We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Marriott Peabody

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Boston Marriott Peabody to your Saves list
Boston Marriott Peabody
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8A Centennial Dr., Peabody, MA 01960   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Peabody
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

It's leaf peeping season in New England, and that can mean that it is terribly difficult to get reservations. That's why we booked in July. When we booked our resaervation we stated we would be chacking in late. We called that morning to advise the staff of our expected arrival time. We're also a Marriott members, so this is all on file online.. We have stayed at this hotel no less than 20 times in the past. (We even had our wedding there.) Every year the prices get a little higher, yet there are no updates to the rooms. We still went for sentimental reasons.

That's over. Apparently the service has fallen to the same low standards as has the rooms have. This past weekend we were given the worst room and service we have ever been given at a Marriott property. (See the photos.) When I called the front desk to complain about the room I was told 'we are not going to wake up guests and room tthem from the sleep just for you!' I never suggested that.I Had to tell the staff when checking out that I would nt be returning. So sad to end a decade long relationship, but it was that bad.

Room Tip: Do not let them give you rooms 227, 229 or 231. The face a set of nasty looking exhaust pipes (I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    132
    62
    20
    10
See reviews for
79
72
13
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Hard pressed to find any flaws with this hotel. Though it looks older from the outside, inside has been updated. New rugs, updated bathrooms, etc. Convenient to RT #128, as located 2 minutes from the interchange. Free parking and a nice treed campus. Great buffet breakfast in the AM. Most importantly, the customer service was sterling. Martha at the front desk was A++.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Loved the concierge level breakfast and free wifi! Room was spacious, bed was huge and super comfy, wake-up calls are great, ample parking, easy check in and out, friendly staff, housekeeper did a nice job. Really no complaints here except there is room for some renovations to the hallways as it seems like an older hotel. Other than that, totally the comfort and class you expect from a Marriott.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Spent one night in this hotel while working for a client site. The concierge lounge was small, but nice and had a great selection in the evening as well as for breakfast the following morning. The room was nice, but furniture set up in an odd way so that it wasn't that comfortable, but OK for a one night stay. The restaurant downstairs was nice, but service was very slow even though there was not a large crowd. I would definitely stay again if in town again, but know to get food somewhere other than the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my friend stayed in this hotel in November 2010 when we travelled on holiday from Ireland.

I could not recommend this hotel enough, so clean and the staff were very friendly.

We had a lovely dinner, and the bedrooms were very clean, very spacious and really worth the money we paid.

Big thumbs up! :-)

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked the "every date is date night" package, which cost $40 extra and includes late check-out (2pm vs. noon), a $30 credit for the restaurant (where we had breakfast, which was very good), and a movie.
What cost this hotel the 5-point rating was the movie. I'd give it a 4.5 if I could because apart from the movie issue (which we paid for as part of the package, so it's part of th eoverall experience for us), everything was fine.
The movie selection stank, so we reluctantly picked a movie that promised to be at least somewhat entertaining, but ended up not liking it. Since there is no preview period, we were stuck with it and ended up shutting it off, essentially wasting the movie credit. Also, even though the TV is a 32" HDTV, most programs, and most notably the movies you pay for, are not HD. In fact, they are of such crummy quality that they are barely watchable. In other words, at $17/movie, even if you like the movie, it would be extremely disappointing.
Other than that, we enjoyed our stay. Our room was on the top floor, very quiet. Service was excellent. We had requested extra pillows, extra towels and early check-in (all at no extra cost), and everything was there as promised.
The hotel is about 25 years old, and the rooms are as one would expect for that. Ours was clean and everything worked. There was a free-standing dorm-sized fridge, whereas a newer hotel would have it built-in. So the room was exactly what we expected.
Breakfast in the restaurant was essentially your standard fare. We spent precisely our $30 credit ($29.96) on a really good breakfast, including coffee, tea, and juice.
The late checkout was a great option to have. We left the hotel at 1:59pm. Worth it to us.
Overall I can recommend this hotel, just don't pay extra for a movie, or a package that includes a movie.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our 3 + week trip to New England flying in and out of Boston as an alternative to staying at Boston Logan Airport or 'Downtown'. Essentially the hotel primarily caters to a business clientele. The staff were very friendly, the rooms comfortable and the common areas OK - Gym somewhat cramped and bar / restaurant quite dark and dated. As a base that can let you visit Cape Ann as well as Metropolitan Boston this is a decent option if you are prepared to travel and commute. We enjoyed the Hotel as a great 'base'.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peabody
3.4 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Salem
4.5 of 5 stars 1,553 reviews
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Boston Danvers
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Marriott Peabody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Peabody

Address: 8A Centennial Dr., Peabody, MA 01960
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Peabody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Peabody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Peabody 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Boston's North Shore, the Boston Marriott Peabody is a short drive from Salem, Massachusetts, Gloucester and Rockport. Positioned within the Centennial Park business corridor, this Peabody, MA hotel is only 20 minutes from Logan International Airport and downtown Boston, MA. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, our hotel's staff is dedicated to making your stay unforgettable. At our hotel near Salem, MA, guests will enjoy our spacious accommodations and deluxe room amenities, including FREE high-speed internet, 32" HDTV's and plush bedding. Enjoy a delicious meal at Sophia's, our on-site Peabody restaurant, or relax and stay fit at the indoor swimming pool and fitness center. With 10,735 sq ft of versatile event space, the Boston Marriott Peabody creates a distinguished setting for lucrative business engagements, cherished social gatherings, and elegant wedding receptions in Peabody, MA. We have everything you need for a productive and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Boston Marriott Peabody reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Peabody Hotel Peabody
Marriott Peabody
Peabody Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Marriott Peabody, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.