We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did I stay in the wrong hotel?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Marriott Peabody

Save Saved
You added Boston Marriott Peabody to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Boston Marriott Peabody
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8A Centennial Dr., Peabody, MA 01960   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Peabody
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Did I stay in the wrong hotel?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a decrepit Marriott that seems to have had its last major remodel in the late 80s. The interior is dark and claustrophobic with low ceilings and a faint odor of chlorine and musty carpeting. It is a purely functional sleeping establishment that would fit the bill for a traveler on a budget and looking to stay close to where they are conducting local business.

They staff was friendly yet unpolished in a manner consistent with the surroundings. The first floor room I was given smelled of sweat or BO so I asked for another and was given a replacement on the 6th floor. This room had the same odor but more faintly so I assumed it was a thing with the hotel and kept it. Probably due to mold growing in the HVAC duct work?

The room had an updated bed with the expected top sheet and white down comforter bedding. The other amenities were as would be expected for an economy hotel. But for a $130/nt Marriott? How is this chain distinguishing itself from Holiday Inns or Comfort Inns at this point? Apparently they are not. Carpet was thin and lumpy and great motivation for avoiding bare feet.

Used the workout room on the second day and found several pieces of newer cardio equipment with integrated video systems. Also a full rack of free weights, but no bench. I guess you're expected to use those standing up or sitting on the floor. One of the large, overhead AC return vents was dripping a fairly large amount of water, serving as reinforcement for my AC mold theory.

I actually feel bad for the management of this hotel. The staff is clearly trying very hard to hold to the customer service standards set by their employer. Unfortunately they are not supported with reciprocal investment into the infrastructure and amenities of their establishment.

If this is the or one of the top ranked hotels in Peabody, then I have to assume there really aren't any good options in this town. Unless proximity to Peabody is your priority I recommend finding an alternative in Boston proper and driving the extra 30 minutes to your destination.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    93
    31
    16
    7
See reviews for
53
48
13
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tolland, CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The staff is warm, friendly and efficient. The rooms are clean and spacious. There is a whole wall of windows for natural light, and the room-darkening drapes keep the light out when you want it to be dark. We like the large desk with plenty of easy-to-reach places to connect, plus an upholstered chair and lamp for reading. The beds are very comfortable and include very large pillows for sitting up to watch the TV. The amenities in the bathroom include a hair dryer and excellent orange-ginger toiletries.

The restaurant at this hotel deserves its own review because it is really good. We ate dinner here, not really expecting much, and we were very impressed, beginning with the cocktails. We order the same martini everywhere we go, and the one we had here was one of the best we've had. Prepared by Jayne, it was absolute perfection. We ordered lobster rolls, and were happy to find they rivaled those in seaside restaurants for freshness and taste. There was hardly any mayonnaise and lots of succulent, sweet lobster. They come with a choice of sides, and we had sweet potato fries and onion rings, which were both excellent. Because the before-dinner drinks were so good and we didn't have to drive home, we opted for chocolate martinis for dessert (for the first time ever, I might add). Jayne has her own spin on these and they were fabulous!

The restaurant also serves a very nice breakfast buffet, including a manned waffle and omelet station, even on weekdays. The price includes coffee and juice, so it's not a bad price for all that food, and you won't need to eat lunch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed for one night. Like every other Marriott, they seem to all merge into one experience. The hotel was clean and the staff were generally friendly. Room was quiet and functional. For once everything worked. Breakfast was good. There was a bit of a queue for the while you wait omelette (must be good). Did not sleep well - not sure why.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

the hotel staff was exceptional, very friendly, very helpful, the hotel is just outside of Boston, easy to find and close to shopping malls. Close to Salem with some great shops and history on the witch trials. the rooms were luxurious, the exercise room stocked with yoga mats. the restaurant was nice, alittle pricey. Free internet for guests and a conceigns lounge for platinum guests. the staff gave us directions to places to visit and told us about main attractions.

Room Tip: room 265 has a long hall with window to sit by that leads into the room with the beds, tv, microwav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The staff was excellent. Were always asking if they could help. Was surprised they remembered my name and always gave a greeting. The breakfast was good and convenient. The room was adequate. The bar and restaurant were very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Overall had a great experience here. Stayed while were visiting Salem. Some aspects of the hotel are older but generally in good condition. I liked the flat screen TV and all of the connections on the desk. King bed was comfortable . Some of the foam pillows were too thick. Temperature in the room was good the entire time we were there - some what surprising. I usually find I am adjusting the temperature in my a few times.

The pool and jacuzzi were great but was dismayed that they had just plunked down an AC unit just outside in the patio area easily seen from the pool. It mars the overall look and must detract from the outdoor patio area in the summer. Enclosing it with the same fencing that encloses the patio area would look much better.

Exercise equipment worked well. There 3 treadmills, an elliptical, a couple of bikes and some dumbbells of various weights. I used a treadmill and the dumbbells.

Standard free wi-fi and business computers worked fine for what little I used them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Warm front desk service. Clean rooms. Quiet hallways. Stayed on a special package that included tickets to the Peabody Essex Museum. They couldn't find the tickets when we checked in, and we were informed as we checked out that they ran out of printed tickets but they would call the museum - oh-oh. Checked out around 8am, and did not get to the museum until 1pm, and it was as though the museum was waiting for us - so great follow-up handling by the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boston Marriott Peabody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Marriott Peabody

Also Known As:
Boston Marriott Peabody Hotel Peabody
Boston Marriott Peabody Hotel
Marriott Peabody
Peabody Marriott
Address: 8A Centennial Dr., Peabody, MA 01960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Peabody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Peabody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boston Marriott Peabody 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Boston's North Shore, the Boston Marriott Peabody is a short drive from Salem, Massachusetts, Gloucester and Rockport. Positioned within the Centennial Park business corridor, this Peabody, MA hotel is only 20 minutes from Logan International Airport and downtown Boston, MA. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, our hotel's staff is dedicated to making your stay unforgettable. At our hotel near Salem, MA, guests will enjoy our spacious accommodations and deluxe room amenities, including FREE high-speed internet, 32" HDTV's and plush bedding. Enjoy a delicious meal at Sophia's, our on-site Peabody restaurant, or relax and stay fit at the indoor swimming pool and fitness center. With 10,735 sq ft of versatile event space, the Boston Marriott Peabody creates a distinguished setting for lucrative business engagements, cherished social gatherings, and elegant wedding receptions in Peabody, MA. We have everything you need for a productive and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Boston Marriott Peabody reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Marriott Peabody, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.