1 Newbury Street, US 1 N & US 128 N, Peabody, MA 01960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Peabody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Peabody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Boston - Peabody is conveniently located between Downtown Boston and Logan International Airport and the historical coastal towns North of Boston. Whether you are enticed by the quaint seaport villages of nearby Salem, Gloucester, and Marblehead or the excitement of Boston's Faneuil Hall Marketplace, Freedom Trail, and Fenway Park, the Holiday Inn Peabody is the ideal location to experience all that New England has to offer. Our hotel is now completely smoke-free and renovations are scheduled for completion later this spring. This Boston North Shore hotel will feature 183 newly refurbished guestrooms, including 20 two-room suites. All rooms and suites are equipped with 27' televisions and high speed Internet access. Suites include kitchenettes with mini-refrigerator and microwave and living area with sleep sofa. Unwind in our indoor pool, outdoor courtyard or work out in our fully-equipped fitness center. When hunger strikes, Carrabba's Italian Grill where you can enjoy a casual dinner in a warm, festive environment, the menu offers a variety of freshly made dishes cooked to order in a lively exhibition kitchen. For meetings and social events, our flexible meeting space can accommodate groups from 5-450 people. Ample free parking is available for cars as well as buses. Enjoy ease of access from I-93, I-95, Logan airport (BOS), and Boston's many area colleges for graduation weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Boston-Peabody
Holiday Inn Peabody
Peabody Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.